We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Bab Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bab Al Madina
Ranked #151 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“Stay here!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My two friends and I stayed at Bab Al Madina in the middle of June this year and loved it. Our bus arrived in Fes at five in the morning. When we arrived at the hotel, Mohammad graciously let us sleep in the sitting/dining area (there are plenty of couches) as our room wasn't available yet. Just a few hours later, he woke us up to tell us that our room had been cleaned and was ready for us. That afternoon, Mohammad took us to the medina and showed us where a few things were...all just to help out. Breakfast was delicious and hearty, a good way to start the day. The staff at Bab Al Madina were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us out. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street as it gets pretty loud early in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5_27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel was ok, although the bathroom has a low standard. Breakfast was good.
The negative thing about the hotel is the place where it is located, it is not the most cosy area you can stay in. The good about the location is that it is close to the Medina.
Watch out for people who are overpricing, for example taxi-drivers etc. Taxi-drivers can tell you the wrong prices for hotels,prices that are much lower than it really is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed for a week in May 2013, a retired woman travelling alone. I was made to feel very welcome & all my requests were immediately granted, without being hassled to take up tours, guides etc. The hotel is family run with good staff, all of whom speak French & enough English. They will help you with all the information & advice you need. It is not near the Blue Gate which is a godsend, as it is quiet, but there are petit taxis stopping outside the door, so for less than a pound you can get anywhere, if you dont want to walk. It is also very handy when you arrive & leave with your bags. Plenty of the places you want to visit are at that end of the Medina. The hotel is very clean & sheets & towels were changed every day. The breakfast is plentiful & varied with nice coffee or English tea. There is a roof terrace where you can sunbathe or chill out. The hotel provides evening meals on request if you dont want to go out. I was pleased there was a computer, without charge, for the use of visitors, as I dont have a smart phone, but there is also free wifi. Overall, while it is not a Riad, the decor is traditional with tiles & painted ceilings; the best description is a Moroccan B&B, so probably nearer a typical Moroccan experience than the Riad ! Somehow it felt more comfortable stepping out into the world of Fes from a basic B&B than from a luxurious place. The value is amazing, & I was concerned it might be more like a hostel, but it isn't.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. One room on each floor has a bathroom across the hall rather than ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonikBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have stayed at Bab Al Madina several times when we fly into Fez and have found it to be perfectly adequate and pleasant. Unlike many other establishments at this price, the rooms are clean and fresh with simple decor and furnishings.

The hotel is sparsely furnished with crisp white walls which is refreshing unlike some of the riahds deeper in the medina where the beds seem a hundred years old and feel musty and soft furnishings suffocate every open space. Ditto the bathrooms. Nothing luxurious or fancy - but everything is clean and in working condition, which is a rarity in Marocco at this price - believe me!

Furthermore - we have stayed in both winter and the beating heat of summer and in both climates, the hotel is comfortable. Again, quite rare in Morocco.

The staff are friendly and helpful - NOT OVERLY ATTENTIVE as is often the case in other places. They will also look after your interest, for example, they do not tolerate the bogus "guides" to pester their guests and they will offer you someone with knowledge at a reasonable price.

The hotel is conveniently located just outside one of the medina gates, which means you can find your way back easily - as long as you can remember the gate number. Also - there is a congregation of little taxi's in the street outside, which means you can hop in and get transported to the train station or elsewhere in a jiffy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is on a limited budget. It is worth every penny.

If you can afford to pay a substantial amount more - it may be worth staying in one of the ancient riahd's where you will be surrounded with breathtaking artisan work - handmade mosaics and fabulous ceiling carvings and handwoven textiles and tapestries. It is a dream experience - even just for one night it feels as if you are a Pasha having been transported to a different time. The food in the riahd's are also usually very luxurious and deeply traditional.

If you can't afford that - don't settle for mediocre inbetween: Bab al Madina is a perfect place to stay that won't cost you a mortgage and you can always go and look at the beautiful artwork in a museum or palace.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mardilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Good price in Fez and the price includes breakfast which is very delicious. We could sit on terrace and watch people in street. The staff is nice, kind helpful. They organized us a guided half day sightseeing and showed to the nearest hammam and these were free but of course we gave tip for it. Our room was simple but clean. The cook of this hostel cooks the best tajine all over Morocco. We ate here the most delicious vega and chicken tajines in the whole Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eniko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I should start by saying that the staff is amazing....They make everything possible for the turists to feel perfect. I stayed in a room with 3 beds;the room was clean, there was TV, air condit. The bathroom was clean with everything neccessary in it. The prices are awesome: i paid for the room (my share), 1 lunch, 1 dinner, coffee and a guide tour somewhere around 22 euro..
I must say that we found the place from a man who reccommended to us while we were travelling by train...Also, the food is more than deliciouse: try tajine with plums! They serve mint tea for free and free coffee for me only :D!
Whenever I'll return to Fes, I'll definetly stay again there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex-traveller4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Beautiful, beautiful place which I highly recommend.
The staff here make your stay well worthwhile...as do the spacious rooms (with air conditioning), new beds, beautiful terrace, and amazing food. They are committed to making sure your stay is comfortable, enjoyable and an authentic Fes experience!
We were only supposed to stay 2 nights but ended up staying as long as we possibly could as we didn't want to leave!
The food the girls cook is truly the best we had anywhere in morocco.
Aziz is the best host and will do anything he can for you-- we love love love him!
If you are in Fes-- stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.7 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#14 of 99 in Fes
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tijani Hotel
Tijani Hotel
#102 of 210 in Fes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Al Madina

Property: Bab Al Madina
Address: N 28 Ouad Zahoun, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bab Al Madina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bab Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing