We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay in a most interesting city”
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Dar Guennoun
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
vence, france
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in a most interesting city”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 5 nights here in May, and thoroughly enjoyed the riad and the stay. The decor is excellent and very colourful (true of very many riads, in Fez and other Moroccan cities), and Juliet and Abdul had done a fine and imaginative job of the renovation. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the cuisine (on the large roof terrace) recommended; the only time we ate out in the medina brought on the berber's revenge!. Convenient location, especially if you want to stay clear of the hubbub of the centre of the medina. Excellent service from Juliet and Said, although we weren't very demanding. If we go back to Fez, this will be for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
87
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The riad itself is conveniently located a 10 minute walk to Bab el Recif, (the Recif Gate,) one of the principal entrances to the Souk. You can also catch a petite cab to the Blue Gate for 10 dirham ($1 and change.) The house itself is beautiful and worth a house tour just by itself. We did stay in the Juliette Suite, so thee were no space issues. As others have mentioned the rooftop terrace was ideal for breakfasts every morning, and for the one dinner we ate there.

Juliette was the ideal host, introducing us to Fes and showing us our location relative to the layout of the markets, and reassuring us that you don't really get lost. Juliette and Said facilitated arrangements and reservations for us; including a guide for the Mellah, several dinner reservations, a hamam, and arranging the purchase of train tickets and a ride to the train station on our departure.

So there are no surprises, you will hear the call to prayer at 4:30 AM, and if you're up on the terrace at the matching times. I don't know that there's anywhere in the medinah where you won't hear it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sursee, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you choose this riad, you will be happy with your choice. I stayed two nights here with three friends and everything was perfect. It is a old house, wich is restored in every detail.
The room was clean, the shower was hot and the neighborhood was quiet. I booked the smallest room, but it was absolutely enough for two single beds.
The breakfast was great and you can eat it on the really nice top roof.

The riad is located at the beginning of the old town. After 5min walk, the market streets beginning. Near the riad (5min walk) you can park the car. So, the location is perfect.

The owners are on site and this is why the riad is such a nice place. The stuff personal, which prepare and serve the food or make the room are very friendly and helpfully.

Disadvantages: Nothing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great riad to stay if you want to be in the old town but don't really want to be in the center of the old town. We took a cab to the center of the old town for about 10dhr.
Excellent breakfast on the roof terrace which offers a terrific view over town in all time of the day. We absolutely loved our host Juliet who was helpful and friendly in everything - from organizing a cab to pick us up at the airport to arranging a tour to the Atlas mountains to us.
We had a good sleep there but do keep it in mind that you're in the old town so expect to be awaken by muezzins in the middle of the night. I personally dont' have troubles with sleep and slept through the nighttime prayer several times.
To be more critical: you may be surprised to find out that the room doesn't have of a window - the main window overlooks the inner courtyard, the window to the outside world is tiny. But then again, it's a traditional Moroccan house. We felt fine about it.
We spent 4 or 5 nights here in March and it was a bit chilly in our room (I imagine it'd be a blessing in May or in summer) so we had to use A/C quite a lot. I guess we should have asked for a radiator (even though it sounds ridiculous to be asking a radiator in Africa in spring), but we managed with the A/C and thick blankets.
I'd also recommend staying in for dinner at the hotel - we got some terrific tajines there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliyaSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed four nights in this really great Riad. The hospitality is first class nothing is too much trouble for Juliet, Abdel and Saeed and co. We travelled from Casablanca by train and flew out from Fes - The team organised our transport - recommended.

We had the Juliet room; Super King bed - large and very well furnished. A place of peace away from the bustle of the Souk. It is next door to a mosque so be prepared for the calls to prayer.

Location is very good. It is very easy to walk into the Medina.
Fes is more relaxed and much friendlier than Marrakesh. If you get lost in Souk just ask there will be no bother. Plenty of shops!! . However most buildings- mosques, medraasa and the Royal Palace were closed/off limits to us infidels.

We went on a trip to Middle Atlas - which was slightly disappointing. Not as good as Atlas mountains near Marrakesh and guide was not informative. We should have gone to Meknes and the Roman ruins.

Overall very pleased with our visit

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am still in Morocco, but I needed to write a review for this Riad. This place is AMAZING! We did not want to leave. We felt like it was a home away from NYC. It was my friend's birthday, and our hosts went out of their way for us! They got a cake, and a gift and sang happy birthday! I cannot say enough good things about this place! The location is perfect. The Riad is clean, and the food is amazing! We ate here 3 of 4 nights! Juliette and Abdel are the best! I will certainly come back to visit Fes, because of their hospitality! You need to book this place. This should be the top location in all of Fes. Be sure to try the fruit soup for dessert!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We spent two excellent nights at Riad Dar Guennoun in spectacular Fez, and cannot speak highly enough of the experience! Before our stay we had all our questions answered (e.g. directions to the Riad) very promptly and clearly. On arrival we were welcomed and offered mint tea in the grand central atrium/courtyard and shown to our magnificent room. The weather was a little overcast during our stay so unfortunately we didn't have the chance to use the large roof terrace, instead our breakfasts were served in the cosy dining nooks off the main courtyard. Food was perfection and we enjoyed the last dinner of our trip at the Riad, with 3 courses of excellent homemade cooking. The staff were all wonderful and extremely accommodating, highly recommended, we will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#31 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#18 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#19 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Property: Riad Dar Guennoun
Address: 70, Diour Jdoud Klakleyinne (Rcif) Medina | Fez el Bali, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing