We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad just inside the medina”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great riad just inside the medina”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I exchanged several e-mails with with Miriam before making my decision to stay at riad Dar Guennoun. Miriam make the decision easy. Since we were traveling from Rabat on the train, she cautioned us to be careful of the “friendlies” on the train that they did not have our best interests in mind. Indeed, we did meet three of them and all three tried to find out our names and where we were staying. We told them our sister was picking us up and they quickly left us alone.

Miriam met us with tea and pastries that were great. I had pre arranged with Miriam to have someone pick us up at the train station. They were there with a sign displaying our name and we were at the riad within 10 minutes. Well worth the 100dhs. plus tip. I had also asked her if she could arrange a tour beginning at 2:00. She did so, but also prepared for us a Moroccan salad. This is not your usual salad you get in a U.S. restaurant, but is an assortment of wonderful vegetables in small dishes. Carrots, beans, etc was placed before us and was one of the best we ate during our stay in Morocco. We also ordered dinner both nights of our stay and we could not have been more pleased. Their preparation and presentation of meals is outstanding and I encourage anyone to give it a try. She also had wine by the bottle or glass available. We chose a bottle of Moroccan wine both nights. Moroccan wine is very good. Try a glass while you are there.

Wi Fi is available in the lobby which is a place of calm that you must sit and enjoy while you are there. There is a fountain that drips water that echos throughout and is most relaxing. There is also a terrace that provided one of the most beautiful sunsets we saw while in Fes.

Since we were to meet our guide/driver at 7:00am the last morning, she insisted that Siad bring down our luggage so others would not be disturbed. We stayed on the third floor and Siad took our bags up as well as brought them down. Breakfast does not begin until 8:00, but we had a big surprise awaiting us at 6:30 that morning. Siad had prepared a full breakfast for us. We had not expected that, but were oh so pleased.

If you are looking for a beautiful place in the medina close to everything, this is a place you can book with confidence.

Room Tip: The web site will help you to decide which room is best for you. The pictures displayed are just wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micha8dp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
89
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From the minute we arrived the service was fantastic. We arrived after midnight and Miriam met us and made us tea. The driver the hotel arranged to meet us at the airport carried our bags to the door which I recommend as it would be difficult to find otherwise, although you don’t have to walk far from the point where the driver took us. You walk in through a plain door in a tiny alley way, and the building is beautiful inside, very traditional decoration so it’s a world away from identikit hotels. You couldn’t be anywhere but in Morocco as the decoration is all traditional crafts of zellig tiles and carved stucco. Our room was comfortable, very clean and very nicely decorated, with free wifi in our room, air con, TV and fridge, and when it was hot outside it was cool and comfortable, although quite dark as the windows are onto the courtyard rather than to outside. There is no room safe, but there is a safe in the office. On our first day the hotel had organised us a guide to take us round the medina, again highly recommended as even when we roughly knew our way around on the second day, we wandered round and round for ages – lots of fun to see everything but we wouldn’t have found half the things we wanted to see without the guide on the first day. We had a big lunch that day, and the hotel were kind enough to provide us with a light meal of salads and bread that evening, but we dined in the following evening and the food was wonderful. I particularly recommend the pastilla which was delicious. Breakfasts are also good (and the terrace on the roof is lovely), they are varied, generous and delicious with different kinds of pancakes every day, and they remembered after the first time that I wanted tea, not coffee in the morning. They also organised our guide and driver to Volubilis, Moulay Idris and Meknes, and rearranged it when we changed the day we wanted to go (because the main museum in Fes is closed on Tuesdays). When we ate outside the hotel on our last night, someone escorted us to the nearest point to find a taxi, and they gave us clear directions what to tell the taxi driver to bring us back. We ate by the way at the blue gate Bab Boujeloud (between 8 and 11 dirhams depending on day time or night time by taxi) and coincidentally ate at the Restaurant Guinoun, where I had fantastic couscous royale. There are nice shops round there as well and lots of life in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Couple late 30's trav;lling around morocco. We stayed there for 3 nights (junior suite, top floor)

Arrived to fes after a tour in the atlas, the hotel is located in the medina away from the main streets. It is a very cute dar with a central area well decorated. the hotel also has a roof terrace to have breakfast and dinner when the weather permits.
Rooms are nicely decorated, large enough and has good showers
The room has a couple of windows on the outside so can be a bit noisy in early mornings.
Breakfast was very nice with omelette, pancakes, honey/jam, bread, olives.

The owners are really helpful and can organise any tours, guide even restaurants if needed.
We had a guide through the medina (recommended) and a meknes volubiliss day trip (great).
You can find taxis 5min away easely, it will cost more than double if you get them from the dar.

Otherwise, it is a debate whether to stay in the medina or not as it is easier to go out in the ville nouvelle, depends on what you want to do in the medina. Note that the hotel does excellent dinners if required with local wines. We also had a massage in the ville nouvelle but there are also a couple of riads which do them in the medina, book in advance though.

left by train to rabat (2h, 230 dir), taxi to station is 20 dir

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends. The rooms were great, the meals excellent and the staff, in particular Miriam, were very friendly and helpful. This is a beautiful haven in the Medina of Fez.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A friend and I stayed at this Riad for 4 nights. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Saiid with some mint tea and cookies. The staff that work there are incredibly friendly, and throughout our trip they were always very helpful. We felt as though they took us in as one of their own.
Breakfast everyday was fantastic! On the last day we had it on the terrace which was even better. The views from the terrace are just incredible!
The Riad organised 2 tours for us, one around the walls of the medina and one inside the walls of the medina. Both were fascinating. Make sure you try to leave at least one day, where you're able to wonder around the walls of the medina by yourself though. Getting lost inside the walls is all part of the experience!
All in all, this Riad is great in every aspect. You should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This place oozes character, with its Moroccan decoration and ornaments, and the food is delicious and a good option given the limited places to eat in the Medina. The eating area was candle lit which provided a wonderful atmosphere along with the traditional Moroccan music (although they really are a fire risk as they are left naked and unattended over table cloths). The air conditioning is very effective and we made good use of the fridge. The bed is comfortable. Tours, pickups and drop-offs can be organised. The staff is very friendly and went out of their way to help us, including pointing out where to go in the infinitely complex streets of Fez, providing us with a map, and catering for our vegetarian options without fuss and with different food each day, including different breakfasts. It’s difficult to say this when we’ve been treated so well and the riad’s feedback record is so impressive but our feedback is always honest… We found a cockroach in our room and my partner saw one on the staircase. Cleaning staff appeared promptly and sprayed insecticide and the one in our room was found dead within a couple of hours. Fez is hot and underdeveloped, and rubbish and food is left in the streets. The problem is probably widespread. The only other problems were that the (lovely) bedside lamps occupied the only bedside sockets (though we asked for and were supplied with a multi-way adaptor), and the bath area was tired with old grouting. In all other respects we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awholeworldoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were so happy with this Riad! Unsure of what to expect and weary from a lot of travel throughout Spain, we were greeted warmly by Miriam and taken care of so kindly. She brought us tea and cookies, a very welcome snack, and told us that she upgraded our room when she found out we were on our honeymoon. She also lugged all of our luggage to our room, which was unnecessary but so nice since we were very tired! The courtyard of the Riad is beautiful and the room was lovely. The wifi works really well and the bathroom was clean and pretty. It is also located just within the walls of the medina, which is really nice since its so easy to get lost and there are many winding alleys with stairs or hills. We had a very nice breakfast on the terrace both mornings we were there, which I highly recommend in order to enjoy a moment of calm within the chaos of Fez. The only complaint I can even thinks of is that the towels are a little crunchy due to sun drying for this spoiled American. Otherwise, we had a wonderful experience at Dar Guennoun and would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#42 of 99 in Fes
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#20 of 99 in Fes
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 99 in Fes
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
#39 of 99 in Fes
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Property: Riad Dar Guennoun
Address: 70, Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne (Rcif) Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing