We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Medina & Spa
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After a morning in the smelly, filthy medina, it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel. Our room was a decent size and had a view of a nicely landscaped area. Beds were a little too firm and pillows a little too flat. Disappointed there was no iron. The pool and deck area are lovely. Lunch at LePool was slow but the sandwiches were very good. We had dinner at the hotel one night through the tour which was a very nice buffet (and I am not a fan of buffets) and we were able to eat out on the patio. Only disappointment was the American flag was hanging upside down. It took two tries to get it right. Can't rate the value as it was part of a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Initial impressions of the hotel were very good. Bright. modern, newly built hotel set in it's own grounds just outside the old part of the city and within easy walking distance. However ....

Our room was very small and offered little in the way of comfort. Some of the party were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony but most of us had small uncomfortable rooms ... bit of a shame as we stayed here for 3 nights.

Breakfast ... the worst we had in our tour of Morocco
Restaurants ... avoid ... several in the group were convinced they were ill because they ate from the buffet at dinner ... some were confined to their rooms for the whole stay!
Hardly anyone eats in the restaurants ... the town is close at hand ... so as a result the service and quality of the food is awful ... avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony ... and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After a grueling day in the Medina of Fes what a wonderful surprise to come to this immaculately clean and friendly hotel. I wish I would have cancelled my tour and just stayed there. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms sparkling clean and the pool and bar was paradise. Its the only hotel in Morocco that we had that got it all perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is away from it all. The lobby and decorations are beautiful and impressive. The staff were wonderful. There were two restaurants, both were good.
There was also a pool.
Definitely a hotel I would revisit. No down-side here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just sit around the pool and forget everything else. Ask for a fresh mint tea for 25 MAD and forget the wine, prices start at 260 for a wine you will regret having asked for.
Hotel is large, quiet and you have a lot of opportunities to relax, at least in June.
It is true that service could improve a lot, but just forget about it, do some self-service at the Le Pool Bar, and go back into the warm water

Room Tip: Pay more 800 MAD and ask for a room facing the swimming pool, the royal palace and the medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000spots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The overwhelming first impression of this hotel was "What the hell is that smell!!!" The drains had backed up and the smell was overwhelming. Not a great way to start my visit to Fes. While the worst of the stench dissipated over a few hours, the undertone lingered right through.

The hotel looks great. Very well appointed with nice rooms - clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and try to be helpful, but it's not quite there. At breakfast one morning there were plenty of spoons and forks but no knives. The next morning, having responded to the previous day's complaints, there were hundreds of knives, but no other cutlery!

The outside patio area was very nice, but the gardens were not yet established when I visited, so it was still looking very much like a construction site as far as the landscaping was concerned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InglewoodMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. By the way, they seemed to have changed their name to "Atlas Fes and Spa Hotel" recently. The hotel's location is good, close to both the medina and also the centre of Fes city. The hotel is large and clean and the rooms are comfortable.

Unfortunately, their service in their restaurants were shocking and not in keeping with a four or five star establishment! We paid for "half board" which included breakfast and dinner for the 2 nights. When we checked in, we were told that the dinner would be a buffet dinner with "lots of choices" of Moroccan and western cuisines. This was UNTRUE!!!

On the first night, we arrived at the restaurant at 7:30pm. The restaurant was not even ready for service. They had 3 waiters hanging around the restaurant. After 5 minutes, we were ushered to a table. The table was not set properly. There were no glasses, serviettes or spoons. We were then kept waiting for another 15 minutes. One of the waiters then came and took some drink orders. We had to ask for some glasses and serviettes. We looked at the buffet stations and saw that there were no food. There was NO explanation from any of the 3 waiters as to why the buffet had no food. In the meantime, the restaurant started to be filled up with customers, including a very large tour group (about 30 people). The waiters then ignored all the other customers and started to serve the tour group, even though they arrived later than many of the customers (including ourselves!!!).

Finally after waiting for 30 minutes, we finally managed to get a waiter to give us one piece of cold bread each. Then the waiter finally came and told us there would not be a buffet. There would be a set menu instead (with NO choices). We were then served a horrible tasting soup that was cold. There were no spoons at our table. When we tried to attract the waiters' attention, they avoided eye contact and ignored us. Finally 10 minutes later, we got some spoons and was able to eat our horrible soup. The main course (entree) was a piece of very dried fish with some boiled vegetables. We were told there was no alternative to the fish. Desert was a piece of cake.

After dinner, we complained about the food and the service. We were told that the reason that there was no buffet dinner was because "the sous chef has called in sick". We were told that there will be a buffet dinner for the second night. This was a LIE!!!

On the second night, we were again told at the restaurant that there would not be a buffet. Again we were given a set 3 course menu with no choices for alternatives. The food was shocking and horrible. Service was again very poor. The waiters seem to be very good at ignoring eye contact.

Please do not eat at their restaurants, or go for their "Half Board" unless you wish to be served horrible, tasteless food with equally horrible service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTravelAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#49 of 100 in Fes
672 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#21 of 100 in Fes
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#62 of 100 in Fes
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Arabesque
Riad Arabesque
#40 of 100 in Fes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Medina & Spa

Address: Avenue Allal El Fassi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £71 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Fes, next to the shopping center Borj Fez, the Palace has an outdoor pool and a snack bar with panoramic views of the Jbel Zallagh Hill and the ancient medina. It features a luxury spa center.The Palais Medina & Spa, immersed in an Andalusian garden of 5 hectares, offers rooms and spacious air-conditioned suites with breathtaking views of the medina or the gardens. They are all equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.Guests can enjoy international and Moroccan cuisine in one of the 3 restaurants of the hotel. There is also a piano bar and a nightclub.The hotel also offers spa Daniel Youth which offers a heated indoor pool and a range of beauty treatments. Enjoy a relaxing comfortably on the large terrace of Palais Medina overlooking the garden.The hotel is located between the historic town and the new town and 30 minutes drive from Fes International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing