We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intrepidtraveler”
Review of Hotel Olympic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #45 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Loved it! My first trip to Morocco--budget conscious. I am a senior citizen. Whatever room complaint surfaced was very quickly attended to. Always someone on duty. All staff polite and helpful. Would stay there again. Would recommend to others. Breakfast on time.

Room Tip: personally I like one with a view of street life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elinor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a pretty much a no-frills hotel. In a good central location in the new part of Fez. The rooms are of average size, a little dated, but clean. The bathroom was rather small (the door would bang against the toilet when open). Hot water was intermittent.

The staff didn't seem to be around much.

A room on the street side is quite noisy, however nothing that a good pair of earplugs can't fix.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDR444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid Travel Tour. The hotel looked clean downstairs and in the halls. The room, whilst clean, was cramped. The sliding door to the bathroom did not close, and the toilet was so close to the wall, you could not sit on it without your knees hitting the wall (you had to sit sideways!). The shower was hot, but very small. The pillows were hard and lumpy, and when we requested new ones, we were given the same again - they were filled with wool or duck down or something that clumped together. The bed was hard. The night was cool, but the hotel turned the air conditioning on at reception (there appears to be individual units per room, but no remotes were given when asked - it was centrally controlled). They did turn it off, but in the middle of the night, someone turned it back on. Several others on the tour complained about this too, and the blankets provided barely kept us from freezing. I recommend the cafe and market across the road for breakfast - our tour guide told us not to eat here. It was noisy here, even through our earplugs. I would not stay here again, at least until they replace all the bedding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefaraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid Tour in April.

The room my husband and I had was on the 1st floor, at the front of the building. Oddly, two double beds in the room - which meant you couldn't open the bathroom door fully - nor the door to the balcony. We were constantly moving the heavy beds.

A cigarette tray was on the beside table, full of olive pips. Gross..! Front desk was nearly never occupied.

Bathroom flight flickered and buzzed constantly - probably the dirtiest hotel we stayed in the whole tour - toilet was falling off the wall and leaked into the bathroom...

At the time, road works and building works, were happening right next door and out the front. However, we didn't notice much of the traffic noise a night.

Well situated on a main road, with many small places for breakfast in the morning. Right across from the markets, good for fruit for lunch / breakfast.

Fine for a couple of nights on a tour, looked like it was luck of the draw, as our tour mates had rooms somewhat better set out than ours. Uncertain about public transport from this place as we had our mini bus.

Look for somewhere else if possible. Fes is huge and staying in the medina in a riad would be a better option if travelling without a tour group.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This budget hotel is located on a busy city street, and it sounded like I was staying in a cheap motel on a highway -- lots of road noise. If you can't find anyplace else to stay, shut the windows, turn on the A/C, and put in the earplugs. As one-star hotels go, this place is otherwise fairly clean and OK (as long as your expectations are low). Tiny bathrooms - I was here with a group and many people complained about that. Only for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: évitez la 131. La 114 est très bien!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
0 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#63 of 100 in Fes
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Rue Houman el Fatouaki, off bd. Mohammed V | Ville Nouvelle, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Olympic 2*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing