We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in Fez”
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A good hotel in Fez”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this Barcelo hotel in November with a Gate1 tour. The room was quit comfortable and the staff were friendly. We ate in the restaurant both evenings. The menu was quite limited--they had run out of many things and couldn't' restock because it was a weekend. But the food we could get was very good. The breakfast was excellent--a buffet with many choices and several choices of cooked-to -our orders. My husband was sufficiently impressed that he left with a copy of the chains hotel catalogue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    219
    141
    44
    24
See reviews for
97
203
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Barceló with Gate1 on a two week tour of Morocco. The hotel was conveniently located just across the street from a large mall (supermarket and liquor store) and interestingly enough a very crowded MacDonald's. We took a petit taxi from next to the MacDonald's to the Medina (Bab R'cif) for about 10 dh (app $1). This hotel had the best breakfast on our entire two week trip. Lots of fruits, some dried and some in honey as well as the usual selection of breads and pastries. Just a short walk (about 4 blks) from the hotel is the small but worth-a-visit archeological museum and a sunken area with a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a mid-range hotel. Nice design, rooms small but nicely appointed. Located close to a major shopping mall and the only McDonald's that (from one side) has a more traditional look with Arabic writing. Our experience at dinner was not great, with so-so food and one guest getting the wrong dinner. The breakfast buffet was ample. Hotel has a small bar with friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I truly enjoy the decor of this hotel. Inside the bedroom as well as the breakfast area are nicely done indeed!

It is located in the Neuville (new city) area so be ready to take taxi to the medina. We were planning to walk to the medina but so lucky we didn't since it is uphill all the way up! Taxi is about 20 dirhams to the medina, just negotiate that upfront. Across the street is the largest mall with Carrefour so it quite convenient to get grocery and snacks.

Free wifi is quite useful for us to plan our day exploring the medina. The front desk spoke very little English and was very unfriendly and unhelpful!! We wanted a guide for the medina and she made me wait about 10 minutes for her I am not sure for what (she gave me the one second sign while looking at the computer screen and she works on the front desk?!).

Breakfast is average. There is an omelet station but be ready to wait a long time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here on a tour. The staff was excellent. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. The location was superb. We walked to an excellent restaurant, Isla Blanca, for a very good dinner. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diaperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour and would recommend the hotel despite the title of my review. This modern hotel was well equipped, clean had excellent Wi-Fi and was generally very well run. The people of Morroco are very friendly and accommodating including getting the English football on the big screen in the bar. The reception was very efficient and the room was very nice with all the amenities you expect. The location is in the new part of fes so there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bureau de change. My one criticism was the service at meal times especially breakfast. This was mainly a problem as because I was on an organised tour I had a coach to be ready for each day I was in a rush. As a result what would normally be an annoyance became a problem. The restaurant was simply over loaded each morning, not enough food, tables or staff. The pattern was of a chaotic and stressed service. This would not put me off staying again as I thought the hotel was very nice and believe the service at meal times was not the norm, in fact the dinner service proved this. Overall well worth the money and recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Lovely renovate hotel well positioned in Fes. Big mall close by. We had a lot of problems in our room with electricity. Lights went out twice. Terrible reading lamps. Nice bathrooms and beds. Breakfast was awful as was the evening buffet. Stay here but don't eat here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo-Maroc, Director of Sales at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all thank you for choosing the Hotel Barcelo for your last stay in Fes and the time spent for your comments
I just read your comment deposited on the tripadvisor website and I see that you enjoyed our hotel.
Furthermore, I am sorry to read that your expectations of our restaurant were not up to what you expected, and I promise you that we will do our best to improve the quality of our services.
Thank you for trusting us. We hope to have soon the opportunity to welcome you back at Barcelo Fes Medina
Faithfully


Adil ESSOUNI
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#55 of 98 in Fes
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#54 of 98 in Fes
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#35 of 98 in Fes
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 98 in Fes
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Property: Barcelo Fes Medina
Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing