We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great riad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Jardin des Biehn
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of the most beautiful gardens; great room [The Turk in love] with a marvelous shower; lovely service and a great restaurant. We recommend using the minivan for station and airport transfers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Le Jardin des Biehn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. What a beautiful hotel and gardens, everything done with such good taste and love. The staff, including the owner, could not have been friendlier. This is a great choice if you want a small, family-run hotel in Fez . Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I usually don't take the time to write reviews, but this place was so great that I absolutely had to take the time. I spent about 2 weeks here supervising a study abroad group at the local language school (ALIF), whose administration recommended I stay here. It's in the Medina, which is where you want to stay if you want to experience the traditional culture first hand. Out in the medina, it can be quite chaotic and crowded, but the Jardin des Biehn is a beautiful, relaxing oasis.

The staff is attentive, friendly, and caring. The proprietor, Michel, greets his guests every day and often converses with them as they take their meals. He is an excellent source of information about the city and what to do here. The food is excellent and prepared with care. I never worried about any health issues here and never had any.

It's located just a two-minute walk from the medina, and it's not much further to Batha, which is where you can easily catch taxis to anywhere in or near town.

My only disappointment was that I was here by myself and wished my wife were here. It is such a romantic place and the rooms are designed with couples in mind. But, in-cha-Allah, I will be back with her soon for that romantic getaway I longed for while I was here.

Don't stay in the Nouvelle Ville - stay in a Riad if you want to experience the Fassi culture. And the Jardin des Biehn couldn't be a better choice. It's not cheap, but it's not overpriced. A tremendous value, in my opinion, if what you're looking for is relaxation with easy access to all the cultural riches Fez has to offer.

Oh, and many of the staff, including the proprietors, speak excellent English in case you can't handle the country's dominant languages of French and Arabic.

Room Tip: The rooms have names and each is unique; you can check out the detailed website to make your choice...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed in Jardin des Biehn for two nights and had a great time. The hotel is small (9 rooms), with attentive staff and fun restaraunt (we've even attended the b-day party of the owner's wife). The rooms are all different (we stayed in Le Persan), so take a pick if you get a chance (ours had direct garden access, but was a bit dark and damp). The owner, Paul Biehn, is something of an arts person (designs interiors, clothes, writes culinary books and teaches cooking classes) and lives in the hotel - lots of style!

The location is convenient, although can be hard to find (drive to Place Batha, from there call the hotel for someone to guide you to avoid confusion). We've had issues, however, as our GPS did not have nearby streets. From the hotel it's very close to the main tourist attractions on the west side of the medina, but be ready for a 15-20 minute walk to Karaouine Mosque (very easy to get lost - after that the locals become a pest, as everyone tries to get money from you for guiding you to his shop). Overall a good location, especially if you're in Fes for a few days and want a place to relax from the hustle in the medina during the day.

Room Tip: Take a look at the available rooms - they're all of different design.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_R_Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We loved Le Jarden De Biehn! The staff was wonderful and the garden was beautiful. The room was very nice, and the food was delicious. I definitely recommend staying here if you come to Fez.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Gena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had a great weekend in the Jardin de Biehn. The beauty and the taste with which the garden, the restaurant and the rooms had been designed is stunning. Employees were very friendly and always smiling. On the first morning we were offered to have a look at the other rooms, the ancient sleeping room of the pasha, the chinese room, the central asian carpets.. when we then left that day to have a walk in the medina, I rethought what we had seen and was not sure whether it had been dream or reality. We have been travelling around Morocco quiet a bit and I must say, this is really an exceptional place! And then, it's also the little things that make it perfect: Breakfast with much more choice than in comparable places, first floorheating I've ever seen in the country, very generous gifts of nice argan oil shampoo and soaps...All the best to Michel for this project! Warmly recommanded!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolandaRabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had the most wonderful visit to Le Jardin des Biehn. It was magical. The gardens are incredible and each room is a work of art. The hamam is awesome. The staff is wonderful - friendly, warm and delightful. If you are looking to stay in Fes, look no further!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karawan Riad
Karawan Riad
#18 of 100 in Fes
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#13 of 100 in Fes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Biehn

Address: 13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £89 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jardin des Biehn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin des Biehn is a large Andalusian garden in the middle of the Medina of Fez, scented by Isfahan roses, jasmin, orange blossom and bergamot. All around stands the summer palace of a Pasha : nine rooms and suites, a restaurant, a spa and an art gallery. It is a place of harmony and charm, of luxury and fantasy, of shadows and light passing through the palms, lulled by birdsong and the murmur of fountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Jardin des Biehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing