We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The End of the Road” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Touria

Dar Touria
Ranked #159 of 204 Restaurants in Fes
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The End of the Road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Please stick with me while I spin a tale of woe traditionally reserved for those who see The Sixth Sense and then enter a theatre excitedly prepared for the next round of Shyamylanian magnificence.

With no chefs, customers or indeed light in sight we entered, emboldened by the reviews you are presently digesting. The (apparently) singular staff member greeted us and (to be honest) divulged the prices. 300 dirham for the grand and 200 for the petit. We then accepted, prepared for the feast to come. The young man (whose service was actually decent) then ducked out to the nearest shop to procure our hastily prepared meal.

The first course was Harira soup. Traditionally prepared with a spicy mix of local deliciousness but, in this case, approached by someone inspired by high culture a-la Campbell's first introduced by Warhol in the 60's. There was also chickpeas dumped in for good measure.

Then came the kefta (lamb) tagine that drew on the lessons of homeopathy in that our host had undoubtedly seen a tagine at some point in his life and then osmotically imputed that essence into it after pouring last nights leftovers into the hob. Cous cous was too much to ask and we instead dipped the semi-stale bread left from the soup du jour.

Sadly, we did not eat much of the banana and rockmellon desert and left swiftly. Our pride, and wallets, considerably lessened.

Inshallah.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

All my custemers i send them in this restaurnant have a good opinions about food , because a moroccan cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank younes-ouazzani-chah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“way overpriced, go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were taken to this restaurant by a nice man whose own restaurant we were directed to but was closed for Christmas day. MISTAKE. Lovely restaurant, nice people but 300 DH for what we had was way overpriced for Fes and all of Morocco. Lots of food but the chicken with lemon was so dry and tough that it was inedible. We should have walked out when we saw the menu but navigating the medina by ourselves was intimidating on a dark, rainy night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raf123fgtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food at enormous prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited this restaurant on the basis of a Lonely Planet recommendation - and came away with the impression that the quality must have really slipped since the guide was published. This is reflected by the fact that recent TripAdvisor reviews are much worse than the older ones.

The deal is that you pay 200 dirhams (quite a high price by Fes standards) for a set menu, which is described in the LP guide as a "feast". We found the food to be mediocre by any standard and worse than places elsewhere that charge fraction of the price. There was no atmosphere - we were the only customers and they seemed keen to rush us through as quickly as possible.

To compound things, my partner developed a bad stomach soon after visiting the restaurant, which we believe was caused by this meal.

Overall, a real disappointment. Do not make the same mistake we made.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Hill
2 reviews
“Better value elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a couscous and vegetable dish which went back almost uneaten as it was soggy, overcooked and unpalatable. Maybe that is a traditional dish but definitely not to western taste. The first course, chicken dishes and third course were ok but cost more than comparable meals elsewhere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazzadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Touria also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Dar Touria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing