We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad and wonderful hosts”
Review of Riad Said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Said
Ranked #35 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in Riad Said for two nights in late April 2013 during a two week drive through Morocco. The riad is off a quiet pedestrian street and is easy enough to miss, but when you enter you walk right into a beautiful courtyard. The hosts, Yves and Samir, were extremely friendly. Samir spoke English. Yves spoke French and a little English, and I was also able to communicate with him using high school Spanish. So if you only speak English and have any specific requests you might want to email in advance to make sure Samir can help you out.

Our room was large and well furnished and the bathroom was amazing -- but we were hardly in it. We were either out exploring the Fes medina or lounging in the courtyard. Riad Said also has a roof deck with a beautiful view that we didn't take advantage of because of our short time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dounia room which was nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamVagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our stay was utterly amazing. The staff were beyond helpful with everything! The riad is beautifully decorated like a Moroccan palace, as are the rooms. We would love to come back. Thanks for showing us a great stay in fes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentraveller1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The best riad we had during our time in Marocco. A beautiful place with friendly staff and spacious clean rooms. The food was good! Definitely value for money!!!!! I advise you to use the pick up service otherwise it might be difficult to find in the medina.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iris X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Wow! This Riad made our stay in Fez perfect. The location, staff and atmosphere made the city disappear but the Moroccan experience never stopped. We had the pleasure of meeting everyone from the owner, manager to the wait staff. Every step of the way, we felt like part of the family.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDZhawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife and i had two wonderful nights at Riad said including a lovely dinner, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week Moroccan holiday. Beautiful rooms, excellent service in a serene and tranquil environment - wold return in an instant. many thanks to everyone at Riad said

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We decided to find our own way to the Riad, and were hassled the whole time. It was a relief to finally arrive at the calm and beautiful surroundings of Riad Said. If you can use a GPS, do. The coordinates are Latitude 34.06009037526481, Longitude -4.978906810283661. Alternatively, ask the Riad staff to pick you up or meet you.

The owner, Latifah, happened to be visiting from Switzerland and was very helpful, as were all the staff (especially Mohammed, who serves dinner and breakfast - a very decent young man). We stayed in the "Dounia" suite, which was wonderful. The rest of our group stayed in the "Sofian" (lovely too, but with a steep step just outside the room door) and "Fadila" (much smaller and you really do get a good workout climbing all those steps, however having your private terrace could be a bonus with the right weather). One of the ground floor rooms ("Anbar" or "Faiza") might be better if you would rather avoid frequent stair-climbing.

We had two dinners and a light lunch at the Riad, which were all delicious. Latifah also suggested dinner at the nearby Riad Layla, which was good, but Riad Said was better. Turns out Latifah also owns Riad Layla! Breakfasts were very nice too, with omelettes and various breads available. They very kindly arranged an early breakfast on our last day, as we had an early departure.

The hammam at Riad Said was not inexpensive, but quite an experience and probably less confronting than going to a public hammam. We came out squeaky clean :-) There was a safe in our room, but it was locked and we didn't bother asking for it to be unlocked.

We asked for a recommendation of a tour guide, and Hicham was arranged for an all-day tour. He was fantastic - informative, well-spoken and interestingly his Master's thesis compared the Arabic and Hebrew languages. We highly recommend his guiding services.

Riad Said is a wonderful place to base yourself while in Fes. The only problem is trying to tear yourself away! Credit cards are accepted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Riad Said was even more beautiful in person than the pictures online. It was a quiet Oasis perfectly situated in Fes. Our room was spacious clean. The meals we were served were delicious, especially our morning breakfasts on the terrace. The owners and staff were welcoming abd kind, spoke English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Said

Address: 10 Derb Al Idrissi, Rue Skallia, Haoumat Douh, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Said 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing