We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Fes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Fes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This Riad is on the the outskirts of the medina but still easily accessible with a car. (I.e. No lugging bags through the narrow alleys looking for your accommodation) the manager, Cassim, was extremely helpful in every respect. The riad itself is lovely, and beautifully decorated.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichFehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    41
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
102
261
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

An EXCEPTIONAL hotel!

I was traveling on business to Casablanca and wanted to visit Fes over the weekend. My trip started with a driver picking me up upon at the airport (arranged perfectly by the Riad Ahlam) with arrival at the hotel at 02:00. The hotel staff greeted me with open arms and made me immediately feel at home at this godly hour. Absolutely outstanding hospitality here with an extremely caring staff who felt like a part of my family after 2.5 days. Thank you, Kareem, Naja and all of the staff!

The attention to detail at this splendid hotel is amazing with a collection of ceramic tile mosaics to die for! So much to look at with new discoveries daily. The owner has a real taste for quality and historical design. My room was huge and oh so comfortable.

This is an amazing hotel tucked away from the wonderful and entertaining market less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Great food and facilities. This is top notch A++ quality. Do not miss your booking at this hotel located in the heart of wonderful Fes!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 237Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This Riad is just off the maddening lanes of the Medina - very accessible and quiet. It is a lovely old building, with beautiful details.

Our room (probably a suite?) was huge and the beds were very comfortable, with good WiFi. Staff were very helpful.

We just had 2 small niggles:
- the drains in the (lovely) bathroom smelled. While this is common in Morocco, here the problem was bad. It may have been a temporary problem - we were there over the new year.
- the manager (owner) is just too obsequious, and tends to take hours telling you what wonderful service you are getting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I left my group and my previous Riad to seek a clean bed and shower. The Riad is inside the Medina and only about a 10 minute walk from the tanneries, a popular attraction.

It's very clean and the people are humbling and accommodating.

Spacious rooms and great breakfast plus great views from the terrace.

Also a 5 min walk to the infamous CLOCK cafe. Look it up!

You ll be very happy to choose it as your place to stay inside the old city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgoestotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Tucked away in the lanes of the Medina is truly a beautiful oasis. We were pleasantly surprised not only with our rooms as well as the facilities but also with the hospitality offered by the staff and riad manager.
The hotel manager went above and beyond his duty to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and that we are happy at every moment.
The rooms were comfortable and clean with a true sense of Moroccan flare.
My most memorable experience is of course learning to cook with Fatima the riad's chef, an amazing woman with the most beautiful smile and warm heart. Each meal was prepared from the heart, we had the most lavish spreads for breakfast and our dinner on our last night in Fes was absolutely delicious.
The riad also features a rooftop where we watched the sunrise and sunset.
Highly recommended as a must stay when in Fes!

Room Tip: suites are large and has an amazing shower that resembles a hammam
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

What a stunning hotel!! Our stay here has been amazing! The hotel itself is a beautiful place with stunning luxurious rooms and a fantastic breakfast area. The breakfast itself consists of very sweet breads, pancakes, jams, etc., so if you don't have a sweet tooth (which most of Moroccans do) I'd advise you don't have to much of those. Yet on the two mornings we were there, the breakfast did change (so not the same thing every day) and the food was delicious (especially the cheese omelette and the fried onion pattie)!

The manager himself can be a hectic drama queen, but he means incredibly well. He's very helpful, and I suggest asking him to select a tour guide for you, as he chooses the best ones (tip: ask if you can have a man named Kalib, he was fantastic!).

As for the rooms, ours was amazing. The rooms here are big and specious and very nice. Another great thing for travellers who aren't used to the Imaan calling people to pray at 5 in the morning, at this hotel, you can hardly hear them at all from your room.

So, all in all, a fantastic place filled with wonderfully helpful people, a good breakfast and a beautiful room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked Riad Ahlam based on the positive reviews and found it to far exceed our wildest expectations. We stayed at 6 different locations (including Le Meridien Marrakech as SPG Platinum) and this was by far the best. By far the biggest factor was Kacem - the innkeeper - who was able to make magic happen! There was nothing we asked for that he could not make happen. The Riad has a retractable cover that keeps the temperature in the lobby and dining room at perfect temperature. It is located in the heart of the Medina very close to Blue gate, and nice restaurants as well as 10 dirham dinner carts. The beds/linens/showers were by far the best we had experienced in Morocco. By the end of our trip Riad Ahalm felt like home and we rebooked our last night in Fez there.

Room Tip: Find Kacem (the innkeeper) there is no request he can't make happen and he is a wonderful ambass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottME777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.7 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Property: Riad Ahlam
Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing