We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality, very friendly staff and a lovely room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riyad Al Atik

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riyad Al Atik
Ranked #34 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality, very friendly staff and a lovely room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Riad Al Atik for four nights in October and really enjoyed our stay there. Valerie was very helpful and although English wasn't her first language, we thought she spoke it very well!

Our room, (the blue one!) was very clean and comfortable and a lovely size. It was based up on the terrace and very quiet. Breakfast was really lovely every morning and you must try Carine's ice cream and sorbets for dinner, they are delicious!

Whilst there we organised a tour of Fez and a trip to Volubilis through the riad, both of which were superb and brillant value for money. Our driver to Volubilis was a really friendly chap and we were very well looked after. The air conditioned people carrier was really comfortable especially as there was just the two of us.

The only thing I would advise you to do is to confirm all the costs up front, as we weren't aware of the tourist tax that each guest has to pay. The riad also does not accept Visa anymore so you need to make sure that you have the cash on you, but there is an ATM which accepts debits cards nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
82
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My friend and I stayed 3 nights in Riyad Al Atik. The riad is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The food - both breakfast and dinner - was delicious. The best thing however are the owners Valerie and Carinne, who are very helpful and kind, personally helping us with changing money and giving us a quick tour on our arrival. The Riad is easy to find - once you know where you are going, as it's just off one of the main alleys of the medina. However, you may need help on arrival. The location is great - being only a few metres away from the fascinating old city of Fez and the open roof terrace is a great escape from the bustle

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at this riad and had a great time. Valerie and Carinne (the owners), were friendly, personally walking us around the shops to find what we wanted to purchase and to help us get our bearings. They were also very attentive while we were inside the riad, bringing us wine and olives on the terrace, passing through the lobby to ask if we needed anything any time we were there checking email. We left very early the last morning and Carinne packed us a delicious breakfast of bread, homemade apricot jam and crepes, and hard boiled eggs (with a pinch of salt wrapped in tin foil!) for the train - really thoughtful service.
The location was very convenient and easy to get to once we knew where it was - i would suggest getting them to arrange a transfer there so there isn't trouble getting there the first time (the Fes medina is very confusing!).
The room was very nice - all the decoration is in the local style, carefully picked out and arranged by V and C.
They also gave us good recommendations - one night we had dinner in a restaurant that is a man's house, s wife and mother do all the cooking! And the guide they arranged for us on a few hours notice was great - leading us through the small streets of the medina that we were too afraid of getting lost in. While he did lead us into 2 gratuitous shops, for 5 hours of walking around in the heat that wasn't that bad (actually they were welcome respites from the heat!).
We also echo the previous review about their food - the last day we were tired and had dinner at the riad, and it was an amazing meal. The tagine was fantastic, they offer you second servings, and the ice cream & sorbets made by Carinne herself are absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnyc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed four nights in mid-September and this was a wonderful introduction to Morocco. The owners were more than gracious, welcoming me with tea, cookies, and a map. They were even prepared to pick me up from the train station but I hitched a ride instead. The riyad is one turn off the main 'thoroughfare' of the medina. It might be tricky to find the first time (as most things are in the medina) but easy and convenient every other time. The professional pictures are quite accurate; my photos don't do the place justice. The riyad is very clean and beautifully decorated - I loved the bathrooms. The included breakfasts were delicious and filling: eggs, fruit, bread, jams, cheese, meat, tea, and fresh juice. I ordered dinner one night and that was tasty too. And, yes, as a previous reviewer said, the raspberry ice cream is not to be missed. The owners helped me plan a day trip, walked me to the money exchange booth, and let me use their computer multiple times. It was a fabulous respite from the busy medina. My only regret is that my French is non-existent. Their English is good enough to get me everything I needed and more, I just wish I had been able to talk more in depth with them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Riyad Al Atik (Nejjarine room). The Riyad is run by two friendly and hosiptable French women (Karin and Valerie). We were greeted with tea and cookies upon arrival. Each day, we were served a delicious and plentiful breakfast each morning including freshly squeezed orange juice, jams, coffee/tea, breads, olives, cheese, sausage, fruits, eggs, and more; however, some variety would have been welcomed.They also organized transportation to and from the airport, arranged sightseeing tours, and offered dining recommendations. Finally, they also brought us to shops within the medina which we expressed interest in purchasing goods. They helped us to find reputable stores and with negotiation process.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. We enjoyed the powerful air conditioning unit, plentiful towels in the bathroom, and friendly service. There is internet at the Riyad; however, limited Wi-fi connectivity inside our actual room.

The Riyad is located just steps away from one of the main arteries in the Medina which is ideal as it's very challenging to navigate in the Medina.

I would have no hesitation in returning to this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet-set-happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Location: The riyad is located inside the medina and is easily accesible from the outside as well.

The Riyad: It was recently open so everything was new and impecable. The bathrooms where not only pretty but some of the rooms have really big bathrooms to relax. It is decored in great taste and the owners used local and artisanal accesories in all decoration, it is georgeous! Even the food is sourced from local vendors and producers. Wifi is accesible at the lobby and the inside balcony. They also have an excelent cook which guarantees you good breakfasts for a fresh start of your days exploring Fes. Try to spare one night at least to have dinner at the ryiad since the traditional food they cook is excelent and delicious.

The owners are accesible and tremendously hospitalary their English is not much but that is never a problem even for who doesn't speak French. They helped us booking a tour guide and even guide you themselves through some parts of the medina if their time allows. I would definitely stay here again and reccomend it to anybody visting Fes!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

It was truly amazing stay for us! Excellent service and home like feeling quaranteed!!!
Rooms very clean and spacious with nice bathrooms(always fresh towels).We took one of the rooms on the top where there is a terrace with beautiful view on the medina and delicious ice-cream served and prepared by Karin. Don't leave this place without trying the ice-cream!!!:-) Raspberry flavour rocks!!! but try yourself as all of them are fantastic!
Don't be shy to ask for any help or advise - both Karin and Valerie are ready to help you. These 2 French ladies know the medina and life in Fes better than you could expect!!! and definately better than you guidebook. Either you want to choose places for your shopping, visit historical places, experience hammams, find hidden live music places, hire a taxi or order delicious dinner - all is available - just ask.
You can get both their assistance and lovely company as well as your own private time as you wish!!! They will give you space and genuine help - quite an exception in Fes!;-)
If you would like to try home-made Moroccan food you can simply order it at the Riyad. Then you will have a chance to meet Maria and try her exceptional meals in truly Moroccan style! There will be candles lit for you and time to enjoy!
After your daily trips around the medina there is nothing more soothing than the thought of coming back there.
Karin and Valerie support local businesses and individual people by ordering food ingredients, furniture and services from them. Lovely to watch their kindness and authenticity!
We have been 3 times in Morocco and this place is the best so far. Highly recommended!
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Adarissa
Riad Adarissa
#25 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar 7 Louyat
Dar 7 Louyat
#20 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Boujloud
Riad Boujloud
#23 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#12 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Atik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Atik

Property: Riyad Al Atik
Address: 9 Menia Lousta Chrabliyine Medina | medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Atik 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh atik al welcomes you in its 6 suites and rooms, you have a privative space air-conditioned with bathroom and corner lounge and of a decoration and an arrangement realized carefully and refinement. You can taste a traditional breakfast in the Moroccan loungethe patio or the barthal or on the comfortable terrace at the middle shadows at the middle sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Riyad Al Atik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing