We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Said”
Review of Riad Said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Said
Ranked #34 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We decided to find our own way to the Riad, and were hassled the whole time. It was a relief to finally arrive at the calm and beautiful surroundings of Riad Said. If you can use a GPS, do. The coordinates are Latitude 34.06009037526481, Longitude -4.978906810283661. Alternatively, ask the Riad staff to pick you up or meet you.

The owner, Latifah, happened to be visiting from Switzerland and was very helpful, as were all the staff (especially Mohammed, who serves dinner and breakfast - a very decent young man). We stayed in the "Dounia" suite, which was wonderful. The rest of our group stayed in the "Sofian" (lovely too, but with a steep step just outside the room door) and "Fadila" (much smaller and you really do get a good workout climbing all those steps, however having your private terrace could be a bonus with the right weather). One of the ground floor rooms ("Anbar" or "Faiza") might be better if you would rather avoid frequent stair-climbing.

We had two dinners and a light lunch at the Riad, which were all delicious. Latifah also suggested dinner at the nearby Riad Layla, which was good, but Riad Said was better. Turns out Latifah also owns Riad Layla! Breakfasts were very nice too, with omelettes and various breads available. They very kindly arranged an early breakfast on our last day, as we had an early departure.

The hammam at Riad Said was not inexpensive, but quite an experience and probably less confronting than going to a public hammam. We came out squeaky clean :-) There was a safe in our room, but it was locked and we didn't bother asking for it to be unlocked.

We asked for a recommendation of a tour guide, and Hicham was arranged for an all-day tour. He was fantastic - informative, well-spoken and interestingly his Master's thesis compared the Arabic and Hebrew languages. We highly recommend his guiding services.

Riad Said is a wonderful place to base yourself while in Fes. The only problem is trying to tear yourself away! Credit cards are accepted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Riad Said was even more beautiful in person than the pictures online. It was a quiet Oasis perfectly situated in Fes. Our room was spacious clean. The meals we were served were delicious, especially our morning breakfasts on the terrace. The owners and staff were welcoming abd kind, spoke English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at this Riad, it was quite large inside, the rooms were big and very comfortable and the bathrooms great. Sumir and Mohammed were exceptional and provided everything we needed and then some. They were quite patient and very helpful. It is an easy 5 - 8 minute walk to the Medina and not hard to find at all. We did it every day. I would recommend this Riad, it was quiet well appointed, convenient and had a great roof top terrace that was relaxing and private.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernbelle195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It was lovely to stay in a home style accomodation with such great service. Superb food - not cheap or quick - but high quality. Highly recommend.
This riad is only a few minutes walk from the medina, and once inside feels as if you are worlds away from that hassle and bustle. It's very peaceful. We stayed here for 4 nights and certainly felt pampered and cared for. We had to dips can and send some business documents via email, and dinner without much notice... All these were handled with a smile. Thanks Sameer.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank vinodhush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Thank you to Yves, Mohammed, Mareeka and wonderful staff at this relaxing, peaceful Riad. We loved our stay. Warm fire place, helpful staff, comfortable and spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Throughly recommend this fabulous Riad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eclaire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Wonderful riad, clean and calm, ideally located in the medina near the Blue gate, with a parking nearby. Family room Anbar is large and beautifully decorated in authentic moroccan style. The staff are very helpfull and attentive, great food, chicken tagine for dinner was the best we ate in Morocco.
I highly reccomend Riad Said to feel the hospitality and spirit of old Fes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We recently stayed as a family of 4. The bedroom room was lovely, the riad very well furbished and the service generally very friendly. My warnings would be: Although it is a nice venue for dinning the quality and quantity of food did not justify the high european prices compared to what you can get in the local resteraunts. I woukld get better for cheaper in London. Go out to eat. We also used the hammam and my wife had a massage. Again, these were priced at europeam spa prices but were no where near that quality. The lady that provides the service iswas friendly but she is not a trained professional masseur and so they should not be charging prices as if she is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malxlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#48 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Said

Address: 10 Derb Al Idrissi, Rue Skallia, Haoumat Douh, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Said 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing