We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a peaceful rest in a bustling city”

Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn
Ranked #25 of 212 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fez Café is a charming Moroccan bistro set at the edge of our vast garden and topped by an immense rooftop terrace - perfect for a dinner under the stars. Under the careful guidance of Michel Biehn himself, a Provencal food connoisseur with three award-winning cook books to his name, our chef at the Fez Cafe crafts a market-fresh menu every day which draws its flavours from the Morocan tradition, the East, and the home-grown organic vegetables from our own garden. We only use fresh seasonal ingredients. Our bar and Foosball table help make it a fun Medina meeting place. Open everyday for lunch, and dinner. Michel Biehn is the author of several award-winning cookbooks published in France, Europe and the United States. For a few hours or a few days, Michel Biehn, aided by his wonderful Chef Hicham, the head chef of the FEZ CAFE, will be happy to share with their guests, their oriental recipies and secrets of Moroccan cuisine.The cooking class starts by shopping on the market with Si Mohamed, followed by the actual cooking of the selected recipies with both Michel and Hicham. Then, it will be time to enjoy the prepared meal. Price:80 € per person.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great for a peaceful rest in a bustling city”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fes Cafe is situated in a former mansion with a great garden in the medina. The garden is serene and beautiful, truly a great place after wondering in the hustle and bustle of the Fes medina. The food and service are both very good. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HobbitBrandybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    80
    34
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marrakech
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“because they can.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stunning gardens in the middle of the Medina of Fes. Menu was presented in French and so I had a ' cote de veau' while my partner had sole fish rolls. While my steak was rather consistent the fish rolls where more like a starter and so she left rather hungry. We were shocked by the prices. 90 Dirhams for a ' tomatoes and mozarella' salad ??? Somebody wake me up ! That's nothing more than what it says: slices of tomatoes and some mozarella bits with olive oil and vinegar on top - for more than 8 euros a person. A pity for stunning grounds and the waiters that are doing their best.
Definitely a place for those that like to tell their friends: ' I had lunch at Fes Cafe'. If you're just hungry, look somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristian_martinus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had an excellent meal here and the service was attentive and timely. The food was good and well priced. I had the duck and mango salad and then the sea bass steamed in a fig leaf with vegetables. Was very delicious. Has alcohol. I recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackFromOz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Participative Experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We just had lunch here which was all the more fun because we cooked it ourselves! We did a cooking class which commenced with a guided walk to the medina markets to buy the necessary ingredients tomatoes, aubergines, capsicums, carrots, courgettes, almonds, bstilla (pastry) and a chicken. All items were hand selected and bargained for using dirhams, great fun and very authentic. The purchase of the chicken was not for the faint hearted! Back at the Riad we commenced our class, the chef is Morrocan and speaks French but no English so the owner of the Riad Michel translated. We prepared four traditional Morrocan (warm) salads, chicken and preserved lemon tagine and a delicious almond bstilla desert with a type of custard with orange blossom water and toasted almonds. Irrespective of whether you do a cooking class or not this restaurant is great as the blackboard menus change daily, lunch and dinner. The service is friendly and impeccable and not least set in a delightfull garden setting. Everything in the medina can be tricky to find but make the effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and nice to be offered a glass of wine”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fantastic food in a tranquil setting and right in the heart of the Fes medina. Service and food were wonderful and don't skip dessert. The glass of cold white wine was also much appreciated. I'll come back and bring friends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing