We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so, only the good location”
Review of Dar Zohor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zohor
Ranked #73 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Zohor is good located very near the main entrance of the Medina.

It's very near the restaurants and the shops and it has a nice terrace. Wifi works good.

The owner is a bit rude and we didn't liked his attitude when he didn't opened the door to our guide (we prior booked a guide contacting straight away without the help of the hotel).

The doors of the rooms were always opened even if we left them closed. Why? Any of our belonings left but I think anyone would deserve privacy.

The toilets were poor and the hot water too.

Room Tip: Book the whole room if you don't want someone to be sleeping at the same room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ClaraUluwatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Centrally located, typical back-packer hostel atmosphere with a lovely common area. The staff couldn't be more helpful - they actually walked with me to numerous places I wanted to see and helped to arrange trips out of the city. Can certainly be a bit loud at night, but if you are concerned about noise, then book one of the private rooms. Couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were moved to Dar Zohour after the riad we had booked (Dar El Yasmine) was filled (? or something like that, never got the whole story). Despite the initial confusion, we were very happy with our stay. We were 4 adults who booked a private room with en suite bath, which is exactly what we got (not always the case in Morocco, apparently). The beds were very comfortable, the shower had hot water, the breakfast was delicious, and the riad was very conveniently located (close to the blue gates). The central lounge of the riad is gorgeously decorated, and the roof gives an excellent view of the medina. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, even giving us a breakfast "to go" at 6:30AM the day of our departure. The only drawback was that noise carried quite strongly between our room (on the ground floor) and the lounge area/courtyard a few feet away, which wasn't ideal when we wanted to go to bed but a large group of other travellers was still congregating in the courtyard. It is my impression that this is a common problem with riads, however, unless there are strictly-enforced "quiet hours." In all, the guests here seemed more relaxed and mature than our first riad, though, so all was quiet after 1AM or so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrr413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were staying at this guest house for 3 nights. It is centrally-located, very close to the Blue Gate. There are many shops, stores, restaurants nearby. The staff are extremely kind and helpful. Many thanks to your great staff Nordene and Yossef. When we arrived, Nordene gave us very delicious mint tea. When we asked about local cheap restaurant, Yossef took us to a nearby resonably-priced restaurant. The breakfast is delicious. On our day of departure, Nordene got up at 5 am and gave us packed breakfasts. We had a very comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceMiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I'm solo low-budget traveler, I visited maybe 4-6 other places before taking this one. Keep in mind that Morocco is poor country, so don't expect western luxury comfort. I was not looking for that comfort, opposite I was looking for locals. My judgement is relevant to judge (to me): I think it is good place to stay/sleep, to get essential service, but not to enjoy local food, comfort or stay with family. I got the best place - on the roof and I enjoyed the whole stay - 3 nights :) It is good place to stay with friends or traveling alone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arunas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Here is a nice place to stay especially for family and students.
You can find this place easily in the middle of "medina (down town of Fez)"
Furthermore staffs are very kind and give us a lot of advices for our traveling.
When you visit here, please call the owner "papa".

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The worst place we stayed in Morocco. I have never written a review here before but feel compelled because of our horrible experience.

There is a potent smell in the ground level rooms so strong we could not sleep. When we asked what it was the owner, Aziz, said it was because the city's sewer system runs directly beneath the hotel!!! We could barely walk into our room without being overcome by the smell of sewerage.

We asked to change our room to a higher floor & Aziz's initially sunny demeanor disappeared & he began screaming at us abusively, swearing & telling us to 'deal with it'. We were astonished as only minutes before he was preparing tea, telling us about Islamic culture & demonstrating the different languages he knows. He was rude & extremely aggressive.

In addition, the sewerage bred cockroaches. Everywhere. In our bedroom, in the bathroom & even in the main lobby while we were sitting down. We traveled through Morocco for over 3 weeks & never experienced so many cockroaches anywhere else.

I cannot recommend this place. The owner Aziz was aggressive & rude & the sewerage meant our room was filled with cockroaches & the smell of faeces. Stay anywhere but here!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john_7684m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohour G, Manager at Dar Zohor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

This not a Traveller Experience ,This is competition Was working in Dar Zohor .she had some problems with the owner and that's the reason of this Comment and others .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#35 of 100 in Fes
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#4 of 69 in Fes
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#30 of 217 in Fes
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad La Bague de Kenza
0.0 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#31 of 217 in Fes
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#124 of 217 in Fes
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zohor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zohor

Address: 19, Rue Tariana, Talaa Sghira, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional house in the center of the old medina, near to the blue gate,and Mederssa Bouanania, quiet calm and full of history. Dar Zohor Has a Nice roof Terrasse and restaurant, we offer Diversity Activities ;Cooking Class ,Day Trips around fes ,Desert Excursions ,Pick up from bus & Train Station ,also from The Airport , Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zohor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing