We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart Dar Farah”
Review of Dar Farah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Farah
Ranked #20 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Fes
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I heart Dar Farah”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Yves, the owner, is fascinating, and has decorated the riad with scultptures from all this travels throughout sub-Saharan Africa. He's very passionate and warm hearted and is what makes this riad so charming. Bashir, a staff member at Dar Farah was so helpful with our bags (love the innovative rope pulley in lieu of an elevator) and our questions. The room was comfortable, hot water was consistent, breakfast was delicious and filling, and Dar Farah is one of the better priced riads in Morocco. Perfect location, right near the Blue Door and so much activity in the food market. Best eclairs ever around the corner towards the blue door! Very easy to find once they lead you the first time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights it is an amazingly reconstructed Dar with a fantastic roof terrace. Its so quite its hard to believe you are in the middle of the median. The place is full of atmosphere and the owner although not having any English bent over backwards to be helpful.

As it was said before it is a bit difficult to find and it is situated down a little ally way were were surrounded by hustlers when they seen our bags but once we had checked in and got our bearings it was not so bad to find again.

Room Tip: Have a mint tea on the roof one of the best teas I had in morocco careful of the tortoise though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyRManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our family of seven loved our time at Dar Farah. We ended up staying another night because we were so happy with the riad. The owner, Yves, was helpful and accommodating. He helped us find room for all the kids and ended up giving us an extra room without charge. We don't speak French and Yves doesn't speak English so we had a hard time communicating. We broke out Google Translate a couple of times to tell him how much we loved the breakfast and the riad itself.

As one other review said, it was very much a boutique riad at a more budget price. Though it seemed high-end, Yves welcomed our children -- we think he actually enjoyed waking up and finding our kids in the little TV room watching cartoons.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandenburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a wonderful B&B situated in a wonderful renovated medina house from the early 19th Century. I was looking for a bit of riad chic at a budget price, and found this on Tripadvisor.

It was a bit of a pain to find, especially as you'll be surrounded by hustlers as soon as you enter through Bab Boujeloud. The cab can take you as far as Bab Boujeloud, but cars are not allowed to enter the medina - in Fez, the medina transport is the donkey... You could simply ignore them and walk into the medina - straight on across a little square, into a covered section where the path goes sharp right past a few small restaurants, then sharp left, then walk straight on. Pass a small bank to the left then the entrance to a hammam to the right, and a mosque-like building on the left. Then, after maybe 50m, there is a tiny passageway to the left. One of the signposts is to Pension Kawtar. Often, there's kids with drums practising int hat passageway. Go into the alley and almost immediately turn right into another alley, then Dar Farah is 30m down that alley - it has a sign on the door.

I was pretty relived to have found it, in the end.

The B&B is run by Monsieur Yves, who, as you may guess, is French. Brush up your best French, because if there is one disadvantage here, it's that no English is spoken, but my French is pretty ropey at the best of times, and I got by - and learnt a lot... and Yves is so very friendly, and everyhting is hassle-free, that it doesn't really matter.

The house is beautiful, traditional Moroccan, with wonderful restored woodwork and a collection of artefacts all over the place. It only has four rooms, all are quite large with their own bathrooms. They are all up a steep staircase - well, it's an authentic Moroccan medina house. Likewise, don't expect hot water at ALL times... but its always there in the morning, and a good excuse to go to the hammam across the road, which apparantly only cost 10 Dirham.

As is was cold and rainy, I much appreciated the heating in my room. The decor is just wonderful, old tiles, all very authentic old, not too much, all kept very simple yet elegant.

In the morning, there is a wonderful breakfast of fresh pastries, orange juice and cinnamon-laced coffee.

Noise can be a little bit of an issue, mainly drumming, but it kind of added to the flavour of the place, and was never late into the evening and did not really bother me.

And did I mention the roof terrace (very steep steps) where, if the weather is good, you can sit for hours, admiring the old town?

After my last debacle of having my credit card charged after paying in cash, I was a bit jumpy about making cash payments, but you can trust this place, it's very honest, receipts are always given, exchange rates are accurate and honest.

When I go back to Fez, there is only one place to stay for me now.

Room Tip: I liked all rooms (I had a little peek into all of them, as I was the only guest when I stayed in No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anja-Superlekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Dar Farah is a beautiful riad conveniently situated in the Fes Medina. Our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast of different breads and pancakes was the best we had in Morocco. Likewise, the dinner that we had one night was probably our best meal of the holiday and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eating-tonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We loved this riad. The ambience was charming and our host Yves was extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious and bright. There was also a very pretty terrace which had lovely views of the medina and beyond. you only had to step out of the riad and you were in the centre of the medina. The venues for the Fez music festival were within walking distance. Breakfast was included and was adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the cafe can be a bit noisy. there's a lot of singing going on till about 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medha48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytilene, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had a fabulous stay at this 'Dar' in a great location in Fes. Yves made us feel very welcome and was helpful with tips, directions and ideas.
The breakfast was delightful and a little different every day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evaandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Haj Palace
Riad Haj Palace
#35 of 99 in Fes
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#4 of 69 in Fes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Farah

Property: Dar Farah
Address: 5 Derb Tariana Fes Medina | Medina Fes, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Farah is located in the heart of the medina of Fes, offers 4 rooms with shower and toilet, wifi and air conditioning, can accommodate a total of 10 peoples. Dar Farah and its typical Arab architecture of Fez with its balconies his pation, two lounges without forgetting its terrace overlooking a magnificent view of Fes day and night. Dar Farah is in a lively area offering to dive directly into the life of the medina safe day and night. You will find restaurants, shops of all Moroccan specialties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing