We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people, characterful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great people, characterful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed as a family of 6 (and a baby) for 2 nights. We loved the riad, the surprise factor on the way in and the lavishly, tastefully decorated interiors. Miriam is a truly great host and the staff is also similarly very attentive and caring, especially the dinner waiter.

Of course there were a few small glitches, such as lack of hairdryers in the rooms and the relatively old (but still very clean) bathroom towels but Miriam was always ready to address any requests and whatever issue we had was handled smoothly. In addition, the riad serves a very good breakfast and good dinner, we dined there for both nights as we were a bit tired. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suites are worth it, rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PromeneurSolitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
87
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to be directed to this beautiful road in the old medina in Fez
Stunning decor, beautiful rooms and the hospitality is just outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff were exceptional! Sensational food, stunning surroundings, we can't wait to visit again! Highly recommend everyone to stay here. An amazing experience in a fabulous country.

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique...something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed with our friends for 3 nights , great Riad, beautiful rooms and a great host . My husband was unwell and they were so good and helpful to make his stay more comfortable. It is a beautiful place with mosaic and everywhere you turn there is something for the eye to see and contemplate eg the beautiful lights in the bedrooms, the wall hangings. The food was superb and they made us a great salad for lunch . Miriam organised an excellent guide to take us into the old city. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

The title says it all really. Because it was quiet season they had upgraded me to a suite room. The staff were all friendly and warm smiles. Great breakfast for a Riad. All watched over by the lovely Miriam.
Faultless really

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

A group of us stayed for three nights at this beautiful dar. The owner and host, Miriam, was really lovely, and helpful. The food is fantastic - sumptuous breakfasts, delicous dinners - the olives are so good and the bread (!), and we even had lunch at the riad one day, and a birthday cake on the morning we left. The riad is so beautiful and the bathrooms are quite luxurious - try the black soap! I truly wish that one day I will return for a longer stay. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, book the room on the ground floor. The stairs might be too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oolizzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. The Riad is lovely, great location and the (3rd generation) owner, Miriam (Moroccan / Australian) extremely helpful. We arrived by train from Tangier at 10 pm and Miriam arranged for a driver to meet us and bring us to the Riad. We would never have found it on our own! The location of the Riad is good, just inside the Medina, relatively easy to find (once you know where it is) and only 5 mins walk to Bab Rcif (one of the gates to the Medina). Miriam had upgraded us to the Juliette Suite and our friends to the Abdul Suite. Our bed in the Juliette Suite was enormous, the room large and beautifully decorated with rugs on the tiled floor, cloth hangings on the walls, drapes across the coloured glass windows overlooking the internal patio. The bathroom was large too with nice toiletries, complimentary slippers and thick towels. There was also a tiny TV, fridge and AC/Heating which we didnt use. There is a lovely terrace where we sat with a bottle of wine looking over the medina. We had arranged dinner in the Riad on arrival which was the usual meze style starters and Pastilla (chicken in filo pastry with icing sugar and cinnamon on top!). It was a bit dry but it had probably been cooked earlier in the day. We also had a bottle of wine at 150 dhs. The room was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was orange juice, coffee/tea and a variety of honey, jams, cheese, olives and bread. We also had eggs, omelettes, pancakes and different breads. It was a good start to the day. We had exchanged several emails with Miriam and she had arranged a guide for us, Mohammed. We explained that we didnt want to buy anything on this trip and he took us to the carpet factory, clothing factory, tanneries, leather goods shops, spice shops, etc. but there was no hard sell. We paid him 50 Euros but felt it was worthwhile. The next day we went to the Medina on our own and due to his careful training were able to find our way around and home! We had been recommended to have a guide to show us around and we were glad we had. In the evening we went into New Fes. The restaurants (serving alcohol) are hard to find and expensive. However, in the end we asked a taxi to take us to a reasonable restaurant serving alcohol and he did!

Tip: Wifi not very good.
Tip: If you like to drink alcohol, we would recommend staying on the outside edge of the Medina as its alcohol-free and you can only get a drink in a hotel/Riad which can be quite quiet/lonely! Also, the Medina closes in the evening!
Tip: The red petite taxis are cheap - they are metered but can only take 3 people at a time. However, everything can be negotiated!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I exchanged several e-mails with with Miriam before making my decision to stay at riad Dar Guennoun. Miriam make the decision easy. Since we were traveling from Rabat on the train, she cautioned us to be careful of the “friendlies” on the train that they did not have our best interests in mind. Indeed, we did meet three of them and all three tried to find out our names and where we were staying. We told them our sister was picking us up and they quickly left us alone.

Miriam met us with tea and pastries that were great. I had pre arranged with Miriam to have someone pick us up at the train station. They were there with a sign displaying our name and we were at the riad within 10 minutes. Well worth the 100dhs. plus tip. I had also asked her if she could arrange a tour beginning at 2:00. She did so, but also prepared for us a Moroccan salad. This is not your usual salad you get in a U.S. restaurant, but is an assortment of wonderful vegetables in small dishes. Carrots, beans, etc was placed before us and was one of the best we ate during our stay in Morocco. We also ordered dinner both nights of our stay and we could not have been more pleased. Their preparation and presentation of meals is outstanding and I encourage anyone to give it a try. She also had wine by the bottle or glass available. We chose a bottle of Moroccan wine both nights. Moroccan wine is very good. Try a glass while you are there.

Wi Fi is available in the lobby which is a place of calm that you must sit and enjoy while you are there. There is a fountain that drips water that echos throughout and is most relaxing. There is also a terrace that provided one of the most beautiful sunsets we saw while in Fes.

Since we were to meet our guide/driver at 7:00am the last morning, she insisted that Siad bring down our luggage so others would not be disturbed. We stayed on the third floor and Siad took our bags up as well as brought them down. Breakfast does not begin until 8:00, but we had a big surprise awaiting us at 6:30 that morning. Siad had prepared a full breakfast for us. We had not expected that, but were oh so pleased.

If you are looking for a beautiful place in the medina close to everything, this is a place you can book with confidence.

Room Tip: The web site will help you to decide which room is best for you. The pictures displayed are just wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micha8dp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#30 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#65 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Property: Riad Dar Guennoun
Address: 70, Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne (Rcif) Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing