We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owner makes Dar Hafsa a good call”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly owner makes Dar Hafsa a good call”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Fes was our third and final stop on our recent holiday trip to Morocco. Dar Hafsa, a traditional 19th century home that has been well-renovated, is decorated with wonderful examples of traditional Morrocan craftsmanship (painted doors, ornate tilework). You are encouraged to make yourself at home while getting to know the family that runs the riad. The breakfast (included) featured a table full of different Moroccan pastries, washed down with coffee and/or mint tea. Dar Hafsa’s English-speaking owner, Abdulkarim, is very friendly and made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant, from restaurant recommendations to shopping suggestions. The riad is difficult to find, down a quiet alley off Tala’a Seghira, but he will arrange a meet you at the Bab Boujloud (Blue Gate) Fupon your arrival. At this price (€60/night for Room 3), Dar Hafsa is a good value in the heart of Fes’ old city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralasiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    58
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
344
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I loved this place. People were so helpfull and kind! The house is original.
We spend a very nice stay! We recommend it very much.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celipara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I think that it has all been said before.

Most outstanding is the helpful and caring attitude of the family owners - nothing is too much trouble. They are VERY keen to make sure that you enjoy your time in Fez. This includes great advice and directions and even teeing up some bargain shopping.

Breakfast is spectacular and there IS coffee - contrary to some reviews - and it IS good.

Many languages spoken, all cummunication before and during stay was great.

Clean room, good water pressure, hot water.

Good place, good people.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteeleDiggles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed in this Riad with my friend. We did a trip from Marrakesh to Casablanca to Fez.
We came by train from Casablanca and a (false) guide tried to convince us that this place was trouble. He told us to book some other place, but luckily we where informed by Dar Hafsa and Lonely planet for the people who work on trains to get commission if you change your booking. Don't believe them!
We were picked up at the blue gate to find the hostel and from the minute we walked in we felt very welcome!

Room: we had the top floor room witch was great for us. Two separate beds, ensuite bathroom, heating and beautifully decorated. Close to the terrace

Breakfast:
Great choice of different types of bread, with jam, honey and cheese.
The best we had in Morocco.

Service:
First, we weren't impressed by Fez, two girls there in the street seemed like asking for trouble, especially during Friday prayers. We were hassled in the streets and it was very unpleasant. The family of dar hafsa felt very guilty about it and did everything they could to make it up, even it was not their fault. We followed a cooking class next door on that Friday and it was really enjoyable to spend our time there. We learned a lot about the Moroccan cuisine and hospitality. We even went to the market together to buy the ingredients.
Next day we saw fez with a guide and that was nice.
The host family of Dar Hafsa really made us feel very welcome!

Location
Good location near the head street of the old medina. Easy to find.

When I return to Fez, I would definitely choose Dar Hafsa again! I would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: Ask for the top-floor room. Quiet and not near the guest family's living room... You have more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merielove, Gérant at Dar Hafsa, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank you for your comment and i am really for what had happened
In the street and i am very sorry and i hope not to take it into your
Consideration so that to see you again inchallah
Wish you Best luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are looking for a plain, unpersonal riad where you are just another guest then this is not the place to be. If on the contrary you are looking for an accommodation where they take care of you as if you were a member of the family then Riad Dar Hafsa should be your place of choice !
Warm, caring, lovely owners who assist you in any way they can. Having trouble finding that special item to buy, picking out the right restaurant, wondering how to make that yummy tajine ? Sit down and have a cup of mint tea with your hosts and they will tell you.
Delicious, lush breakfast; cosy rooms; a sunny roof terrace and the feeling that you have a home in Fes, that is this riad in short.
Recommendation: Take a cooking class with the lady next door and find out how to prepare your favourite maroccan dish. A winner !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragna_vdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merielove, Gérant at Dar Hafsa, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comment as that make
Happy and also encourage me to work more and more
To satisfy my lovely guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Amazing location, beautiful rooms, terrace and courtyard, and the most friendly and welcoming owners you can imagine. This was the best place we stayed in during our visit to Morocco. We loved that Abdel and his family would sit and chat with us over tea, it really felt like a home away from home in the midst of this chaotic city, and they were always ready to help us with any question we had, even helping us find a fantastic tagine at local prices! This place is truly something special and such good value for the lovely atmosphere and service... And who could forget the incredible breakfast every day! Thankyou Dar Hafsa!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baci85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level Contributor
833 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Description of the house: a Moroccan home with a cozy atmosphere and a roof-top terrace from which you can see the Medina. What else can you ask for???

However there IS more: the kindness, warmness and hospitality of the family who run this place!!! Words are not enough to describe how this family made us feel. The owner and his daughter and son are really warm people. They advised us, bought some CDs for me (at prices I would have never been able to get!). I was even taught how to prepare mint tea! They looked for a professional and honest tour guide, who showed us the medina. They made sure everything was ok and took care of the smallest details. A VERY caring family indeed!!!

A BIG thank you to that lovely family for my experience in Fez! I will never ever forget this SO special family!!!

Excellent English spoken. Mint tea whenever you want some. Spotless facilities.

Breakfast: Just fantastic!!! Home – made. Moroccan pancakes, olives, tea/coffee, milk, honey, butter.

Location: In spite of being a bit difficult to get to it, once you pass the main door you can feel the real Morocco and its hospitality.

To stay at Dar Hafsa was something like being in a fairy tale. I really loved staying there!

One thing is sure: If I ever visit Fes again (which I hope!!!), I will get back to the Dar Hafsa!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merielove, Gérant at Dar Hafsa, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Big thank you for your sweet comment and for your spending Time
Writting such nice review i feel lucky for having Nice and sweet guests
Like you in my modeste place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing