We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcome - the best we have found in Fez for the price”
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have visited Fez many times over the past 4 years looking for somewhere that isn't expensive and offers clean comfortable rooms with a good breakfast and good service. We have stayed in 4 or 5 places and seen more than 15.

This is the best place.

The quality of the rooms, the service and the hospitality are great. The location is great as you can pop back to the Dar when you are tired midday and you are still in the centre of the Medina - many other Riads require a massive hill climb to get back - something you don't want to do when you are hot and tired.

I will try to stay here every time I go to Fez.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123chuckencurry456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here 5 nights in this lovely historic riad. Our host idrissi was so sweet and accommodating during our stay. Air con and wifi was a huge plus. Breakfast was included with more than you can eat. Highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgf95831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Fantastic location, helpful, friendly and gracious hosts. The interior decor was tastefully done. The rooms were clean, comfortable and fully equipped with cable, wifi and access. The bathroom was clean and adequate.

The terrace was amazing and we appreciated the evening chats with the owners son Aziz. He made us feel so welcome and gave us helpful tips.

The breakfast was almost overwhelming with at least 8 types of bread.

A perfect stay for the price and super quiet being so close to the heart of the Medina.

Stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodgreengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My family and I stayed one night at Dar Hafsa and had a wonderful time! Abdulla Kareem and his son Aziz were excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. They always had a smile on their face and were a delight to be around. Their place is very clean and beautifully Moroccan. Abdulla met us at the main gate in Fes and walked us to the Dar and immediately brought us to the roof top for the best mint tea we had in all of Morocco. The view from the terrace is gorgeous and a great place to unwind after a long day or to welcome in a new day. The rooms and bathrooms were all very clean and the breakfast we had was our favorite in all of Morocco! You were right Abdulla! More than you could ever hope to eat and delicious!! Thank you guys for a wonderful visit to Fes and your hospitality! If we ever find our way back to Fes there is no doubt where we will be staying! Shukran ikteer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrwinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Dar Hafsa. The family that runs it is kind, helpful, and thoroughly knowledgable about Morocco. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with climate control and hot showers.

Karim, the patriarch of the family that runs Dar Hafsa, is more than happy to recommend restaurants, organize tours of Fes or its environs, and keep a conversation going in four languages at once - all while keeping everyone's glasses full of hot mint tea. There is always someone from the family ready and eager to offer advice or keep one company in the lovely Dar Hafsa.

The place is a five minute's walk from Bab Boujloud, the main gate into the medina. Once you find your way there the first time, you'll realize how convenient the location is in a city with over nine thousand winding streets.

So in short, I thoroughly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone looking to stay in Fes. It's a lovely place, certainly a bargain for what you're getting, and has the nicest staff that one could hope for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The first experience that we had with Dar Hafsa was that we did not know where it was (we were new to the medina-style setup). One of the family members came to the main gate and walked us to their dar. Upon entering, the facility was amazing. There were so many colors and classic Moroccan patterns. We really enjoyed the enormous couch in the main room and sat on it every morning when we had our breakfast that came with at least 10 different types of bread. The family was really kind, willing to chat, and helpful (they walked with me to a store and translated for me when I needed to get some necessary medication). The family also helped coordinate some day-trips with us and some other guests, which brought the price down and had us interact with some friendly guests from England. The dar is in a great location as well. Awesome experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imjustpassingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

A very good location-just a few seconds from main street of the medina. A very heartful welcome with delicious(enourmous portion :) )breakfast.The host was a perfect guide not only Fez,but in Chefchaouen as well, sharing the most interesting places to see, the best restaurants to have dinner and the best shops. He helped us every day!!
If you want to have life-long memories,definitely choose this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPakarklis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £39 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing