We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Drissi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Drissi
Ranked #52 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Back home to Vicenza, Italy, from a fantastic four days long weekend spent in Fes in the wonderfull, comfortable and well positioned ryad Dar Drissi, we send a big thanks to Kibir and Dar Drissi management for the hospitality. During the stay in Dar Drissi we felt ''at home'' thanks to the hight level of the Ryad and to the support of Kibir, always avaiable to help us for any requirement. We warmly suggest this guest house for your stay in Fes. Thanks also to Julian who supported us during the reservation. Our experience in Fes was fantastic from cultural and relax point of view.
Many thanks again from Vicenza family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

A friend and I had a lovely one-night stay in Dar Drissi recently and were really charmed by it. It is large and airy (though the rooms vary in size from enormous to snug, so choose wisely; the enormous rooms are really something special), exquisitely renovated, spotlessly clean, and has a terrific view from the rooftop. The common are on the ground floor was comfortable for hanging out or having a meal. The host Kabir was friendly and helpful. As with a lot of riads, getting above the ground floor requires navigating a rather narrow stairwell, but it was well-lit and had a solid railing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

After browsing TripAdvisor, we chose Dar Drissi. They deserve their good reviews. After emailing them, they promptly replied that they had a triple room available. Kibir, the manager, met us at the bus station and got us a taxi. It is important that you arrange to meet someone because you'd never find this place on your own. We put on our packs and had a short 5 or so minute walk down the main street of the medina. Then, you turn off onto a very narrow, dark alleyway. You come to Dar Drissi and the door opens into a beautifully restored riad. Kibir gave us a map of the medina and was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, comfortable and lovely. Breakfast was great, complete with freshly squeezed OJ and good french press coffee. We wanted to get a guide to take us around the medina and Kibir called and arranged this for us. The guide (can't remember his name) was fantastic. He was friendly, knowledgeable, spoke good English and gave us some great insight into the Moroccan way of life. There was no hassle and no shopping stops.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deggendorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed in Dar Drissi for 2 nights this august and enjoyed every minute in this lovely restored Dar rigth in the center of the medina. We had the whole house just for us which was actually a lot of fun. The service was gorgeous as was the breakfast and the director of Dar Drissi who explained us a lot about the restaurantion, the building and of course Fes.

I can only recommend this place to everyone visiting Fes!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

If you want to spend some time in a typical medina home that has been lovingly restored using a lot of the original features then this is the p;ace to go. The rooms are all clean and well looked after. Kabir the manager was helpful and met us at the gates of the medina as it would be difficult to find on your own. Medina is on your doorstep although you wouldn't know from inside the house as it is quiet. Lovely open ceiling in courtyard where you can hear the birds singing in the mornings and watch the starlings roosting at night. We were directed to some lovely places to eat and even had an escort to take us to a family restaurant. As we were there during ramadan is was useful that breakfast and food was provided in the house. We took the train from Tangiers to Fes first class very cheap and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Kabir send a taxi to meet us at the station. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and want to go back again when it is cooler as there is so much more to explore outside the medina and the surrounding countryside. Give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The location is superb. The service is friendly and hospitable. the rooms are beautiful and very clean.
Staff introduced us to the area and offered a hassle free experience. Have already recommended this place to many friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melba n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I really liked this place. Its location is one of its best features. While it’s essentially impossible to find the first time, that’s kind of a good thing. It’s right in the heart of the old medina, which is where just about everything worth seeing in Fes is located. But it’s about a one-minute walk – through narrow, winding back-alleys – off the main connecting street (Talaat Kabira).
Kebir, the manager, was extremely helpful from the beginning. You get a taxi to take you to a certain place near the riad, then he walks you to the riad. The riad has plenty of character/grandeur, and Kebir is careful to point out all the intricacies of the place (it’s quite old). The room I stayed in (the upper room) was quite small (this was, by admission, made clear on the website). I didn’t really mind it, but if you’re not travelling alone, you’ll probably want to select a bigger room (there are a few different options, and they all looked very nice).
A “typical” Morrocan breakfast -- Moroccan pancake/crepe with bread, jam, fresh OJ and coffee/tea – is included. When I asked about dinner, Kebir mentioned a family restaurant that he said had good food. He arranged for someone to come by the riad and escort me to the restaurant, about a ten-minute walk each way. Only after did I learn that the restaurant, Dar Hatim, is rated on TripAdvisor as the best restaurant in Fes! (While a bit pricey, it did not belie this designation.)
I think the best part of the stay was Kebir himself. He was extremely friendly and particularly helpful the whole time. And because only the guests stay in the riad, you get all the privacy in the world. I would also say that, for all this, the price was quite reasonable compared to other riads in Fes. I’d definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weezy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#27 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hlimi
Dar Hlimi
#122 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riyad Al Atik
Riyad Al Atik
#34 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Houdou Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Drissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Drissi

Property: Dar Drissi
Address: 24 Derb el Menia Kbira (offTalaa Kbira) | Chrabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Drissi is a guest house in the ancient Medina in Fez (Fes) Morocco. It is a 250 year old property that has been restored to its original decorative style and modernised in respect of en suite bathrooms and air conditioning in all rooms. Free breakfasts, clean towels and bed linen, daily room cleaning and wifi are included in the price. A local tourist tax of 2 EUR per person per night will be added to the final bill. Prices depend on the room choice and the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Drissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing