We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!”
Review of Riad Said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Said
Ranked #30 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Siad in July and had a great stay. The room had a beautiful authentic Moroccan style with high ceilings and attractive decoration. The large bed and pillows were nice and comfortable and the shower had a nice large overhead nozzle. It was very hot in Fes and it was always nice to come back to a cool air conditioned room. The riad is within the Medina and an easy 5-10 minutes walk from the blue gate. The location is quiet but within easy walking distance of the souks. All the staff were very nice with Samir and Mohamad catering to all our needs and requests. The room was always cleaned and even clothes washed! As with most riads breakfast is simple but a good start to the day. Wi-fi was free but very slow, this seems to be a common problem throughout Morocco. I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone wishing to have an authentic experience in Fes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Riad Said
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Half march we stayed 3 nights in Riad Said. At the airport someone was waiting for us to bring us to the riad, more expensive then a taxi but recommended because you wont find the riad yourself the first time. We had a warm welcome with maroccan tea and the staff explained us everything about Fes. We booked the fadilla room which might be bit smaller than the other rooms but it was amazing. It was in the tower of the riad with an absolute great view all over marrakech and a private terrace! The riad itself is beautiful as well, with the andalusian influence, the nice mozaique. (not unimportant: the bed is like heaven)

The first time we went to the citycentre, at night for diner, one of the staffmembers brought us there, so we would know the way, very friendly. The location is perfect, just a 3 minute walk from the busy streets in the medina and a 1 minute walk from the taxistop.

The breakfast was served at our private terrace and was really good: coffee, tea, fresh juice, eggs and all kind of different pieces of bread! We also did the hammam in the riad which was pretty good as well!

We just had an amazing three nights in riad said en would really recommend the place! Beautiful riad, beautiful view and a fantastic staff!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-Louise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Riad Said is conveniently located in the heart of the Medina. It is a nice riad, with terraces.
We were there in February 2012, it was 15 d°and not so much more in the room wich was merely heated and the water was 20 d° at max, which would not be a problem in summer time but made the morning shower a bit of a hassle.
Fortunately, they had a chimney and we spend most of the evenings close to the fire. The first evening, we had dinner in the riad and food was very good: green beans soup, mezze, chicken tajine and a fruit salad. The morning breakfast was also nice: french bread and local bread with butter, jam, honey, served with tea of coffee at your convenience.
The staff was really helpful, they answered all our questions and met almost all of our requests (apart from the hot water, but I guess there just wasn't much they could do themselves), they even walk with us to a restaurant in the Medina to make sure we would not get lost. They really made our stay easy and smooth.
I would not recommend using the services offered by the reception though.
Don't get a guide with the riad, the guide for the medina was a bit unhelpful, he knew his was in the Medina, and it was its main added value on top of keeping locals away when we didn't want to purchase anything in the street.
Do get a guide, because the visit is worth it, but rather contact the tourist office information, they will provide a guide for half the price.
Don't ask for a guide for an outdoor visit of the surroundings and it turns out that the guide was a just a driver who would drop us wherever we would ask, but without any explanations.
Do get a taxi driver, negociate a good price and take a book with you.
Price is rather expensive, but if you make a reservation through hotel reservation website, you might get a good discount. But the priced listed was far above what we paid in Marrakech for half the services and standards.
I would definitely recommend this place, if you can get a good price, it can be really worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The first thing to remember is that Riad Said is not at Hotel but offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Light Lunch and Supper is available on request. Riad Said has only been open for Business since June 2011. We visited Fes and stayed seven nights in the latter half of September 2011.
Riad Said is conveniently located for the Medina, one can walk to the Blue Gate in 5 to 10 minutes and by taking a different route from the alleyway outside the Riad, one can be in the alleys in the middle of the Medina within 5 Minutes.
The staff are friendly and helpful but the service is haphazard. Have patience and you will eventually be given the item that you asked for. I am not sure but think that the delays in delivering requested items is because the staff have to get the thing from the neighbouring associated Riad Layla. Cultural differences between Europe and Morocco would explain why a small glass is laid instead of a cup for tea or coffee. However on occasion, we found the breakfast table laid with plate and saucer but neither a cup nor a glass from which to drink. Cups would be provided after requesting them. The breakfast follows the French style with a Moroccan touch. Mint Tea or Coffee was served but if one had brought one’s own tea bags and asked the staff for a pot of boiling water one could have tea. The bread in the form of a French Stick loaf accompanied by some local corn bread, orange juice and fried eggs with herbs. At first we were not offered any fruit with breakfast but once we had asked, we were served melon each morning. By the third morning of our stay we became tired of fried eggs and requested an omelette which was nicely done and served each morning thereafter. At the end of our stay we learned that if we had only asked, we could have had some of the tasty looking local bread that we saw on sale everywhere in the Medina instead of the French stick loaf. In general we found the service of breakfast random. The food at breakfast is served in no particular order.
We stayed in the Dounia Room which is individually decorated to a high standard. This is a long room with the only two relatively small windows overlooking the central courtyard. The room can be dark and one could switch all the lights on but this would only make the room hotter. To prevent the hot air from the central courtyard entering the room we kept the shutters closed through the hot hours of the day. This room has Air Conditioning but in our opinion is not powerful enough and two smaller units, one at each end of the room, would have been more effective. The bathroom has an extraction fan which is efficient. The shower is similar to a wet room, it doesn’t have a shower door so we stood with our back to the taps so as not to flood the rest of the bathroom. There is no sink plug so remember to take your own. Although the Riad advertises that all showers have a ceiling shower head the shower in our room did not. Robes are provided upon request although some days they were taken away and only replaced upon request and not necessarily with a belt. Be careful should you break anything glass in your room as the daily cleaning is not thorough even when the staff were aware of what had happened. Room service is available but we considered the price of wine expensive for what it is compared to other riads. I would suggest the Riad provide an invoice with any extras ordered by the residents as it was inconvenient to have to ask for the extra costs each time. The staff and owners appear to be new to the hospitality business and hopefully with time the service will improve.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard can be very warm. The choice is the noise from the air con. or...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequenttraveller50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Where to start, the place is a marvel. It was so beautiful i didn't know what to look at first. There is not a square inch in the riad which isn't adorned with the highest-end decoration. The time and thought that must have gone into creating this stunner of a riad is nothing short of spectacular. The roof terrace is also lovely with the same cast iron furniture present in the courtyard, and the room was by far the best we stayed in in the whole of Morocco. I cant praise the look of this riad enough. Beautiful.

my only negative is that there were not enough staff to cope with the demand at breakfast. Though they were very hard-working and friendly, we waited a looong time for our eggs. However when they came they were very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son de diferentes tamaños y precios , dependen del piso y el tamaño, son cómodas t...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank achibachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gianmarco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#39 of 100 in Fes
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 100 in Fes
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#16 of 216 in Fes
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Said

Address: 10 Derb Al Idrissi, Rue Skallia, Haoumat Douh, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Said 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing