We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Mom stepped in as daughter who runs the riad was in London to give birth. Beautiful place and very well looked after. Difficult to find so make sure you book taxi driver who will take you to the door (the riad will happily arrange a taxi to and from airport for around 15 euros).

Room Tip: We were upgraded to larger Abdul suite on first floor as it was empty. Beautifully furnished with or...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Guennoun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We didn't book any tours through the riad and only had one dinner over a two night stay (we were more interested in a smaller meal the second night), so we can't comment extensively on either. However, the staff was extremely attentive, polite and lovely to deal with in every possible way. The food we did have (two breakfasts and one dinner) was exceptional and amongst the best we had over a two week vacation traveling around Morocco. The breakfasts were enormous (as tends to be the case, based on our experiences, at these small riads and guesthouses) and, as part of the room price, a major value. The riad itself was very well signposted from Bab al-Jadid, so there was no problem finding it (the owners were also incredibly prompt and specific when responding to e-mail queries, such as where to park our rental). WiFi, clean and spacious room, large bathroom with plenty of hot water, beautiful decor and surroundings: this riad had everything we could ask for, and it's located away from the hubbub of the main tourist areas of Fes, but close enough to reach in 15 minutes or so. All around perfect stay and our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived late in the evening. The minute after we finished the paperwork we had a bowl of hot soup and hot tea in front of us. The grounds are lovely. The room was comfortable. Hot water in the bathroom. The breakfast was great. What more do you need? Great place. Plus you are in the medina.

Only one downside, which has nothing to do with the accommodations, It is located within the medina. 6,000 alleyways with no signage or lighting so we were in for the night. Afraid we'd get lost in the maze.

I'd go back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great hospitality, advice, food and comfort !
Beautiful Interior and suites. Don't miss the dinner in the Riad, when they sat its good, it really is! The hosts are multilingual and very helpful. The service is excellent as well. We booked a guide with the Riad and it was one of the best experiences we ever had. We also went on a day excursion and the driver was excellent! I want to go back as soon as I can!! Fes is the place to be ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hassania88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Nice Riad with a cosy room (albeit with a low bathroom door which I banged my head on a few times!) and good roof terrace and decent location.

Our visit was tainted by the medina tour we booked with the Riad, which was the worst experience we had during our 10 day visit to Morocco.

Our 'full day' tour, at a cost of €40, involved little more than a route which was planned around local shops trying to sell us anything from carpet to bronze plates. Included in our 4.5 hour 'full day' tour was an hour for lunch at an overpriced restaurant and a stop at an uninteresting wood museum. For a full day tour of €40, I expected a full tour of all the sights, not a shopping trip with lunch. This was all the more frustrating as we had told our guide before we left that we did not want to shop.

On mentioning our disappointment to the Riad, the owner admitted that the guide receives bonuses from the shops we were taken to. No doubt the Riad also take a cut on the tour.

My advice is to do a tour yourself - Fes isn't as hard to navigate as guidebooks make out, it's always easy to find Bab Boujeloud or Bab R'cif. We spent our second day in Fes on our own tour and saw many more of the sights than with our tour guide.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank PBJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

great people, friendly n very helpful n great food as well. I stayed in this hotel twice already n I m going on my third. this hotel is good in all things, price is affordable, employees are very cool, Miriem is a gorgious young lady, she is funny, nice n always smilling. its like a family hotel.

Room Tip: Miriem suite is the best one
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moussa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I cannot say a single negative thing about this Riad. My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon in August for three nights, and it was the best part about our visit to Fes. We arrived at around 11pm after an exhausting, hectic day that had culminated in an awful bus ride, but the staff immediately greeted us at the door with a smile, tea, cookies, and then offered us dinner. The room itself, on the first floor, was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. The dinner we had there was excellent (chicken tagine and pastilla), and the breakfasts (various forms of bread and juices) were delicious too, and the staff served them to us smilingly and told us the names of the dishes in Berber and Arabic. The wifi wasn't great, but everything else was so awesome that I stopped caring. After long, tiring days of sightseeing, it was a joy to come back to this riad in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medievalgrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#45 of 100 in Fes
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 100 in Fes
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#53 of 100 in Fes
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#49 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Address: 70 Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £34 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing