We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, wonderful food and classic Moroccan style”
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Like most Moroccan riads the outside is very simple but when you walk inside and see the spectacular courtyard with its classical Moroccan style you will be blown away. Any hint of the world outside is completely left behind.

Nearly every Moroccan I've met has been incredibly friendly and helpful but the staff at Riad Ahlam take it to another level. Even before I arrived they emailed me with questions to make my stay as perfect as possible.

Perhaps the highlight, though, is the food. Having already been in Morocco 2 weeks I've had a lot of tagines but the chicken tagine I had was by far the best. I found myself mopping up every last bit with the lightest fluffiest Moroccan bread. Breakfast the next day was no less spectacular. Far more food than I could ever hope to finish but all of it was amazing.

I've stayed in a range of places while in Morocco - from the simplest tent in the desert to a high end resort but Riad Ahlam is the only one that I feel is uniquely Moroccan.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank MikeH642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

There were many great things about staying in this riad- the service, the atmosphere, and the balcony were all exceptional. Our favorites were the suite and the delicious breakfast. Great location near the main road in the medina and easy for taxis to find too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finleypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The location for the hotel is very convineant. For shopping this is a great place to stay as Souks are nearby, and for other sight seeing this hotel is equally noteworthy. The customer service level is top notch and trusting. They speak English, French, Arabic and I think Italian.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeauAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We spent 2 nights in this riad and loved it. The owner went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was beautiful, and the breakfast was amazing. Wifi worked great in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This Riad is on the the outskirts of the medina but still easily accessible with a car. (I.e. No lugging bags through the narrow alleys looking for your accommodation) the manager, Cassim, was extremely helpful in every respect. The riad itself is lovely, and beautifully decorated.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MichFehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

An EXCEPTIONAL hotel!

I was traveling on business to Casablanca and wanted to visit Fes over the weekend. My trip started with a driver picking me up upon at the airport (arranged perfectly by the Riad Ahlam) with arrival at the hotel at 02:00. The hotel staff greeted me with open arms and made me immediately feel at home at this godly hour. Absolutely outstanding hospitality here with an extremely caring staff who felt like a part of my family after 2.5 days. Thank you, Kareem, Naja and all of the staff!

The attention to detail at this splendid hotel is amazing with a collection of ceramic tile mosaics to die for! So much to look at with new discoveries daily. The owner has a real taste for quality and historical design. My room was huge and oh so comfortable.

This is an amazing hotel tucked away from the wonderful and entertaining market less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Great food and facilities. This is top notch A++ quality. Do not miss your booking at this hotel located in the heart of wonderful Fes!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 237Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This Riad is just off the maddening lanes of the Medina - very accessible and quiet. It is a lovely old building, with beautiful details.

Our room (probably a suite?) was huge and the beds were very comfortable, with good WiFi. Staff were very helpful.

We just had 2 small niggles:
- the drains in the (lovely) bathroom smelled. While this is common in Morocco, here the problem was bad. It may have been a temporary problem - we were there over the new year.
- the manager (owner) is just too obsequious, and tends to take hours telling you what wonderful service you are getting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russel-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing