We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot with amazing staff”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

For the three of us, this was our first trip to Morocco, and this riad our first hotel. What a perfect way to start! In setting up the reservation, I felt that Miriam was helpful and enthusiastic. She reassured me that all our needs would be met. They were and much more. The driver she sent to pick us up at the train station was pleasant and professional. So much so that we hired him for a half day tour outside the medina and also to drive us to our next destination. He was wonderful.

Upon our arrival, we checked into one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen. Everything was done beautifully and the bathroom was modern and spacious. I felt like I was on a movie set it was so romantic and luxurious. This is a family owned and operated riad, not Las Vegas. Do not expect a Marriott and why would you want such? Miriam greeted us with tea and cookies upon our arrival. She arranged to have dinner for us and, the daily breakfast was plentiful.

On our first day, she arranged for a half day guide through the medina. This is worth every penny. We ended up keeping the guide the entire day. Some will say a guide is not needed. They may be right but, this guide made the day so wonderful that we may have made a mistake not hiring him another time. He was a wonderful gentleman and Miriam will gladly arrange this for you, as well. The entire staff at this riad was hard working, helpful and pleasant. They seemed genuinely concerned about our safety (no problems there) and our convenience. The cooks, cleaning staff and night manager, Abdul, were all wonderful. We overloaded Miriam with questions and requests constantly. Certainly we wore her out and yet, she never faltered in her cheerfulness and earnest effort to satisfy our every single need. We felt so comfortable with her, we have invited her to stay with us should she ever come to the USA.

We stayed in the 2 rooms on the second floor. One of the rooms had some issues with the wireless connection. It was easier to sit in the main room downstairs to use your computer but, I suggest you just leave it off while you are visiting and soak up the experience. If wireless is a priority, ask her which room she recommends for the best connection.

Comfort, security, cleanliness, tour arrangements, hotel service were all addressed with efficiency and courtesy.

Room Tip: Just tell Miriam what your priorities are: cost, comfort, quiet, internet etc and she can match you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

For our first trip to Fes we took a wonderful train ride from Marrakech. We pre booked our taxi through Miriam, the wonderful and lovely owner of Riad Dar Guennoun. The riad is located in the heart of the Medina and is beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. It is also very quiet. Miriam was gracious enough to arrange for our tour of Fes City and the Medina including a few relaxing hours at the Nausikaa Spa and Hamman. Miriam and her staff were welcoming and very helpful. We recommend having a scrumptious breakfast and dinner at the riad prepared by Miriam's staff. It was a pleasure meeting Miriam and staying at her riad. We can't wait to visit Fes and stay at the Riad Dar Guennoun on our next visit to Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaajandNaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent four wonderful nights in Riad Dar Guennoun in February 2012. A pre-arranged driver picked us up from the train station. The owner of the riad, Miriam, is a charming young lady whose family has owned the place since the 17th century. Miriam speaks impeccable French and English. She doesn't simply run the riad, but her presence is actually part of the experience.

We were highly satisfied with our room. Hearty breakfasts are included in the room price. Dinner is not, but it's well worth eating your dinner here - the staff prepares delicious tajines and other Moroccan specialties. Breakfast and dinner is served in a beautifully decorated room adjacent to the central courtyard.

We found the location also great: Riad Dar Guennoun is located in the South of Fes-el-Bali, in a peaceful neighbourhod. Bustling Bab er-Rcif gate is about 5 minute walk, and as soon as you pass this gate, you're in the thick of the medina. The famous tanneries are also in this general area, but you need to ask for directions several times. We used taxis a few times, for example to the train station in the new town or even to Bab el-Jeloud, the upper entrance to the medina. The price should be Dh 20-30, depending on your bargaining skills.

We returned home from Fez three weeks ago now, but our children still urge us to go back - to see the city again, but specifically to stay in the same magical riad, and to be greeted by Miriam's smiles :)

Room Tip: As a family with two children (aged 6 and 9), we received the Juliet Suite. This room is truly beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bancsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Riad is lovely inside, the rooms are perfectly laid out and the staff are always very helpful. The family run business has me coming back many times due to their warmth and friendliness.

Room Tip: They are all lovely and simply go up in price as they get larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Riad Dar Guennoun was the first during our Morocco travel.
It is a very atractive hotel in a quite area of the Medina, car free.
The location is perfect to visit the old town of Fez.
The hotel is built in traditional Moroccan style and gives you a sense of luxury, comfort and
atmosphere - especially at night, when the lanterns are lit and the music interacts in harmony with patio fountain water drops...
The bedroom was superb with a massive bed, high quality fittings and beats the usual bland chain hotels hands down.
The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning unit worked well. Wi-fi was well accessible from the common areas. Definitely check out the terrace while you're there too!
We found the staff at Raid to be very attentive. We were warmly welcomed and taken care of the entire time we were there.
Please trust them when offering help - taxi, etc. and trusted guid - he can better inform you about the history, the cultural specificities of the city without being harassed by illegal guides.
This will spare you unnecessary disappointments, inconveniences (and money) in the city...
The Moroccan breakfast of homemade breads!, fresh squeezed orange juice!, eggs and fruit was amazing.

We had a great time and thoroughly recommend the Riad to anyone who wants comfort, peace, first class service and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a wonderful time in this very beautiful riad. Unfortunately Miriam wasn't there these days but her father Abdul did a great job. We had a lot of fun and I'm sure he had too... :)

We really recommend you to eat at the riad sometime because the dinners are great there and even low priced. Breakfast is very good too with a lot of different things.

It's a good idea to have a guide the first time you walk around Fès as it's really difficult to find the way home. It took us over one hour searching before we found it - even with GPS from an iphone. :)

Long story short: It's a great place if you visit Fès. If you want really beautiful room take one of the suites.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Berny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was the first riad I stayed at in Morocco and it set the standard for the rest of the trip. It is in the medina but easily located from outside the walls. It is cool, quiet and lovely respite from the wild clamor and business of the medina. Miriam Guennoun is a friendly, warm, kind hostess who made sure I was comfortable and well-taken care of. The inside was a complete surprise after the brown stucco of the alleyways. Nearly every surfacei s covered in the mosaic tile the Moroiccans are famous for. At the center of the downstairs area a small fountain made a quiet soothing sound to accompany our meals. The food is exquisite and served in Moroccan style on low tables as we sat on plush couches.. My room was large, luxurious and comfortable without being pricey. Since it was the off-season, there weren't many guests and I was made to feel like family. I was invited to use the office computer and would go in with my glass of wine to check my mail just as I do at home. I will go back. I cannot conceive of anyone not being satisfied.

Room Tip: They're all good, but if you have breathing difficulties, ask for a ground level room. The stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patlarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 100 in Fes
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#28 of 100 in Fes
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#40 of 100 in Fes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Address: 70 Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £22 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing