We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in fes”
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great place in fes”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Our greqt experience in staying at Dar Hafsa; a family run place that is new n clean, morocco style decoration; very friendly owners giving all information you needed, its a great place to stay with, highly recommended:

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    63
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
366
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

A wonderful place to stay in Fes. The riad is conveniently located in the middle of the Medina, making it a great spot for exploring all the attractions in the Medina (all within walking distance). The map on their website was very useful for navigating through the medina alleyways to the riad. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast here is amazing! As you can see from some of the other traveller's photos. But the most wonderful thing about staying here is the hospitality of the family that run it, they really do so from their heart. They helped us with recommendations on where to eat, where to shop without paying tourist prices, helped me find a good hammam, helped us organise taxi to the airport. I would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

this is not just a review but also a heart felt thankyou to the family who run dar hafsa for both their hospitality and their kindness. from meet and greet, breakfast beautiful riad to the fact my friend watched football with them, they couldnt hyave done more to make us feel welcome. when in fes, this is the place to stay

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet due to area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

dar hafsa was a delightful experience .karim and his family made our stay memorable, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome , our room was cozy and clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a hot shower, the breakfast was very delicious .
the terrace has an exellent view . we will definitely come back when we visit fes again

Room Tip: the room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It had the best breakfast I eat in Morocco so far. Karim and his family mad me feel so welcome and at home.

I was so comfortable that I overslept one night and got up at midday. Still, they served me the Sultan's Breakfast as I like to call it.

Had a great time, received plenty of perfect tips for shopping and eating. Definitely recommend it. (actually already did and got some english couple to stay there a couple nights =D)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulo_capiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We can't be more pleased with the service of this riad. The family especially Aziz and Miriam went out of their way to help us during and after our stay. Very refreshing to find such genuine, good service. As for the location, it is perfect. Right in the heart of the medina, not far from the restaurants and the markets, but at the same time is it very peaceful. We would happily recommend this riad to anyone travelling to Fez.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishkiwi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Before arriving at this riad, we had stayed in many other hotels on our trip, and this is comfortably the best in terms of everything: staff service, location, value etc. The building itself is very beautifully decorated and includes a roof terrace with fantastic views of all the medina and mountains behind. The staff are incredibly friendly, siblings Aziz and Meriem made excellent hosts. We were always welcomed with refreshing mint tea after exploring the tiresome markets. They answered all our questions and were always there to help. They also made sure we never got lost in the maze that is the medina and even took the time to draw personalised maps for us based on where we said we wanted to go. Aziz also organised our tour into the sahara desert (ending in Marrakech), giving us a fantastic price (at least half of the prices online), and did absolutely everything for us. The breakfasts were enormous and tasty. The room was very good and had a good shower and comfortable beds. They even had both fans and air conditioning - spoilt for choice. All of this came at only €40 euros a night, which is truly remarkable. We will be coming back. Thank you dar hafsa for making our stay in fes so magical!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing