We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Medina & Spa
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days in this hotel as part of a tour in Morocco.
The rooms are confortable and specious. But the bath tub is high for short or elderly people to get in. The glass at the shower let the water slip outside at the floor that gets slippery. The food was Good as well as the service. A mall is conveniently located next to the hotel. We realy enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two nights here. The hotel is well located, well built with spacious rooms, which were clean and quiet. Cannot comment on the pool area and gardens as we had rain all the time!
The reason for the title is the restaurant, where the food was barely adequate, and the service non existent.
One night halfway through dinner, the staff started to clear the food. When we asked why, we were told a function was booked and they had special food to be laid out for the expected group. We had to fight to get our food back!!
The breakfast was lacking in many things, including cutlery and crockery, and it was hard to get any tea or coffee. A very much " Do it yourself" set up.! This is a pity as the hotel has much potential, but badly needs managing and some organisation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilternsBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for three nights as part of a tour of Morocco. The hotel is in a convenient location close to the main avenue.
Our room was spacious and clean but the bed was quite hard and not very comfortable. The bath had a wide ledge making it difficult to get out of - particularly as the floor was slippery when wet.
We visited reception to ask someone to look at our air conditioning but the receptionist showed little interest and asked if the patio door was closed !
Breakfast was incredibly chaotic with too few staff - hence several items of food and drink were not replenished.
After our experience at breakfast we chose to eat dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Situated right on the edge of town - you can walk to the main boulevard from here.
Decent enough modern building but service is non-existent.
Breakfast was a scrum down unless you were in very early - we had to lay our own table using crockery, cutlery etc from tables which had been vacated but not yet cleared and re-set.
Pool bar was not open but there is a decent bar off the lobby - even if the barman is somewhat sleepy.
Should and could have been so much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. Sadly let down by poor organisation and poor/dismissive service. My bathroom floor needed a good scrub. Unfortunately my views tally with many others on here so clearly management have no interest in rectifying the situating as long as tour companies continue to book. So people basically need to feed this back to their tour companies to encourage management to take the issues which have been raised repeatedly more seriously - or use a different hotel.
The food (when it arrived) was good, so here again the issue was one of service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lesley_C_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i was in this hotel from the 6 march to the 9 march , the staff was very helpful at the reception the rooms are big ; we had rooms with breakfast it was verry good the imperial restaurant i s very nice i recomande this hotel its close to the medina and the mall

Room Tip: ask for a romm with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chraibi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Poor food. On our second evening all our pass keys had been cancelled and very little food was available. Our guide and other guests from other tours argued with the manager. Eventually, one of our party persuaded the waiters to allow us to “gate-crash” a private Bar BQ and beg some lamb chops to go with the desultory chicken and cold vegetables that had been set out for us.
(Jules Verne Tour)

Room Tip: Try to avoid road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#44 of 100 in Fes
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#59 of 100 in Fes
623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Medina & Spa

Address: Avenue Allal El Fassi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £80 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Fes, next to the shopping center Borj Fez, the Palace has an outdoor pool and a snack bar with panoramic views of the Jbel Zallagh Hill and the ancient medina. It features a luxury spa center.The Palais Medina & Spa, immersed in an Andalusian garden of 5 hectares, offers rooms and spacious air-conditioned suites with breathtaking views of the medina or the gardens. They are all equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.Guests can enjoy international and Moroccan cuisine in one of the 3 restaurants of the hotel. There is also a piano bar and a nightclub.The hotel also offers spa Daniel Youth which offers a heated indoor pool and a range of beauty treatments. Enjoy a relaxing comfortably on the large terrace of Palais Medina overlooking the garden.The hotel is located between the historic town and the new town and 30 minutes drive from Fes International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing