We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Tamo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
94
45
10
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
45
10
8
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent one night in Dar Tamo Riad. It's not too easy to find, but people in the Medina are friendly and willing to help. There is only one room (the most expensive one, of course!) with A/C and windows opening to the outside. All other rooms have windows opening to the indoor patio. Furniture show the age, the washroom could be updated, there was some issue with flushing the toilet. Despite these minuses, our stay was rather pleasant. The owner arranged a guide who took us to the nice restaurant in the neighbourhood and we got a generous breakfast despite leaving very early in the morning. The rooftop patio is a bonus (great view when the sun sets and the calls for prayer flow above the Medina), but the furniture there could use more care and/or updating. Overall, OK stay for one night in Fes, but if one plans more time in the city, should probably search for nicer/cozier/more modern Riad.

Room Tip: If one cares for window opening to the outside and/or A/C in the room, should book the most expensive room on the top of the stairs. This room gives also the most privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is not a cheap riad and it does have an excellent finish with decorations etc, also fab internet connection so you can take a tablet if you need to be able to get online. They serve excellent food, will collect you from the boab rcif...please use this facility if you dare turn up at night or day. Fes is one heck of a Medina.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBIH_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very nice riad in excellent conditions.
Lovely decoration and very cozy
Well located, 5 mins on foot from R Cif square
The French owner is very friendly, kind and helpful, she explained lots of stuff to us
The girls who work there are also very friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have been to Fes many times and have stayed at Riad Dar Tamo on more than one occasion. Dar Tamo is in a great location; situated in the heart of the Andalucian Quarter yet tucked away in a quiet side road, it is within 15 minutes walk from the busy main roads Talaa Sgira and Talaa Kbira so near enough and far enough from the wonderful chaos of the main medina.

The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and excellently priced. We have stayed in other Dars that are more expensive and they do not offer the same value. The views of Fes from the three-level terrace are truly amazing, and because of this, you hardly spend time in the courtyard and spend most of your time looking at the fantastic scenery.

This is the first time that I have rented the entire Dar for our stay, and Laurence, Abdel and the Tamo family are genuinely nice people and so hospitable. I was really surprised when they baked me the most delicious birthday cake for my breakfast...and they really made my birthday very special.

Dar Tamo; a great base for your Fes adventures and a place where you feel welcomed. It is good value for money and homely as the owners live here too.

I read in the reviews about visitors' disappointment in prices for tours and trips through the Dars they have stayed in. If you want everything on a plate; tours, trips etc. then you will be overcharged and definitely go over budget. Try to organise these trips yourself directly and just enjoy the Dar for its own qualities.

Room Tip: Be prepared to hear the morning Call to Prayer loud and clear in the Terrace Room from Karouine and other mosques. On the first morning (5.30) it nearly blew the socks off my feet. Take ear plugs. Be warned, there is a Muezzin who waits until everyone else has finished their Call to Prayer and everyone has gone back to sleep and then blasts his voice into that microphone for all to hear. If you weren't awake before, you certainly will be then.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. It's owned/managed by a moroccan/french couple. In general (and by the end of our stay) we decided they're both decent people...however, the moroccan guy comes off as arrogant at times and was snippy with us for deciding not to go with his (overpriced) contact for our desert trek. So while the actual accommodation is ok, you should be skeptical when he offers you any tours. We actually enjoyed the tour around the medina that he arranged for our first day (3 hour walking tour) with a nice guy that was very knowledgeable and spoke decent english..the price was 50 euro for both my wife and I, which is definitely not cheap but in the end we felt was worth it. On the other hand, the original price we got from his contact for a trip to the desert was 5000 dirhams! That included return trip from Fez to Merzouga, and access to the driver whenever we wanted, but we found it hard to understand why he would think someone staying in his budget accommodation can afford such ridiculous prices. We were then offered just the camel trip for 2500 dirhams, which is still a lot more than the 40US per person that seems to be the going rate if you call any of the hotels in Merzouga. Ok, rant over.

The views from the terrace are really nice. The twin girls that work there are sweet and helpful. The location is pretty good we thought...nice neighbourhood with lots of shops closeby and easy to get taxis (which are metered...nice change from Marrakesh). Our room was quite hot at times. The aircon didn't work well....it was more of a fan that we had to pull close to us. The shower had no curtain, so floor got wet if not careful. While the price of a room is reasonable, the cost of eating a meal (other than the free breakfast) is high (as well as the tours he suggests, as already mentioned). The included breakfast was pretty good...including one egg each and good coffee (in addition to normal continental stuff).

One nice perk was the availability of beer. It wasn't cheap, but was a very nice treat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveyboy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews