We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great owner and manager - good value - stay here”
other travellers have booked this property
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Central courtyard or patio dining area. The roof terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Central courtyard or patio dining area.
The roof terrace.
The central patio on the ground floor at night.
Looking up from the ground floor patio.
The roof terrace at night.
Looking into the patio from the Red Salon on the ground floor.
Window in the big bedroom on 1st floor looking into the central area.
The big bedroom with ensuite facilities.
The second bedroom from the internal balcony.
The twin room at the top which looks out onto the back of the terrace.
The 1st floor balcony looking up from the ground floor patio.
The Red Salon on the ground floor.
The ground floor kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your extended stay at Dar Mystere. Regarding the layout of some of the facilities, we are currently planning to alter the ground floor arrangement to allow a bigger, brighter kitchen area and to use a different space for the ground floor bathroom. We always welcome feedback from visitors and we hope you will consider Dar Mystere if you find yourself in Fez in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KerryD92
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay at Dar Mystere”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I rented Dar Mystere for one week in September. I had been in Morocco doing work experience for the summer and my 80 year old grandmother was coming over to bring me home :( As the medina is quite hilly I needed somewhere with great location, close to taxi ranks, shops, restaurants etc so it wouldn't be too much for my Gran. Somebody told me about Dar Mystere so I emailed the british owners who were very friendly and allowed me to rent their property for one week.

Alami, who is the house manager was very helpful, I went to view the property and told him about my Gran. All bedrooms are upstairs which I was a bit worried about so Alami kindly made up a bed downstairs in one of the salons for my Gran if she couldn't manage the stairs.

Our stay at Dar Mystere was fantastic. My gran was overwhelmed at how beautiful the property was for the price! Everything was clean, there were heaps of towels and extra bedding. The kitchen was fully equipped and again clean. The house has wifi and a landline phone which was great, we could skype my mum in England.

There is also a kitchen up on the terrace which is great for making breakfast or if you are having some evening drinks and nibbles overlooking the amazing view! There was even ipod speakers in the house too which was a bonus. A washing machine too. You couldn't want for anything in this place it was so comfortable and homey.

Having spent my year abroad in Fes a few years ago, I really wish I knew this place existed, it is by far the best place I have stayed in in the medina. The location was great, only a 3-5 min walk to the taxis at Batha or Boujloud and very close to the famous cafe clock where my gran loved to go and have her coffee at.

I will definitely be returning, a great place to stay with family or friends. The house made my grans week in Fes. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness of house, decoration, terrace view
Liked least: There is nothing about this house I didn't like.
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We try our best to make our guests feel at home, and we have had excellent feedback from many guests about the attentiveness of our manager Alami. We hope that you will consider another stay Dar Mystere if you are in Fez in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the lovely tiled, wood and carved plaster interior. The shower as well.
Liked least: The last step up into the bedroom which is about two inches too deep!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avril s
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place where we felt privileged to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dar Mystere was an unforgettable experience. Arriving and being rushed through the evening crowds in the medina was exciting; the dar itself is like being transported into a setting fpr 1001 tales of Arabian nights; the awakening call from the muezzin; losing the way in the maze of shops and cafes of the medina. All was magic.
On the practical side: we were met and brought to Dar Mystere without problems; Alami was always available and helpful with good useful advice and help; the famous Cafe Clock and numerous small cafes are a stone's throw away; shops for food supplies are one minute on foot; and the medina is a shopper's paradise without the hassle which I had expected.
The beds are comfortable, showers are good and the kitchen is adequate for breakfasts. And why would one to cook with so many cheap and tasty eating places nearby?

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience of Dar Mystere and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GazzaTrav...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be careful who is the one reviewing the property”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I think the worst aspect of this property was after paying the money to stay here the owner sent an email stating that a previous holiday guests, they house had been robbed while they were out and to be careful. Although we had no misfortune of this, it made us feel general unease while we were here. The house although nicely restored was very cold, the manger on site even was generally unhelpful. Cold water, cold rooms, lots of sounds from neighbouring properties along with the warning we were given made for rather sleepless nights. And although the owners may state that all riads are cold we stayed at 3 riads that were definitely warm. also be careful what you see on the website, most reviewers are family friends of the owners and not genuine stayers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2012
I think the statement that our reviews are not genuine is entirely out of order and is a blatant untruth. This is a false allegation and should be removed. All reviewers have stayed at Dar Mystere, we are not in the business of fabricating reviews for our own benefit. If we were, we would have many more.

The email that was sent about the break-in we had was to stress that security is very important as there are many opportunities for the would-be thieves to strike. It's a shame that this advice was seen as some kind of threat.

Our property is a house rental as described, not a guest house. Our manager does not live on site and is certainly not some kind of servant. All other guests have found him agreeable and helpful and have commented so.

At the time this reviewer visited in February (this is the second review from this party) Fez was colder than it had been for a long time. We have heated bedrooms and two hot water heaters.

Unfortunately it was reported that this party were rude to the manager as well as calling the Dar Mystere telephone after they had left to berate the following guests about a lost earing.

I hope this response is helpful for any potential future customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delta8zeb...
Lyon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful and peaceful stay in the heart of the medina”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful, very well renovated and decorated.
It is very convenient, 5 minutes walk from a guarded parking, it's a peaceful place to rest after visiting the hurly-burly medina.
The host, Alami, is extremely kind and friendly, always available for any help.
We had a wonderful and unforgettable time there and I will recommend this place to every nice person who deserve to be treated that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness of the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Norwich
2 reviews
“An excellent property in a good position to explore the Medina at Fes.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A well situated property with a very efficient and helpful local manager. The facilities were first class and we enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay there. We would recommend it for a family get together as it has plenty of beds and bathrooms.
Meeting the local manager was effortless, and we drove in to Fes from South straight to the meeting point (with the help of Google Earth of course), local eating houses were plentiful and inexpensive.
So all in all, a good introduction to Fes.

John Batch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great situation
Liked least: The all night wedding on the Saturday, but
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$48
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing