We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Morocco. Love Riad dar Guennoun.”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like Morocco. Love Riad dar Guennoun.”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The riad is situated in amongst the ally ways of the old city in Fes. It provides moroccon culture and decor, traditional food along side friendly and welcoming staff. If you ever want to go to morocco, this riad is a place to try.

Room Tip: Just give the manager a call or facebook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabiha_tweety_khaliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
89
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Riad Dar Guennoun was our residence when visiting the famous annual music festival. Although hidden in a back-alley a little off the real centre this is a very good option for a stay in Fes. The big room on the ground floor is marvellous, as is the roof terrace which we regularly used for our breakfasts. The breakfasts were ample and delicious and also the evening meal which we had once only due to our visits to the festival was really good. The management and personnel do their best to help you with information and additional offers. We had booked the Sophia room one floor from the top and thought it was fine. The beds are good, but as anywhere in Fes, you might be woken up by the first call for prayer from the next mosque. Last but not least, take your time to have a look at the small library in the big room downstairs, too bad we discovered it only at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GojkoMitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I traveled for 3 weeks in Morocco and this riad was by far the best one I stayed at...it's absolutely stunning, extremely clean, and the food is wonderful. The staff are amazing and always there if you need something, including setting up guides, taxis, tours, etc. Location is perfect. For the price the Dar Guennoun is spectacular!!! Don't miss out on this riad...you won't be disappointed :)

I stayed in the room 'Sophia'.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Real hidden gem in the old town centre.
Miriam was wonderful hostess and the food (chicken tagine) was delicious. I'm definitely coming back!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Divana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This riad has a few pretty Moroccan style rooms with a lovely courtyard in the middle.The roof terrace has great views. The staff are very friendly and helpful and can supply you with tea, meals and even beer where necessary!

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, just different sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My guide today told me of an Arabic saying that goes: "It's not about where, but about who with." Well, Riad Dar Guennon has both 'where' and 'who'. This is a wonderful place with excellent staff. It is decorated in traditional Moroccan style with all of the modern comforts for the traveller. From traditional mint tea and cookies at arrival to a healthy homemade breakfast (with crepes, toast, Moroccon bread and fresh jam) on the outdoor patio overlooking the Medina, with swallows sweeping overhead and the ancient city below.

Each room is different (I stayed in the Sarah room) and named for a member of the family who owns the riad. Miriam met me when I arrived, and was so nice and helpful. She arranged a guide for the next day, we spent the evening together (coincidentally enough watching the episode of America's Next Top Model where they travel to Morocco) and we even raided the kitchen for a late-night snack!

The riad is extremely clean and quiet, and the beds are quite comfortable. There is so much beauty here, and it is a wonderful, exotic haven from the bustling, crowded Medina that surrounds it.

Room Tip: Small rooms are perfect for solo travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melamondiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifrane, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

From the moment we make the reservation through an agency we got a phone call from Miriam at the Riad welcoming us and giving us some advise on how to get there, this immediatley gave us great confidence that we picked the right Riad! On our arrival they prepared Moroccan tea and Moroccan cookies, the Riad is beautiful...we booked the Junior Sofia Suite but we got a chance to look at all the other bedrooms and which ever one you choose you will not be dissappointed! We also ate in the Riad, and again the food was amazing and they served wine too. We had a great nights sleep, the room has everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel but just in more beautiful and traditional surroundings. We had a fantastic breakfast on the roof top terrace in the sunshine overlooking the medina. I would reccommend anyone visiting fez to stay here, you have a very warm welcome from Miriam and her team and they will do anything for you and because the Riad only has 6 rooms you really feel well looked after and part of the family even if it was only for 1 night. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseifrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#42 of 99 in Fes
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#19 of 99 in Fes
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 99 in Fes
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
#39 of 99 in Fes
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Property: Riad Dar Guennoun
Address: 70, Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne (Rcif) Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing