We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Stay here in Fes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Salama Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryad Salama Fes
Ranked #22 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Stay here in Fes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Ryad Salama. Getting there from the parking lot where our taxi dropped us off was confusing the first time, but Michel gave great directions and we didn't have trouble getting back. The riad was so wonderfully peaceful after the quick walk through the busy medina. Our room, Clementine, is spacious and beautiful. You reach it by it own staircase. The carved wood headboard and the antiques shows Michel's attention to design. The bed is firmer than in American hotels, but we like it this way and I slept very well. The room was well insulated from sound - I did not hear the calls to prayer. The loggia and the small balcony overlooking the garden made the room even larger. The bathroom was spacious and the rain shower was great. Nice toiletries are provided though there was no lotion. The garden is beautiful and looks great in the day and at night when it's all lit up.

The breakfast is plentiful and varies a bit from day to day. We had dinner 2 nights at the riad and the food was great. Michel also serves cocktails and wine at reasonable prices. The mint tea they served on our arrival was so aromatic and refreshing.

Michel was so helpful prior to and during our stay. He was very quick to respond to emails. He is also open to suggestions and established a PayPal account after I mentioned it to him for more convenient payment. He arranged our taxi from Chefchaouen to Fes and was very accommodating when I asked him to change our pick-up time in Chefchaouen. He also served us an early breakfast prior to our 7:00 departure. He accepts euros, dirhams or credit cards (without a surcharge) for payment. He is a very gracious host and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him to arrange for. He took us on a tour of some of the rooms the evening before we left, including the new suite which is probably open now. Michel really cares about his product and it showed as he talked to us about how he remodeled the riad. The ladies at the riad were also great - they always had smiles on their faces and we felt very welcome and well attended to.

We didn't enjoy Fes much, mainly because we found people who want to serve as guides very pushy and aggressive. We didn't feel in danger at any time, but it was annoying to have someone follow you for a long time, despite repeated statements that we did not want their help. Good thing we had the Ryad Salama to escape to and chill out.

Michel's prices are very reasonable given the beauty and comfort of the riad. I read a LOT of TripAdvisor reviews before choosing this riad. It was not ranked very high when I booked it, probably because it doesn't have plenty of reviews yet because it's been open only for a year, but it will probably go up in ranking soon because it is a wonderful place. I don't know if we will go back to Fes, but if we do, we will definitely stay at Ryad Salama.

Room Tip: The suites are larger of course and also have either a large balcony or patio, but we found the Clem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the marvellous Ryad Salama. Rooms are nicely decorated, beds very comfortable, the Ryad itself is a jewel in the heart of the medina (it even has a small beautiful swimming pool), extremely clean and easily reachable by foot from the nearby parking.
The manager Michel is extremely helpful and the staff really kind. When I arrived I told the kitchen that I was vegan and the cook arranged vegan meals especially for me during my whole stay, she even veganized some typical moroccan breads and crepes making them suitable for me, letting me have the feeling that I was enjoying my personal vegan restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeganTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Amazing service, wonderfully decorated...a masterpiece of hospitality. Michel, the owner, thought about every detail to make his guest's stay in Fes unforgettable. I strongly recommend this ryad if you are looking for uniqueness, elegance and quality. My tip? Try the gastronomic menu for dinner. For me, it deserves 3 Michelin stars!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Absolutely beautiful ryad. I found myself saying several times that I wish I could live there forever! Great location, right in a convenient part of the Fes medina, but not too noisy. Compared to many other ryads in medinas, this was easy to find based on the ryad’s map and markers in the medina. When you enter the doors you are walking into an oasis with beautiful and lush flowers, trees, a fountain, and a pool. Gorgeous rooms, I believe we stayed in the Capucine room. Michel is a very charming , funny, and helpful host (he is French but speaks English fluently) and he greeted us with tea and Moroccan cookies upon our arrival. We were very pleased with the breakfast, lots of Moroccan and French options. We ate dinner at the ryad one night and the food was wonderful. Very accommodating when we wanted an early breakfast. On this trip we visited three different ryads in Morocco and this was our favorite. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our group of four stayed at Ryad Salama in June, immediately after a three day trip through the Atlas from Marrakech.

The Ryad is tucked away in the Medina, and is a sight to behold on stepping over the threshold into the courtyard. Beautifully decorated and quiet and peaceful, it is the perfect place to make your home base to "retire" from the bustle of over 9000 streets and lanes in the old city.

This place is five star accommodation and host Michel is rightly proud of the work he has done to restore and fit out spacious rooms with top quality appointments.

Meals are also first class - breakfast will set you up for well into the afternoon, and dinner is a treat.

The staff are delightful too.

If you ask, Michel will be pleased to arrange a guide for a day - strongly recommended - as it will help orient you in the medina but also allow you to absorb the fascinating history of Fes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember090416000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The ryad is a piece of art! I would definitely recommend it to all, my experience with my family was amazing, we loved every moment of our vacation in the Ryad.
Fatiha made our experience interesting with her kind smile and local hospitality efforts, you need to experience the ryad to touch the feeling of peace and warm.
Its a small ryad, where you feel as home, nothing comparing to big hotels, you stay in the same place that people in the past stayed and lived, wonderful history and heritage...
Staying in Ryad Salama worth the experience, adding the tours organized by Michel with a guide and his recommendation made the vacation just perfect.
We even had breakfast at 3:30 am before our pickup to airport, WOW, customer service oriented, it was hard for us to leave Ryad Salama!

Room Tip: the rooms are all good, but if you want to have breakfast in your own area outside go for eglantine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed for four nights in Ryad Salama, during Whitsun holiday. It was great! The ryad is located very central in the Medina. We stayed in the Eglantine room, which was a large room with bath tub and decorated in African style. The entire Ryad is beautifully decorated, warm and cosy.

However, the very best Ryad Salama that has to offer is the service of Michel and his staff. Michel is a born frenchman, who speaks near native English and offers perfect hospitality and care. His dinners can be recommended as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Salama Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Salama Fes

Property: Ryad Salama Fes
Address: Derb Ahl Tadlaa No 4 - Talaa Sghira | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Salama Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming ryad owned by Michel, located in the medina of Fez, within 4 minutes walk from a parking lot. 6 rooms, luxury furnished, all with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Dinner served in the garden, Moroccan or French cuisine with reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Ryad Salama Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing