We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Dar Moula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Moula
Ranked #85 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Nice Riad in the medina. The owner had sent us a mail with instructions and offered to pick us up at a central point. We hadn't checked our mail though (our mistake), so we tried to find it ourselves. Wandered around for an hour or so, paid some local kids to show us the way but even they couldn't find it! Eventually got there. Room was good and clean. Typical riad with the beautiful mosaics everywhere. Very nice rooftop terrace which gives you a good view of the medina. Owners and staff were helpful and friendly, though they did take us to a somewhat shabby restaurant the first night. Restaurant offered set menu's for extremely inflated prices, and food was not good. Don't know what the intention of that was. Would definitely recommend to stay here, though I would kindly refuse the offer for a "good restaurant".

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koba_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Dar Moula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

We were more than pleasantly surprised to find this very nice place in the middle of the medina. The owner, Mr. Rachid, made all possible efforts to make our stay pleasurable and confortable, in a unobtrusive, helpful and humorous way. He met us at Bab R'Cif, as he suggested via email and took us through the meandering streets to the hotel. I suggest you leave him your email at the time of booking so he can contact you prior to your arrival. He challenged me to find the hotel on my own, with a GPS, while walking behind me, and although I found the street I walked right past the entrance without noticing it (if you do try to reach the place on your own, however, keep in mind that the entrance will be on a very tight alley/tunnel on your right, if you're coming from Bab R'Cif, with a small sign on the wall facing away from you - extremely easy to miss and unadvisable - even if you do find the alley, the door to the dar itself is unmarked, so just call Rachid - a good english speaker - and you'll be alright).
The Dar itself is very well maintained, clean, and shows a lot of love has been put into it. It's an amazing cozy place to retreat into after spending an afternoon in the chaos of the medina. The staff is very nice and approachable and made our stay memorable, from the dinner they made us (the best we had in Fes) to the general guidance about the city. The terrace is the highlight of the Dar, right next of Karaouine Mosque and University, with a view the very few get to enjoy. It's an amazing spot to watch the city go to sleep or to listen to the call to prayer, a magical experience, if you're not used to it. If you're good with maps, I suggest taking the advice Rachid gave me and doing away with guides. Just pick a map of the medina and explore it on your own, he'll point you to the best places to see. Even if you don't know how to use a map, the streets in the medina have signs pointing to the most proeminent spots (gates, squares, etc), so just head to one of these and get your bearings from there. Highly recommended and will surely return to it on my next time in Fes.

Room Tip: I stayed at the "Menzeh" room, with space for 3 people, on the top floor. It has direct ac...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaoGuimaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The riad is located inside the ancient medina and it is quite impossible to find out where it is if you do not have a "guide". We phoned the owner and he guided us directly to the riad. The riad is a jewel, an ancient building, with charm and elegance. Inside, it is all painted in a traditional berber style. They welcome you preparing a mint tea and you also have it in the pitoresque terrace with a view above the city. The view is breathtaking, honestly.
The room was comfortable and really smart and the bathroom was small but practical.There was soap and clean large towels. The shower was not so hot but we managed to have our shower. In the morning we were invited to have a delicious breakfast in the terrace: the woman prepared traditional maroccon bread, one of them was with semolina and it was warm and soft. Also, there was figs and cherry jam and a fresh glass of orange juice. The quality of food was high and the coffee was also tasty (not the american one...) and the milk was served warm!We really appreciated everything. the staff is nice and kind and they help with whatever you need. The price really worth the room and the staying is comfortable. I higlhly recommend this hotel. The staff speaks french and english, so no problem at all!For not getting lost keep in your mind the name of Karaouiyine mosque, the hotel is nearby.

Room Tip: If you feel cold ask for the heater. In the shower just wait till you get warm water, you are in the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

if you want to stay in the medieval city, you must not go past this small, delightful guesthouse. It is in the middle of the medina, across from the university, and up a really tiny alleyway. Mr Rachid and his staff went the extra mile to make my stay perfect. He organised a young man to walk me around the labyrinth and bring me home again so I saw all the places on my list without worrying about where I was. The interior is charming and up to western standards of cleanliness and comfort. This city is so interesting, and this hotel is top!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Dar Moula is a small riad with, I believe, 4 guest rooms. We had the Ambre room, which was a large atmospheric bedroom with Moroccan furnishings and fixtures. It was clean and up-to-date, had good lighting and wifi in the room, and a high ceiling. The bed was very firm but not uncomfortable. Breakfast included one egg, bread, crepe, fried bread, juice, and coffee. The AC worked well. Typical of a riad, there were no outside windows, but we had two that faced the interior courtyard. Breakfast was served on the roof top terrace with views of the medina and surrounding area.
We had a bit of a problem with the riad's location (which may not be a problem for others). The riad is located near the R-CIF gate. While still within the medina, it is about a half hour walk to the blue gate where most of the frequented restaurants are located. Another problem is the fact, unbeknownst to us at the time, that a gate is closed at night that prevents one from returning from the blue gate to the hotel via the normal route, requiring a detour that is difficult to navigate without help. We had to pay a young man to lead us the way around this detour. The owner later said the gate closes at 9 PM, so the next night we planned accordingly. Unfortunately, we found that the gate was closed at 8:30 PM that night. We again had to find locals to help us find the way. Yes, we were told we could have taken a taxi from the blue gate to the R-CIF gate in such a situation. We tried that but because there was a festival going on we were unable to find a taxi on that second night. Other considerations - it would have been very difficult to locate the riad had the owner not picked us up at the train station, as it is located in a very small alley with only a small sign that's easily missed. Also, there was no shower curtain for the shower stall, so no matter how careful we were the bathroom floor got wet. There was no shelf or space around the sink to place toiletries, so we had to leave most of them in the bedroom. There was inadequate hooks and bars for hanging wet towels, so we had to hang one bath towel out in the bedroom. The bedroom did not have a conventional closet to store or hang clothes, and only one hook to hang anything, so we worked out of our suitcases and used the one hook for one of the wet bath towels as mentioned above. Admitedly these last few were minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: The Ambre Room I believe was the smallest and least expensive room. At least two of the other three...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The owner, Rachid is very kind and helpfull. He wants to make sure all of his guests have a very nice stay in Fes and in Morocco. He took really good care of us, showed us around and showed us really great places to eat, even when I was really sick.

Dar Moula is located in the heart of the medina, and you can't find it on your own the first time, Rachid is so kind to pick you up and bring you to the hotel/house. It is a really comfortable place and nice and quiet. Even though its right in the middle of the medina.

His goal is to make you feel welcome and at home, he sure does a great job. The house is gorgeous, clean, comfortable and has a great view from the terrace. This house was the best house we stayed at during our trip in Morocco. Rachid was also the most kind owner we have met during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochelleBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have been in Dar Moula in July 2012 with my wife.
We have chosen to book Dar Moula because it had outstanding recensions.
Immediately when we came we have been offered with tea and a very warm welcome.
We stayed for 3 nights and the food was outstanding.
The location of the Riad in excellent.

Mr. Rashid took a lot of his time for showing us the places around, and also managed to get some very good deals for us.

Honestly I can't find any single weak point about this place.

Thank you Rashid.

If you go to Fez this is definitely the place where you want to be.
Dar Moula has been the best place where we have slept in our 10 days trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KobeWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#55 of 100 in Fes
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Moula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Moula

Address: 4 derb Larrayesse Karaouiyine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Moula 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAR Moula, a very old house in the ancient medina of FEZ, has been lovingly restored to all its former splendour and is now open as a guesthouse,Dar Moula is an authentic old house (Dar) in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse.Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation.Location is just a minute walk from The University of Al-Karaouine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Moula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing