We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful interior, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful interior, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

the small hotel, was just a few steps from the main street in Fez. they helped us in finding other accomodation around Morocco. the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated-its completely newly renovated-high quiality of renovation done. the owner and his daughter were very friendly, helpful and nice, prepared us excellent breakfast. they have a nice terrace aswell

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    58
    33
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
338
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

He Dar Hafsa is a small, family run hotel just one turn and a few steps off one of the main drags in the Fes Medina. The owner, Karim answered my e-mail about directions to his place immediately and told me to take a cab to the closest Medina gate and he would meet me there. A call to him from the RR station upon arrival and 10 minutes later I exited the cab and Karim shook my hand.

The hotel is small but very clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. We had mint tea while settling with Karim and meeting his son who also helps run the place. Dinner was included on the first night which Karim's wife prepared and it included a delicious soup, chicken tandine, and breads. Breakfast was also included and featured coffee and a large variety of homemade breads and pastries with eggs.

Karim gave my friend and I the choice of 2 rooms and we took the one closer to the roof - very clean, quiet, and comfortable with a private bath. There are tables and chairs on the roof with a wonderful view or the old city and surrounding hills.

Karim and his son were very helpful in providing recommendations to local sights, directions, restaurants etc. They were very warm and friendly and made us feel we were guests in their home.

The Dar Hafsa is very reasonably priced and is a wonderful place to stay right in the Medina. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a clean and comfortable place with a nice local flavor. If I ever return, I will certainly stay at the Dar Hafsa again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

The owner met us at the Medina gate and walked us to his hotel. At first you are worrried as you snake through the many winding paths of this ancient city. When he opens the door and you enter it is just startling. We were offered a choice of rooms and chose the one on the very top. It was comfortable, clean, and well worth the price. The meals were impressive and laundry was done while you visited the city. Excellent in every way. Kudos to the owners and workers. Also note that this building was started only 15 years after Columbus discovered America!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

From the first welcome to the sadness of saying goodbye, we were treated as one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble to organise and there was always a willingness to make sure that our experience in this wonderful family home, was going to be the best they could offer. Would we go back? YES

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

i stayed with my boyfriend for 3 nights and everything was excellent!!!...teh house is beautifully decoreted , with a moroccan style, and is attended by a family wich was really hospitality with us , the breakfast was deliciousand abundant , they gave us differents kind of breads typical from morocco , tea,coffe,jam,honey cheese,etc..., everything was perfect !!! the location is inside the medina just 5 minute from the pricipale gate bab boujloud . so it's really easy to find it.
I would really recommend dar hafsa , i feel like at home at every time.

Room Tip: the room number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Not only was is the best accommodation , but the best foodwe ate in all of morocco . real home cookingand better than any restaurant . think slow cooked chicken with almonds and a sause that makes your mouth water . tender lamb with sweet prunesto blow your taste . and the hopitality was second to none. we woke up to a freshly made breakfast everyday and sat on the terrace as the sun went down.
an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: the room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
289 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Dar Hafsa. It was the highlight of my stay in fes. It is clean and beautifully decorated. The owner had no problem letting us change our reservation as we arrived a day too early ( we miscalculated what date it was) We even got a free delicious home cooked meal on our last night. It was the best tagine I have ever tasted. The staff are very helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navangirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing