We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Riad Andalib

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Andalib
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Close to medina entrance, easy to access by car (well, relative to driving anywhere in Morocco), fairly recent construction. Owner Reibal speaks perfect English and wins the prize for most hospitable hotel manager in Morocco. His staff also speak English and are always ready to assist in whatever you might need. Rooms are fully equipped with luxury touches, big beds, frig, etc. Good food on the rooftop terrace. Huge breakfast. I cannot imagine that a 5 star hotel would be any better.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

This riad (guesthouse) was more than a hotel or B&B; it was a haven of cool peacefulness in the midst of the craziness of the medina. Reibal, the engaging and informative owner became a friend, starting with a cup of mint tea and sweets before checking us in. He speaks perfect English (and French), having lived in Montreal for 20 years, and gave us a full orientation for not only Fes, but also Casablanca, our next stop.

The house has just 7 guest rooms. A lovely rooftop patio bar, and a lower level sun-bathing area, are filled with flowers and offer excellent views of this ancient city - much better than trying to see them from ground level. The reception and breakfast area on the first floor is beautifully decorated with hand-carved plaster and wood, hand-painted tile, a fountain and a small pool. Suddenly, I had a better idea of what the Alhambra might have looked like prior to 1492.

The included breakfast offered a few choices, including fresh fruit salad, Moroccan sweets, eggs, yogurt, cheese and fresh orange juice, when available. Nadia and Emam serve everything gracefully, taking into consideration one's every need. In the evening, they offer drinks and sumptuous Moroccan dinners on the rooftop, which we found to be delicious, exotic and reasonably priced. By day 2, we learned that one entree is enough for the two of us, the Havana Club mojitos are excellent, being waited on by such able servers is a treat.

Room #5 offers a firm but comfortable bed, good pillows, a huge bathroom and a small sitting room with desk (but no desk lamp). The dark-walled bathroom has 2 sinks, separate WC, a large tub and a large shower. Lighting could be better, especially in the shower, desk area and stairwells.

The room is on several different levels, and those who wear bi-focals might request a different room due to the steps and ledges that are hard to see in semi-darkness. We especially appreciated the fruit tray provided for snacking. The minibar was empty and unplugged, though it could be stocked if requested.

WiFi worked well in most areas of the room, despite the thick walls. The bedroom windows look onto the interior patio or courtyard and have wooden shutters that block out all light and most of the noise. The bathroom and sitting area windows look out over the medina's narrow alleyways and neighboring rooftops. There is some noise from there, including a minaret's 5AM call to prayer, dogs, kids, motor scooters and a rooster.

Overall, our visit to Riad Andalib was exceptional. I learned I do not like crowds and opted out of any further contact with the medina. Spending the day in a hotel room is not my dream vacation, but I'm most grateful this riad was here for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VITraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This Riad and Reibal -the owner make you feel totally at home..
Special praise to Emam who works there..
Stayed here for 2nights..well located..walking distance to the Medina.
Food was very good.
Rooms were very spacious and comfortable.
Tv operating system need some improvement..
Enjoyed the home cooked style breakfasts..!

Room Tip: The rooms that open onto the courtyard are very charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed two nights at this incredible place and would have liked to stay longer. After being warmly greeted and oriented by the owner, Riebal, we were shown to our room. The details and decor were incredible; we were waited on hand and foot by the young and very hard-working staff morning and night. We ate dinner both nights at the rooftop restaurant because we couldn't imagine having a better experience or food by looking anywhere else. The location was perfect; right at the start of the medina and the amazing souks. Best value and experience imaginable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We decided to try a Riad that was not on the top-ten luxury list....and found one that should be. Riad Andalib is welcoming, extremely well-appointed, has an excellent restaurant, superb service and is very reasonable in terms of price. A real find. The proprietor, Reibal Idrissi, goes out of his way to help guests get the most from their in Fes.
Cathy & Barry

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As a frequent international traveler, I consider myself difficult to please when it comes to hotels and especially service level. My wife and I had the most unique and memorable experience while staying at Riad Andalib. Within seconds of entering his magnificent house, the owner Ribal Idrissi welcomed us and made us feel very special. The room was absolutely magnificent and the service outstanding. We ate both nights at the Riad and fully enjoyed and appreciated the experience. The location of the Riad is ideal if you want to enjoy Fes. This is a no brainer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmorin79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from a very special week at Riad Andalib. Very large comfortable room and large bathroom. Well equipped and the owner included everything you might possibly want, such as bathrobes, slippers and fridge.

Food in the restaurant superb and the best we found in Fes. Coupled with a good selection of Moroccan wines and friendly attentive service. We sat on the roof terrace, with excellent views of the old town.

Nothing was too much trouble. I was not feeling well and the owner sorted out medication, special food and continually checked on my well being. We left at 5.20am this morning and breakfast as normal was made available with a smile. When we arrived we were given mint tea and biscuits and a very full briefing on the hotel and attractions in Fes and outside. He also organised two excellent day trips with an engaging English speaking driver.

Customer service was first rate. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful and made our trip very special.

I would go back with no hesitation.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Smiffy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Andalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalib

Address: 54 Mohamed Ben Alaoui, R'cif | R'cif Near Cinema Amal, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £97 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Andalib 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Andalib offers luxury accommodations and excellent facilities. The Riad boasts a small swimming pool, a TV lounge, a bar and a restaurant, guests have access to a solarium with sun-beds. The upper level of the terrace has a second restaurant with stunning panoramic view over the rooftops and minarets of Fez's old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Andalib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing