We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but all we needed”
Review of Hotel Olympic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #36 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but all we needed”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2011 as part of an Intrepid tour. It's certainly a 'no bells and whilstles' place but in the context of the tour, it was fine. It was a bit dated but clean and had all we needed. We were a smidge ill already as we arrived in Fes so spent a larger than usual amount of time in the hotel room itself recovering and it really didn't want for much.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    21
    16
    12
See reviews for
7
19
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Its a basic budget hotel. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid Tour so not sure of the rate paid, but hopefully not too much !!!

Downstairs is a large seated area in the foyer where we congregated but little else. The rooms are a little small as are the bathrooms but they seemed clean.

Its in a good location with a number of places to get food nearby. We ate in the Medina on our first night in Fes, but on the second, I had a tagine at a sidewalk cafe just along the street from the hotel and it was pretty good and reasonably priced. There is also a kiosk across the street where you can stock up on water or other essentials for a decent price (The kiosk owner tries to speak English, is very friendly, and doesn't increase his prices for tourists like some do!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlanderICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Loved it! My first trip to Morocco--budget conscious. I am a senior citizen. Whatever room complaint surfaced was very quickly attended to. Always someone on duty. All staff polite and helpful. Would stay there again. Would recommend to others. Breakfast on time.

Room Tip: personally I like one with a view of street life
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elinor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a pretty much a no-frills hotel. In a good central location in the new part of Fez. The rooms are of average size, a little dated, but clean. The bathroom was rather small (the door would bang against the toilet when open). Hot water was intermittent.

The staff didn't seem to be around much.

A room on the street side is quite noisy, however nothing that a good pair of earplugs can't fix.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDR444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid Travel Tour. The hotel looked clean downstairs and in the halls. The room, whilst clean, was cramped. The sliding door to the bathroom did not close, and the toilet was so close to the wall, you could not sit on it without your knees hitting the wall (you had to sit sideways!). The shower was hot, but very small. The pillows were hard and lumpy, and when we requested new ones, we were given the same again - they were filled with wool or duck down or something that clumped together. The bed was hard. The night was cool, but the hotel turned the air conditioning on at reception (there appears to be individual units per room, but no remotes were given when asked - it was centrally controlled). They did turn it off, but in the middle of the night, someone turned it back on. Several others on the tour complained about this too, and the blankets provided barely kept us from freezing. I recommend the cafe and market across the road for breakfast - our tour guide told us not to eat here. It was noisy here, even through our earplugs. I would not stay here again, at least until they replace all the bedding.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiefaraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid Tour in April.

The room my husband and I had was on the 1st floor, at the front of the building. Oddly, two double beds in the room - which meant you couldn't open the bathroom door fully - nor the door to the balcony. We were constantly moving the heavy beds.

A cigarette tray was on the beside table, full of olive pips. Gross..! Front desk was nearly never occupied.

Bathroom flight flickered and buzzed constantly - probably the dirtiest hotel we stayed in the whole tour - toilet was falling off the wall and leaked into the bathroom...

At the time, road works and building works, were happening right next door and out the front. However, we didn't notice much of the traffic noise a night.

Well situated on a main road, with many small places for breakfast in the morning. Right across from the markets, good for fruit for lunch / breakfast.

Fine for a couple of nights on a tour, looked like it was luck of the draw, as our tour mates had rooms somewhat better set out than ours. Uncertain about public transport from this place as we had our mini bus.

Look for somewhere else if possible. Fes is huge and staying in the medina in a riad would be a better option if travelling without a tour group.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
412 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This budget hotel is located on a busy city street, and it sounded like I was staying in a cheap motel on a highway -- lots of road noise. If you can't find anyplace else to stay, shut the windows, turn on the A/C, and put in the earplugs. As one-star hotels go, this place is otherwise fairly clean and OK (as long as your expectations are low). Tiny bathrooms - I was here with a group and many people complained about that. Only for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Across Hotels & Spa
Across Hotels & Spa
#71 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Hotel de Nice
L'Hotel de Nice
#15 of 19 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mounia
Hotel Mounia
#70 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#67 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Property: Hotel Olympic
Address: Rue Houman el Fatouaki, off bd. Mohammed V | Ville Nouvelle, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Olympic 2*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing