We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fish and chips... Moroccan style!”
Review of Chez Rachid

Chez Rachid
Ranked #4 of 209 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips... Moroccan style!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Went here to eat brunch and ended up so full we couldn't eat for the rest of the day. Food was delicious, started with brewed mint tea and fresh orange juice served with traditional bread, olives and Harira soup which was very warming. Next came the freshly fried mini fish and hand cut chips, served with a variety of vegetables and rice. Best fish and chips ever! Then came the pastilla which is a pastry filled with chicken mince and decorated with icing sugar and cinnamon, sweet warm and very filling. And then a fresh sizzling chicken and vegetable tajine, hot and lovely to dip the bread in although we didn't fancy the chicken too much, was a bit rubbery.
Overall excellent service and delicious food, was a bit overpriced as things that are ordered without a menu can be pricey as you discover when you receive the bill!
However if you're around bab juloud, the entrance to the old medina, stop at this street restaurant for a refreshing mint tea or a very filling lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    238
    60
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality and homemade food.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Mohammed stopped me when i just arrived to fes, but in a charismatic and friendly way as other people do there. I went back to the area and the guy recognised me! And he was really nice, chatty and warm. Food was delicious. "couscous royal" was stunning and at the end he gave us some little moroccan cakes for free! Just to say that we were 4 people and we paid just 220 dirhams!! Amazing!! Mohammed eres el mejor!! Mohammed you are the best!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josefarosertage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Chaotic, charismatic, colourful!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is the pace oriented mainly on tourists, but honest and thus very succesful. Maroccan street restaurant at its best. Right on the busy street of Medina. With cats sitting under your table, and donkeys walking nearby, sometimes flies trying to land on your food - you're in the middle of life. Waiters are most likely brothers - very charismatic and fast. And it is very decent and safe local cousine: fresh, spicy, good portions and prices - very good place to have a quick bite and get familiar with local cousine. Then you may go for upscale restaurants and compare the nuances of cooking in more luxury setting)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

First meal in fes, the welcome was amazing so was the service from beginning to end with a complementary soup from the chef, which was delicious. Long live the morrocan people !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avoid this one”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a terrible experience eating here, and I find it hard to imagine how anyone can give this place such positive reviews. The food is below average and we waited almost an hour for it to arrive.

In short, it's an overpriced tourist restaurant with poor food and terrible service. You can do better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Rachid also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Chez Rachid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing