We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs lots of maintenence”
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needs lots of maintenence”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very well located hotel near a mall and Carrefour where you can buy water and other necessities. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms are large, missing soap and other amenities. Wi-Fi was poor, we had water leaks in the bathroom, auxiliary shaving mirror was missing screws to hold it in place, bar attached to wall where mirror was located was almost falling down. Small details but unacceptable for this beautiful hotel. Most Barceló hotels are excellent.
Breakfast was not good as expected. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops within blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    223
    142
    44
    24
See reviews for
99
204
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Otterbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Upscale hotel in a great location in the new town. Reasonably priced. Bed was huge and the hotel was clean. Staff was friendly and multilingual.

Water pressure for the shower was a bit weak but the temperature was fine. Wifi signal in my room was a bit weak so I had to walk into the hall to use Skype.

Didn't try the food or pool (though the pool looked nice).

They do have a shuttle to Fes Airport, but it is a bit on the expensive side. That being said, not having to deal with taxis in Morocco is always nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent two nights in this contemporary hotel during our Gate1 tour. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It is located on a lively commercial street with a variety of restaurants and coffee shops within a few blocks and a large, modern mall down the street. We were disappointed in the quality of food and service in the hotel's only restaurant when we had one dinner on our own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I am thorn between giving the hotel an average or a very good but for benefit of a doubt, I gave it a very good for its facilities. Barcelo Fes Medina has a perfect location for a modern hotel. The lobby, guest room, limited pool area, and elevators were designed in good taste. The only problem is the main dining room which is way to small for the number of seating. A net-like structure was adopted to separate the table in order to give the guests some comfort zone but certain tables are still blocking the buffet line. The only restaurant is trying to be too many thing at the same time. It was even trying to be fine dining in late hour.

Hence I recommend that the hotel solve it restaurant's problem as soon as possible otherwise this sore point will drag down their otherwise good facilities elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed two nights and were quite happy with all the amenities at this Hotel. Clean, new and very Good Service. Breakfast was very good. We had a very peaceful afternoon at the pool. Location is great . Don't miss the modern new Mall right down the Avenue. It's as an exciting experience as visiting the old Medina (and just as crowded).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZipsterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I must make it clear that we didn't stay in the hotel but did eat in the Le Bistrot, the hotel's so called restaurant.
Nice modern restaurant on the main boulevard.
However the evening we were there they hardly had any food available.
Our first three choices of starter from the menu were unavailable. Our first three choices of main courses from the menu were not available. It became so embarrassing that the "maître-de" had to come and take our order and serve us - I must say that he was absolutely charming and most amusing so we just had to see the funny side of it but I couldn't possibly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo-Maroc, Responsable commercial at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear client,

First of all thank you for choosing the Hotel Barcelo for your last stay in Fes and the time spent for your comments
I just read your comment deposited on the tripadvisor website and I see that you enjoyed our hotel.
Furthermore, I am sorry to read that your expectations of our restaurant were not up to what you expected, and I promise you that we will do our best to improve the quality of our services.
Thank you for trusting us. We hope to have soon the opportunity to welcome you back at Barcelo Fes Medina

Adil ESSOUNI
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Gate1 tour. The room was large, but the beds were not comfortable at all. Felt like we were sleeping on concrete. The room was quite warm, and the A/C was not turned on. We opened the window and the noise was very loud from the street. There was no hot water pot. The shower was great. There was a Carrefour about 2 blocks away, we picked up some items for the trip (wash clothes not provided anywhere in Morocco). We took our lives into our hands crossing the 2 streets to the store. Be very careful. Average hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#53 of 99 in Fes
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#56 of 99 in Fes
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#36 of 99 in Fes
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 99 in Fes
330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Property: Barcelo Fes Medina
Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing