We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tajine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad al Bartal

Riad al Bartal
Ranked #24 of 205 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dinner guest table - a different menu every night Under Reservation Only Depending on the market of the day, you will taste the specialties freshly prepared for you by Fatima and Fatin. The diversity of the recipes and their refinement puts the Arab-Andalusian cuisine among the best cuisine in the world. The combination of different spices will introduce you to new flavors that will touch your senses. The products used are exclusively fresh, seasonal ingredients, and bought from the market every day. The bread is homemade and baked in the public oven . The menu for dinner is decided in the morning. Starters includes a variety of Moroccan salads like beans" Bissara" or " tchachouka" , maybe a duo of grilled peppers, tomato with honey or soup ... The main dish is copious, you will taste either Fez couscous made with barley semolina, or the famous chicken pastilla or one of our tagines (fish tagine, camel tagine with dates, tagine of lamb with pears ...). The dessert, An orange or lemon pie, a filo pastry with milk and fruit or a chocolate fondant ... For wine lovers, we offer a selection of Moroccan wines from Meknes, Agadir or Casablanca. The menu includes: 3 different starters + main course + dessert The price is 20 euros per person without drinks. Dinner is served between 20h and 22h.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tajine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We ate here for two of the three nights we stayed at the Riad (we decided to try somewhere else another night and we're hugely disappointed so went back for dinner at the Riad the last night). The food tasted beautiful and traditional (authentic). A delight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Starters and Lamb Tagine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We enjoyed our three course meal in this beautiful riad in the medina. We really enjoyed our cauliflower and eggplant starters and the lamb tagine was really nice. We had a few tagines on our trip and this was our favorite - nice poached pears went with it. After our meal we were allowed to walk around the riad. It really is quite pretty and is one of the taller two story riads we saw.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ricae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisit Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

One of the most difficult things about staying at Riad Al Bartal is prying one's self out of the Riad to visit Fez! And one of the events I waited for all day were Fatima's nightly meals. Oh my..... Delicious, beautiful, varied, unexpected are some of my thoughts. My mouth is watering right now as I think back to her cooking!!!!! Home cooking with a depth of knowledge made each meal an adventure. And she changes it up each night so that it would be very easy to have every meal there. A highlight of staying at the Riad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautifully presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We never ate out. There was no reason to. Each evening I looked forward to see what was being served. Wonderful food and wonderful service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinners were delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fatima is an excellent cook. We were served a different 3 course dinner every night of our week long stay that included 3 soups or vegetable appetisers that were full of new spices and flavor, a tangine or couscous and wonderful dessert. These meals were by far the best we had in Morroco. Presentation was imaginative as was the variety of tastes. On our last night they even made us a special eggplant and lamb tangine since a party at the riad had requested pears with chicken and almonds which we had enjoyed on our first night. We looked forward to the surprises, presentation and excellent Moroccan cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AgnesCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riad al Bartal also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Riad al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing