We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to spend a few days”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“OK place to spend a few days”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was great - the bed and pillows were comfortable, there was adequate and comfortable seating in the room, and sufficient wardrobe and surface space to unpack bags without losing track of things. The bathroom was large and clean and the shower was fantastic - excellent water pressure. The rooftop terrace is also pleasant, but the weather in the evening was a little too chilly to make frequent use of it.
We ate there on all three evenings, which was probably a mistake, but there were no particularly inviting restaurants in the vicinity of the riad. The food was certainly good, but perhaps a little overpriced.
Service was excellent and the staff were generally helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
89
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

You will get so much more than you pay for! This riad is very beautiful and tastefully furnished. The charming owner could not have been nicer or more helpful. We had a wonderful 2 day stay! Take my advice and don't hesitate to book at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

You cannot imagine how well you will be treated. The food is beyond incredible, they really treat you like one of the family. You will have more than a place to stay, don't even look around, just book this Riad if you can. I stayed here for quite a long time and it was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I really have to emphasize that you cannot know how great it will be if you haven't been there, because no hotel or bed/breakfast in in America or Europe will ever come close to this level of service and perfection.

Most important: eat there. You will be tempted to eat at restaurants. Avoid this urge, the food is much better at the Riad and 100% safe for my sensitive American stomach. I ate here exclusively for 6 weeks and not only did I eat the greatest food in history, I didn't suffer even the slightest problem, unlike basically every other American who has ever gone to Morocco. They are modest and will recommend restaurants if you ask, so don't make that mistake.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this Riad. Also, they will make sure you have the perfect room. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCardMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The decor was so elegant and beautiful. The hotel staff were attentive and friendly. In the evening a we sat in the sort of parlour area, our host came in and turned on some soft jazz music and lit candles all around for us. It was a very short walk to the amazing souks of Fez and to a taxi stand to visit other parts of the city. The rooms were heated and the beds were oh so comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here for a week, I loved my room AC was great, excellent bed I always over slept, they cook the best food ever, its very very clean. it is very safe too. Meriam is very nice n caring. I can t wait to go back. BEST PLACE TO STAY

Room Tip: don't forget to go to the top of the building to see the whole Medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moussa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We can't say better things about this perfect riad. Miriam and her family made it a home away from home for us in our short stay in Fes. We arrived late our first night and decided we wanted to do dinner at the last minute to dinner at the riad. Unlike many riads which require significant advance notice, the kitchen agreed to accommodation our last minute request, and brought us the most delicious meal. In fact, it was so good, we ended up eating almost all of our dinners in Fes at the riad! Our room (one of the smaller rooms for a couple) was still quite large, with a small sitting space and reasonable size bathroom. Our traveling companions stayed in one of the larger suits, which had a huge bathroom and a large sitting area we used for playing cards, etc.

Given our enthusiasm for the dinners, it's perhaps not surprising that we found the breakfast exceptional as well. We have some dietary restrictions (vegetarian, low-carb, etc.), and the kitchen at the riad was more than willing to accommodate all of our requests.

We also did a cooking lesson! I can't recommend that more highly either. Going to the market with the riad cooks was an experience in of itself--we really got to see where I chicken started the day! I was worried that there wouldn't be a lot of opportunity to actually feel the food, i.e. practice different knifing skills, etc. In fact, because we were such a small group, they let us all try a bit of everything. I actually left thinking that I could make a couscous if I had the proper kitchen instruments.

Overall, I don't think you could find a better place in Fes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler123460763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed as a family of 6 (and a baby) for 2 nights. We loved the riad, the surprise factor on the way in and the lavishly, tastefully decorated interiors. Miriam is a truly great host and the staff is also similarly very attentive and caring, especially the dinner waiter.

Of course there were a few small glitches, such as lack of hairdryers in the rooms and the relatively old (but still very clean) bathroom towels but Miriam was always ready to address any requests and whatever issue we had was handled smoothly. In addition, the riad serves a very good breakfast and good dinner, we dined there for both nights as we were a bit tired. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suites are worth it, rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PromeneurSolitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#42 of 99 in Fes
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#19 of 99 in Fes
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 99 in Fes
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
#39 of 99 in Fes
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Property: Riad Dar Guennoun
Address: 70, Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne (Rcif) Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing