We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chic experience in the Fez, Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )
Ranked #35 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A chic experience in the Fez, Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at the Maison Maure during the World Sacred Music Festival and it was an incredible experience. The host Christian showed us around and hosted us on his terrace nightly. The house itself is impeccable a perfect blend of Moroccan style juxtaposed with a European flavor. Everything is exquisite... the highlight in addition to the luxurious rooms with French bed linen is the breakfast on the terrace. It is delightful, served with such elegance and taste overlooking a spectacular view of the Fez, Medina. This is absolute chic luxury located in the medina with easy access to the new town. I recommend La Maison Maure highly... sheer elegance!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    19
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
88
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel it's self is very nice. We stayed one night at tjis hotel. The manager Driss told us that he would organise an early breakfast for us at 7.30 and and transport to the train station the day of our departure. Neither of which eventuated. Driss was nowhere to be seen. As he never appeared we did mot recieve change from our payment for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahg425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Since we arrived we felt at home. We were welcomed with magnificent mint tea by the friendly staff. The renovation of the house is beautifully done and our bedroom was a masterpiece. The breakfast, included in the price, is a different experience of local products every day which helps you start your day with a smile. It was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed for about 4 nights in November at La Maison Maure (3 friends) and were delighted with this beautiful Riad. Both the interior design and the service are exquisite. We also enjoyed sunbathing on the pretty roof-terraces and would definitely recommend the place and for sure, come again. Also a plus: great typical Moroccan breakfast and dinner upon request plus great travel advice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank compote89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

At the moment Christian-Stephane and Dryss opened the door of Le Maison Maure, we felled in love. With them and with their riad in middle of the old medina of Fes. The house is beautiful renovated in a very distinguish style and with all the luxury you need. The breakfast is superb. Especially the home made banana bread and the delicious honeys. Christian-Stpehane and Dryss make you feel really welcome in the house and take care of everything you need, from tips were to eat or were to buy your leather goods to day trips and rides to the station or airport. We had lovely time with them and , when possible, would love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pien77Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I decided to stay at the Medina with some trepidations. When I read that one has to be picked up and dropped at the gate I really wondered what this was all about. However, it appears that I made a perfect choice in booking in Maison Maure. The location of Maison Maure is near perfect. It is close to the Bab Gate and accessing it did not result in tears or sweat.Within a day, I knew how to find my own way which is unusual in the Medina. Interspersing with the unique landscape of the Medina, it was just another obscure structure like several others until you entered the space. Opening the door, one is received by the unmatched charm of Christian and a grand décor at the background. That’s just the beginning. One sees several beautiful Riads in the Medina. And is this not just one more, one could ask? No, painstakingly and laboriously, Christian has integrated his French sense of aesthetics with local material and décor. The Moroccan touch is visible in everything you see here; yet the homely touch is retained with the ability to navigate the entire space liberally. The assistance provided by the team is unmatched and stress is reduced to null thanks to the attitude of those who work and are present at Maure led by Christian. I was at my wit’s end with a credit card that wouldn’t work. But Christian assured me and re-assured me like I have never seen in any hotel in my last 10 years in 30 countries plus. The internet is excellent in the patio as well as the room . The breakfast was lovely not just because of the dishes, but because of the staff’s attention to the details and the manner in which it is served. Very personalized, I doubt whether any other hotel can really achieve this. I did go to another Riad which was excellent but cannot match Maure in the way in which one is treated and the ambience provided through continual efforts. The hotel team also arranged a professional guide for me and it was a great opportunity to see the Medina in detail. I appreciate Christian and his team. And unhesitatingly I would recommend this unique hotel to any kind of traveller going wanting to stay in Medina. Thank you Christian!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

When the small, Moroccan wooden door opens and you go inside, you have the feeling that you stepped into a parallel world. High ceiling, purple velvety sofas, delicious mint tea & pastry and breathtaking view from the three amazing terraces on top of the Riad.
Driss welcomed us like we were old friends and made our stay there without fault. Oh, maybe just one comment (which we also told Driss about): to put a sign outside, next to the door, for everyone to have an easier task to find the place.
Rooms are airy and beautifully furbished, have air conditioning and the wi-fi speed is ideal.
Best thing about the entire place - the open door room facing the main terrace - it has sofas and TV/DVD and you can enjoy a perfect evening or night watching a good movie or just to relaxing after a whole day of going through the Fes Medina maze.
We regretted we could not spend there more nights as we had booked in advance the entire Morocco tour.
Breakfast - a morning treat with delicious jam, coffee, milk, cheese, olives, yoghurt - all home-made. Plus, if you wake up at around 8.3-9, you can see the Medina supply chain:): a chain of little donkeys carrying stuff towards the shops.
Charming location - we'll definitely pay Driss another visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimeGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#21 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#30 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )

Property: La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )
Address: 51 Derb du Pacha Baghdadi | Ferrane Couicha (Ain Azeleten), Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes ) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional courtyard house in the central medina beautifully restored with great flair and imagination. There are 2 bedrooms, 5 suites, each with its own bathroom. The house has central heating as well as air-conditioning. Thai and indian silks, italian marble, 18th and 19th french furnitures, original contemporary artworks - all combine effortlessly with mosaics, carved tadelakt and cedarwood to make this an interesting take on traditional moroccan architecture. Our team will host you taking great care and providing advices to make your journey unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Maure Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing