We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peacefull spot in the Medina of Fes”
Review of Ryad Salama Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Salama Fes
Ranked #12 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A peacefull spot in the Medina of Fes”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

To get to the Ryad you walk through a part of the charming and busy Medina - and along some very narrow streets - and suddenly you are in the middle of a peacefull and beautyfull garden with oranges, lemons etc. And you are warmly welcomed by the host Michel.

We were in Fes with som friends and occupied 4 out of 7 rooms in Ryad Salama. All rooms are individually and very tastefull decorated - and all rooms has either a terrace or balcony. The owner Michel gave us very good service and advise upon arrival - and the execellent service continued during our stay. The breakfast is freshly made - and is served until noon. We had dinner at the Ryad two evenings - the food is made from the ground and is very tastefull. And it is worth to notice that Michel offers some excellent wines at very reasonable prices.

I would definitely like to stay in Ryad Salama again.

Michel arranged a guide who took us around Fes - It is absolutely to recommend. But notice that the guide gets a provision from the places he shows (shops, restaurants etc.) you. We realised that things can be bought cheaper on your own hand - even if the guide tells you that it is fixed fabric prices.

Room Tip: All rooms a indivudually decorated. It seems that twin rooms are more spacius than double rooms. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriksen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
53
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have stayed at Ryad Salama several times and it continues to delight us with its gracious charm, delicious food and the friendly and professional attention of its proprietor, Michel Trezzy.
Oranges, pomegranates and lemons grace the delightful and peaceful garden overlooked by the comfortable and tastefully furnished rooms. A wonderful mixture of antiques and decoration by local craftsman complement what is one of the best ryads in Fez. Dinner is an absolute treat and there is an excellent list of well-chosen wines from Moroccan vineyards and elsewhere. There is much to visit and appreciate in and around Fez and Michel is always ready with advice. We recommend Ryad Salama without reservation.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are excellent with their own individuality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannlondon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

When me and my friend Hani planned our journey to Morocco, we used Tripadvisor recommendation a lot... thus we decided to stay at Ryad Salama when we were in Fes last February 2013. Upon our arrival in Fes, we emailed Michel (the owner) to send us a pick up transfer from the train station (we came from Marrakech). We have no idea on the hotel whereabout and it caught us by surprised when the taxi driver dropped us in front of what is look like an alley.

A guy with a cart is waiting in this spot. He put our luggages into his cart and giving sign for us to follow him. We walked for like almost 10 minutes passing through tiny alley to bigger road with shops around before going into another maze-like alleys again. But all of these raised our curiosity that pays off at the end. By the time we really arrived at Ryad Salama, we were impressed with the elegant beauty of it. Beautiful courtyard view fills with orange and lemon trees surrounding a pool welcomes us. We went to its stunning lounge / dining room that has an eclectic decor combining Moroccan arts and Western world bric-a-brac, where we finally met Michel in person.

He is a very passionate hotelier who now runs his own Ryad. He brought us to our room on the second floor. The room has its cute petite balcony and sitting area. We love the ambiance as well as the room's whole facilities and amenities. We stayed for two nights here and had dinner at the ryad on both night. On our first night we had the traditional Moroccan set menu which was very delicious. However, the highlight was on the second night where we asked Michel to serve us his famous gastronomique set menu.

Michel is beyond usual hotelier as he is also a great chef! His gastronomique menu showcasing a great understanding of taste. We love his take on Norwegian salmon gravlaks as well as his crayfish bisque. He also recommended a great personal guide who took us to a journey over Fes' 9000 alleys.

Without a doubt, our trip in Fes is very memorable and we are longing to come back. Ryad Salama will surely be our choice if we ever come back again. The combination of its beautiful set, great and friendly service, as well as its fantastic food makes Ryad Salama to be the best Ryad in Fes

Try the gin tonic in the afternoon. They uses fresh lemon picked from the garden. Its really fresh!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I'd stay in the Ryad Salama again in a heartbeat. It's extremely well located right in the old medina of Fes and yet quiet and restful. It's just a short walk to either of the two main pedestrian market streets in the medina, to the gates to the newer part of town, to... well, really anywhere you might want to go.

The ryad is flawlessly clean and just beautiful. The meals are as great as you would expect from a French owner who is a long-term resident of Fes--the best of both worlds.

We stayed in the Amandine room, which was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a sitting area and a private balcony just for us.

Room Tip: Amandine, on the first floor (second floor for you Americans) has a queen-size bed and a private bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gskenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Chocolatine room which had a lovely sitting room and a balcony which overlooked the courtyard. The room itself was gorgeous and inviting, with a beautiful stained glass window, which obscured a nonview. The bathroom was very pretty, but the shower temperature was a little hard to regulate. Breakfasts were delicious with croissants, pain au chocolat (yum), French toast, fruit and other delicious offerings. Michel, the owner, was in the hotel business at the corporate level for many years and runs a very professional operation. His English is perfect, and he is helpful and knowledgeable about Fez.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianadevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A beautiful quiet spot, lovely rooms, nicely decorated, comfortable beds and bedding with private balconies overlooking the courtyard and small pool. The evening meals we had were delicious and we found them better and more interesting than those in nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Ryad Salama. Getting there from the parking lot where our taxi dropped us off was confusing the first time, but Michel gave great directions and we didn't have trouble getting back. The riad was so wonderfully peaceful after the quick walk through the busy medina. Our room, Clementine, is spacious and beautiful. You reach it by it own staircase. The carved wood headboard and the antiques shows Michel's attention to design. The bed is firmer than in American hotels, but we like it this way and I slept very well. The room was well insulated from sound - I did not hear the calls to prayer. The loggia and the small balcony overlooking the garden made the room even larger. The bathroom was spacious and the rain shower was great. Nice toiletries are provided though there was no lotion. The garden is beautiful and looks great in the day and at night when it's all lit up.

The breakfast is plentiful and varies a bit from day to day. We had dinner 2 nights at the riad and the food was great. Michel also serves cocktails and wine at reasonable prices. The mint tea they served on our arrival was so aromatic and refreshing.

Michel was so helpful prior to and during our stay. He was very quick to respond to emails. He is also open to suggestions and established a PayPal account after I mentioned it to him for more convenient payment. He arranged our taxi from Chefchaouen to Fes and was very accommodating when I asked him to change our pick-up time in Chefchaouen. He also served us an early breakfast prior to our 7:00 departure. He accepts euros, dirhams or credit cards (without a surcharge) for payment. He is a very gracious host and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him to arrange for. He took us on a tour of some of the rooms the evening before we left, including the new suite which is probably open now. Michel really cares about his product and it showed as he talked to us about how he remodeled the riad. The ladies at the riad were also great - they always had smiles on their faces and we felt very welcome and well attended to.

We didn't enjoy Fes much, mainly because we found people who want to serve as guides very pushy and aggressive. We didn't feel in danger at any time, but it was annoying to have someone follow you for a long time, despite repeated statements that we did not want their help. Good thing we had the Ryad Salama to escape to and chill out.

Michel's prices are very reasonable given the beauty and comfort of the riad. I read a LOT of TripAdvisor reviews before choosing this riad. It was not ranked very high when I booked it, probably because it doesn't have plenty of reviews yet because it's been open only for a year, but it will probably go up in ranking soon because it is a wonderful place. I don't know if we will go back to Fes, but if we do, we will definitely stay at Ryad Salama.

Room Tip: The suites are larger of course and also have either a large balcony or patio, but we found the Clem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 99 in Fes
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Salama Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Salama Fes

Property: Ryad Salama Fes
Address: Derb Ahl Tadlaa No 4 - Talaa Sghira | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Salama Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming ryad owned by Michel, located in the medina of Fez, within 4 minutes walk from a parking lot. 6 rooms, luxury furnished, all with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Dinner served in the garden, Moroccan or French cuisine with reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ryad Salama Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing