We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riyad Al Atik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riyad Al Atik
Ranked #33 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This Riyad is expertly run by two charming French ladies who have a superb knowledge of the city and surroundings. They are extremely hospitable and very helpful. We had the room on the top floor which is very tastefully decorated and of a very good size.
We ate twice in the Riyad and both times were extremely pleasd by the quality and value for money.
I would highly recommend future travellers to take the airport pick up service - well worth the money for a hassle free arrival.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
82
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I think we couldn't have fell on a better riyad. The owners very hospitable; they went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, had everything we needed and had the best experience possible in Fès. They took us out to visit the medina, meet local artisans and one night, even brought us to see a show with other guests from the riyad. The food at the riyad is delicious and their chocolate mint ice cream is to die for!! The riyad itself is very beautiful, our room (Debbaghine) was very charming, spotless and located on the terrace. We'd definitely go back if we were in Fès!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m0n79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We enjoyed 5 days staying at Al Atik. The owners Valerie and Katrine both went out of their way to make sure we had everything we required and were a source of invaluable information when planning excursions. Our room was beautifully designed, as is the whole Riyad and we welcomed the peaceful roof terrace to relax in the evening. where a tasty selection of olives and nuts were presented to enjoy before meal time. Talking or which, please do sample the menu offered at the Riyad as the food is beautifully cooked and presented and is an enjoyable way to spend an evening, after a full day of sight seeing. There are also plenty of other resturants in the main area of the medina, which you will get to recognise after a day or two..Valerie, Katrine and their staff serve a wonderful varied breakfast to start the day and when you return there is always mint tea and cookies to enjoy. An excellent Riyad to stay at with very gracious owners (even during a certain Rugby match xx ). The airport transfer was an excellent choice for our arrivial and we were delivered to the Riyad with no problems. Thank you to all at Riyad Al Atik

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard Very clean and spacious The nights are so quiet and peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea53Fes_Morocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great Riyad, run by Valerie and Katrine - two really friendly and helpful French women. It's in the old town and more or less in the heart of the medina. I would definitely recommend this place - the owners have put a lot of thought into the design of the place and go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay in Fez - they did everything from serving us home made cookies and taking us through what's worth seeing in the medina to drawing us a map of how to get our car rental company. Really excellent. Thanks Valerie and Katrine!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasser K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Riad Al Atik for four nights in October and really enjoyed our stay there. Valerie was very helpful and although English wasn't her first language, we thought she spoke it very well!

Our room, (the blue one!) was very clean and comfortable and a lovely size. It was based up on the terrace and very quiet. Breakfast was really lovely every morning and you must try Carine's ice cream and sorbets for dinner, they are delicious!

Whilst there we organised a tour of Fez and a trip to Volubilis through the riad, both of which were superb and brillant value for money. Our driver to Volubilis was a really friendly chap and we were very well looked after. The air conditioned people carrier was really comfortable especially as there was just the two of us.

The only thing I would advise you to do is to confirm all the costs up front, as we weren't aware of the tourist tax that each guest has to pay. The riad also does not accept Visa anymore so you need to make sure that you have the cash on you, but there is an ATM which accepts debits cards nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My friend and I stayed 3 nights in Riyad Al Atik. The riad is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The food - both breakfast and dinner - was delicious. The best thing however are the owners Valerie and Carinne, who are very helpful and kind, personally helping us with changing money and giving us a quick tour on our arrival. The Riad is easy to find - once you know where you are going, as it's just off one of the main alleys of the medina. However, you may need help on arrival. The location is great - being only a few metres away from the fascinating old city of Fez and the open roof terrace is a great escape from the bustle

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at this riad and had a great time. Valerie and Carinne (the owners), were friendly, personally walking us around the shops to find what we wanted to purchase and to help us get our bearings. They were also very attentive while we were inside the riad, bringing us wine and olives on the terrace, passing through the lobby to ask if we needed anything any time we were there checking email. We left very early the last morning and Carinne packed us a delicious breakfast of bread, homemade apricot jam and crepes, and hard boiled eggs (with a pinch of salt wrapped in tin foil!) for the train - really thoughtful service.
The location was very convenient and easy to get to once we knew where it was - i would suggest getting them to arrange a transfer there so there isn't trouble getting there the first time (the Fes medina is very confusing!).
The room was very nice - all the decoration is in the local style, carefully picked out and arranged by V and C.
They also gave us good recommendations - one night we had dinner in a restaurant that is a man's house, s wife and mother do all the cooking! And the guide they arranged for us on a few hours notice was great - leading us through the small streets of the medina that we were too afraid of getting lost in. While he did lead us into 2 gratuitous shops, for 5 hours of walking around in the heat that wasn't that bad (actually they were welcome respites from the heat!).
We also echo the previous review about their food - the last day we were tired and had dinner at the riad, and it was an amazing meal. The tagine was fantastic, they offer you second servings, and the ice cream & sorbets made by Carinne herself are absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnyc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Boujloud
Riad Boujloud
#23 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar 7 Louyat
Dar 7 Louyat
#20 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Adarissa
Riad Adarissa
#26 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#12 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Atik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Atik

Property: Riyad Al Atik
Address: 9 Menia Lousta Chrabliyine Medina | medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Atik 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh atik al welcomes you in its 6 suites and rooms, you have a privative space air-conditioned with bathroom and corner lounge and of a decoration and an arrangement realized carefully and refinement. You can taste a traditional breakfast in the Moroccan loungethe patio or the barthal or on the comfortable terrace at the middle shadows at the middle sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riyad Al Atik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing