We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late review”
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I travelled here last June with my girlfriend and it was the perfect place to stay. Gracious and accommodating host family, a beautiful interior building and perfect rooms to stay in. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Make sure you go to the roof and look at the stars in Moroccan skies.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerieID, Gérant at Dar Hafsa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Michael M,
Thank you for your nice review that you described it as late one for as it was as a gift that added value.i am very happy that you liked our small place and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Dar Hafsa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Am never one to bother with reviews but the warmth & "genuine-nity" of the family that is Karim, Merium & Aziz and their staff Mohammed made this post a crime if I didn't. Was in town solo to research for a group that's visiting later in the year and their knowledge, insights and recommendations were invaluable.

Rather than just shy away and retreat to my room after a tired day out, I can't help myself in wanting to spend time with them to share with them my adventures, exploits, no matter how big or small. Room was cozy, bathroom clean, and though the way back to their place might seem daunting at first since its in the maddening maze of the medina but not even the most fabulous riads will lure me away.

I always feel that the people you're with makes the trip, and these new found friends definitely made this stay one which I'll share with many, many others in time to come. And I say this from the heart!

Room Tip: Non-room related but make sure you heed their advice about the hustlers. I mean these hustlers make...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnetteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

i spent a great time at dar hafsa , the staff were very friendly and nice . they helped out with directions , finding good places to eat with a resonable price . the room was great , comfortable beds and with a private bathroom . amazing breakfast .
I would recommend this place if you want to visit fez . have a nice time .

Room Tip: the room 2
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

dar hafsa is absolutely beautiful , the room is comfortable and stylish . staff is warm , helpful and friendly . they serves fabulous breakfast . an amazing teracce on the roof with a panoramic view over the city . the location is great , nearby to the principale places in the medina (karaouiyene mosque , medersa , souks...) .
i recommed this place to everyone decide to visit this historical city .

Room Tip: the room in high floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerio v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

my wife and i visited dar hafsa , what a special place in a very special city ! the riad is beautiful wonderfully located and staffed by some of the friendliest family , the room is very clean and the breakfast was amazing . highly recommended !

Room Tip: the room 3
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

it was our first visit to fez . we stayed at this dar 3 nights and really it worths because we found everything we wanted , very nice and and helpfull stuff speaking good english , the location is excellent close enough to the souks and historical monument and easy to find . beautiful and very comfortable rooms furnished in typical moroccan tyle . the breakfast was also excellent .
the view from the terrace is breathtaking you can see the medina and also the mountains .
overall 100./. value for money and more .

Room Tip: the room number 4
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Perfectly positioned in the Medina, this is a charming, traditional and well-run family establishment. The family members speak English and are extremely helpful and hospitable and go out of their way to ensure that the guests' needs are met. Their vast knowledge of Fez and its environs certainly enhances your visit. Reasonably priced, comfortable and quietly set this is a place where you will be made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mannlondon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £32 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing