We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Clean and cheap.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Hotel Dalila
Ranked #169 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple, Clean and cheap.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this hotel after reading positive reviews here and am pleased it was as expected. The hotel is located on the northern edge of medina, the old city. A taxi ride from the railway station takes no more than 10 minutes and costs 20 dirham. The staff is friendly and the reception is decorated in traditional Moroccan style. The owner, Mohammed, is always sitting there, playing on his laptop.
Good size and very clean, my room on the first floor (inner side) was a bit cold in March but extra blanket was available. The attached bath room is very basic with a DIY type shower but clean. Two towels were provided but I had to ask for the toilet roll.

The location is excellent if you want to explore the old city. The Tejani mosque and Al Karouine madrasa are few minutes away through narrow alleys and worth a visit. I explored all parts of the city on foot without any problem. Don't believe people who warn you against getting lost. It's unlikely. The Burj Nord, the high point, not far from the hotel can be reached by foot if you are fit and provides a lovely panoramic view of the city.

The only negative point about the hotel was the supplementary breakfast as only the coffee or mint tea is served with it. A box of Lipton Tea should not be a big expense if the hotel wants to cater some British travellers. The wifi is only available in the reception.

All in all, this place is a very good value for money to stay for a couple of days. I thoroughly enjoyed my first visit of Fez.

Room Tip: The famous tanneries are not far from this hotel. ( I did not bother to visit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It is has a good location by the old medina and the taxi can take you there. From the bus station is about dh20. During the night it was very cold and it has no calefaction but they provide me an electric heating.
It also has a restaurant and the prices are ok.
Don´t ask the receptionist for a tour guide because he introduced me someone who didn´t speak English nor Spanish. I asked that I wanted to visit the important things in the medina and he took me to the terrace to have a view of how they work with the leather with the only purpose to sell me leather stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flor050881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolo, Bretagne, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Got back yesterday after a three night stay here. we knew it was not going to be 4 star so did not expect too much. However our room, although bright, typically Moroccan, was clean, comfortable and had all we needed, including toilet roll but had brought our own just in case!!. The communial area downstairs was also comfy and clean. The terrace at the top was a wonderful place to sit after a day of walking around just people watching. OK the view was not the best in the world but is normal for the area and that is why we came to Fez.The coffees were great as was the breakfast for 350 dh, or 3.50 euros in our money and kept us going for the day. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, even changed up our left over dirham for us into euros.They did not push tour guides onto us, gave us directions and told us to enjoy the medina, take lots of photos and take care. For a budget hotel we could not find fault.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was a decent stay. It is on the west side of the gigantic Fes medina, so navigating to some of the more major sites on the opposite side is either a navigational challenge or small taxi fare. On the plus side, the location is easily accessible via taxi (just tell the drivers "whed zeyhoun") from the train or bus stations. The hotel itself is clean and decently quiet, but wifi doesn't reach the top two floors, so request one on the first if you have important business. The one thing girlfriend and I really didn't care for at this place was the pressure to eat at the hotel's associated restaurant in the medina; we were shooting for a little less pricey options. All in all though, this place was average and fine for what we paid.

Room Tip: Wifi only reaches to the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We re three people stay in Hotel Dalila for 4 days, the good things i want to say about the hotel is the excellent location in the old town area, there was a very friendly and nice receptionist who always smile to us. The first day we checked in, the cleaning staff forgot to put toilet paper in the bathroom, and i asked for one in the reception. And like most of the Moroccan hospitality culture, the receptionist gave us mint tea as a welcome gift. And there was an old man always setting outside, bringing tourists to the places they want. This is one of the free hotel service, i find it good and helpful. But someone told us that they will collect money later on whenever we made an purchase, I don't know is this true or not, since i never witness once, but i think it is reasonable for people to do this because they re doing tourist business.

However, we find the bathroom bad, water keep leaking from the shower once you turn on it. There is no curtain around, so no longer in the second day, the floor in the bathroom was really flooded with water. Also, the cover of the seated stool can't stand still, so every time you seat on it, the cover fall down and touch your back.

Never the less, i find my stay in this hotel comfortable ignoring the bathroom, and i love to go to the roof top, there are table and chair you can use, and every few people go there because of the hot weather in summer and no wifi connection i guess, so it become my little paradise for a while. =]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We ha a hotel booked next door and realised I had made the booking for the wrong date. So asked here at hotel daliia and was the best decision ever!
The old man and the young man that runs the hotel are so very friendly.
The old man took us to the tannery (hard to find on your own) and he never asked or expected a tip but I gave him a small one anyways because he was so lovely. The night we arrived he walked us to a restaurant. This restaurant (which looked like a page outta my quirky grandmas house) had a set menu for 80 dirham and I must admit the lamb tagine there has been the best meal yet. And we have travelled morocco for 2 weeks now. Any travel info was given. Bedrooms lack light but reasonably pretty good for the cheap price.
The hotel is pretty much on the outskirts of the medina which is good as you don't have to get lost just to arrive at the hotel. Few windy streets and your in the awesome medina of fes. Few street signs above to look out for and you can find your way around pretty easily!
Breakfast is pretty good, bread, muffin , yogurt tea or coffee for 25 dirham. The staff are pretty easy to please. Which is so nice when your far away from home :)
Just count your washing if you get your laundry there as the lady might forget a item by accident! :)
Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The staff was very polite and helpful, pleasure to deal with=))))) Tasty orange juices, comfy terrace and lobby with wifi. Rooms are nice, but a bit dark, we had the one with no windows, good we stayed where only to sleep=) Bathroom was a bit rusty, but clean.
Overall - perfect for the price=)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasyusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel
3.8 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#53 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#69 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#47 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hotel Dalila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hotel Dalila

Property: Pension Hotel Dalila
Address: 28 Bab-Oued-Zhoun, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Hotel Dalila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing