We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located on a Beautiful Park Like Street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
211 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Located on a Beautiful Park Like Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is located along a park like promenade near many restaurants and a western style mall, complete with a  food court. The Barcelo Fes provided a comfortable, quiet  stay. Matresses are on the hard side, do if you like a soft bed you should book elsewhere, Our room faced the swimming pool and we heard no street noise. We were able to control the room temperature. The rooms, while not spacious, were comfortable, modern, and clean. Floors in the room were tiled. Instructions for the in-room safe were inadequate, but once someone showed us what to do the safe functioned. It, however, was not secured to anything, but  just set inside a closet. The staff were friendly, but at times seemed overwhelmed by the tour group before ours. The lobby swings were a hit with all. Wifi worked well, even from our room. In addition, two computers are available in the lobby. Breakfast was more than adequate. The variety of food compensated for the coolness of some of the hot entrees.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    209
    135
    42
    23
See reviews for
92
195
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is extremely attractive and modern, and the rooms look nice as well. However, our room had peeling wallpaper with mold behind it, a lack of toilet paper, and a drain that was clogged with hair and overflowed easily. The beds were hard.

The breakfast was very good, and the front desk helpful. I liked the easy access to the supermarket and a number of restaurants.

With a bit more attention to maintenance, I would rate this hotel as "very good," but too many things were overlooked.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Taking into account that we are in Morocco , I felt Barcelo hotel was far beyond other hotels in Fes ( 5 stars hotels looking like we were on '70s). Rooms were up to what I expected , wifi was Ok , some times was hanging up, breakfast was good , and service was overall good ( it depends on who is giving you the service . I met a recepcionist that was very very helpfull, and in the other hand , room service took up to 1h to bring me some food.)
5 min walking you have a big comercial center with restaurants ( cheaper than the hotel) and a Carrefour.
I would highly recomend Barcelo Fes Medina as a very good option to stay in Fes

Pd:I went to Fes to work so I was not really interested in visit old medina and do some turism.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marctini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Barcelo was notable for its hard beds and so-so staff. The included breakfast buffet was good but not special. The Bistro restaurant in the hotel was vastly overpriced and under good. It was quite a distance from the hotel to the medina, a taxi was necessary.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a two night stay at the Barcelo Medina on our Gate 1 Kaleidoscope of Morocco tour. The best thing in my opinion was the excellent location on a wide tree lined boulevard. Only a two minute walk to the Burj Fes mall and the big Carrefour supermarket, open late. The people of Fes enjoy an early evening promenade, and the people watching is enjoyable. The Barcelo is a Spanish chain that tends to cut corners, so the reception was quite attractive, but the room was small and the bed hard, bathroom okay, left the toiletries behind. WiFi was fair. Arrive early for the best selection at the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Pretty normal hotel, modern and clean, although my shower did flood, but they were quick to sort it out and clean up Staff were ok, asked them to call in a taxi for us and we were told to go wait out until a taxi passed, with all of our luggage that is. Good location, burj fes shopping mall and the medina are very close by.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank farah_sader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this Barcelo hotel in November with a Gate1 tour. The room was quit comfortable and the staff were friendly. We ate in the restaurant both evenings. The menu was quite limited--they had run out of many things and couldn't' restock because it was a weekend. But the food we could get was very good. The breakfast was excellent--a buffet with many choices and several choices of cooked-to -our orders. My husband was sufficiently impressed that he left with a copy of the chains hotel catalogue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#49 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#45 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#32 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#66 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Property: Barcelo Fes Medina
Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Barcelo so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing