We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service”
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Customer Service”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff at Riad Ahlam are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them. They arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport and we were met at the taxi and taken to the Riad which made everything so simple. Breakfasts are wonderful although more than you can eat and dinner on the first night was lovely. They even had juice and coffee ready together with a brilliant packed breakfast for our 5am departure. The location is great being in the Medina but easy to find. The roof terrace is a real bonus giving outside space, views and a relaxing place to enjoy the peace. When we arrived there was a lot of bustling around as Kacem the manager had noted that my husband is 6'4'' tall and instantly decided to move us so that we had a king sized bed. The bed was really comfortable although being used to a duvet we took a night to get to grips with sleeping with sheets and blankets. We would definitely recommend this Riad and thank you so much to Kacem and the team for making us so welcome and our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    42
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
105
265
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Located inside the medina, Riad Ahlam is a beautiful Riad with a nice roof terrace and excellent food. We ate dinner there BOTH nights for Fatiya's wonderful cooking The staff bent over backwards to please us. They spoke English which was very useful and there was free wifi in the courtyard! they even provided Argan oil black soap in the bathrooms with nice white robes. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

For three nights we stayed in this small authentic riad, in the beautiful medina of Fès. With a calm atmosphere and very friendly and helpfull staff (note: helped us finding our way in Fes, offered us to stay 2 nights in a beautiful suite, arranged a very nice tour outside of Fes and without hesitation prepared a delicious lunch last minute before our departure) it made our stay magical and one we will always remember. Also the food in this riad is amazing, much better than the 5star hotel dinner we had one of the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaJJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a lovely riad, immaculately clean, tidy, comfortable and the hosts were so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, their thoughtfulness even extended to giving us a pack lunch to take with us for our journey because we had to leave at 5am. It was a delightful stay, the food was delicious - best we had - and we highly commend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krysiagotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Like everything else in Fez, it's hidden. You walk along a narrow alley, come to an unprepossessing door and suddenly you're in a palace. The Riad Ahlam is, first of all, magnificent, with a beautiful courtyard, balconies and decorations. But that's the least of the Riad. We've travelled all over the world and this is the most welcoming place we've ever been in. Kaceem did everything possible to make us feel at home. The wait staff was always happy, bright and helpful. The breakfasts and two dinners we had there were excellent. Our rooms were roomy, tasteful and beautifully appointed. Surprisingly for a 3rd World country, everything worked! We always had plenty of hot water, the electricity always worked, there were no bugs, , it was always clean, we never had any problems with the basics. Kaceem supplied us with guides when we needed them, good restaurants, and interesting tips. Even the TV had an impressive range of stations that we never get to see in the U.S.A. We spent a week there and were sorry to leave. It was one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the suites on the higher floors are best and not that much more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On arrival at the airport, we had arranged to be picked up by a taxi through the Riad. It is a few euro's more expensive than getting a taxi from the airport but it has the advantage that you will be brought all the way to the Riad.

Check in went smooth. Kacem, the daymanager and his team really took good care of us, always approaching us with with a smile and really going the extra mile. (Kacem even bought me a road map for our trip in a rental car.)

The common areas are very nice as are the rooms. We had a suite which was very spacious and nicely decorated in in an arabic palace style.

We didn't try dinner but breakfast was the best we had on our Moroccan trip. And the girl who served it did it such in a cheerful happy way that it really was a great start of the day.

The Riad is in an excellent location 3 minutes walk outside of the souks, so you can join the action whenever you want but the riad itself is very quiet. When you are in the souks it is relatively easy to orientate yourself if you remember there are two main alleys. If you go to the right on the first main alley it will you take you five minutes to walk to the main gate (Bouyloud) where you can also find an ATM. We also visited Marrakesh but prefer Fes because it less touristic and yet more authentic.

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Ahlam and fully recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our first stop in a Moroccan tour and i'm sorry we didn't end up staying more than one night.

Kacem upgraded us to the suite, as not extra cost, because he insisted that if we only had a single night in Fés it should be a good one!

Since we were arriving right in time for lunch, for sheer convenience I decided to book the Riad lunch (Discovery menu). I did so a bit reluctantly, as I had hoped to vary our experiences as much as possible in the short time we had - practically just 1/2 day as we arrived at 11AM and left at 8AM the next morning!

It ended up being a real blessing. That lunch in our Riad, cooked by the always smiling Fatiyah... as the VERY BEST we had in all of our time in Morocco. By a long shot. It was simply fantastic.

Breakfast the next morning was equally amazing.

Had the structure been a complete mess, I would have said - just stay for the food, it's worth it!

But no. The Riad itself is incredibly beautiful, located right on the edge of the medina... with the best view in town from the relaxing roof terrace. I know because we were taking to a lot of scenic panoramic spots by our guide later, and this one was just as good if not better.

Not to be missed, book here and you simply cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: The suite is great... book it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 99 in Fes
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Property: Riad Ahlam
Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing