We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice and pretty place to stay in Fes”
Review of Dar Lalla Kenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Lalla Kenza
Ranked #18 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Seems a really nice place in a good location. I have been to fes only for a short time and stayed at a different hostel nearby but have payed a visit to Dar Lalla Kenza and found it to be much nicer than the other hostel. The rooms are comfortable, interior design and decoration is pretty, the terrace is really nice with a good view over the medina. I would recommend Dar Lalla Kenza rather than the other hostels in the area which seem to be very mass tourism oriented and offer less of an authentic experience, and also less comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pattypoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just having this great breakfast at the roof terrace with an exceptional view over the old medina is worth booking this place.
The single room is quiet small and basic, but reasonable for the price and clean as the whole Riad.
The other (double) rooms are generous and in nice Moroccan style.
The Morrocan owner family is very nice. Especially Ben who mainly runs the riad is very helpful in whatever matters without beeing pushy at all. So friendly, really enjoyed my stay as all the other guests that were there the same time.
Thanks guys, I'll come back, inshallah ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Thank you for an awesome stay in Fes! The tours and activities offered by the hostel were great. We really enjoyed the Medina tour and The staff were always friendly and more than happy to help us with anything we needed. Food was delicious as well. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fernardomoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Dar lalla Kenza is still one of the best memory of my holiday in Fés. Located in the hearth of medina, the atmosphere is special and warm. Also the owner and all the staff is very welcoming, providing you all the information you need to enjoy the best things of the city and of moroccan culture in general. Low prices and clean rooms. I definitively recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enricolzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

very warm and welcoming host, they make you feel like you are family. The rooms are comfortable and a good size for the prize. The rich decoration transports you to a different world, you live like a king or queen. The bathrooms are European style. The meals are fantastic and prepared fresh after Moroccan tradition. I love the fact that it is a house that is with flair for the past with modern touches. Have a great time exploring the city from this special place.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank 889Martina_F_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Simply recomended hotel to stay, good location, warm welcome host and very tasty meals and amazingly, they were home made... Really had a great memorable experience on my trip last time and look forward to another.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights summer early august 2012

(+) Excellent location, it's really close to the mainroad: Boulevard Ben Mohammed Al Alaoui, easy access to taxi and bus, atm and local cafes. 5 minutes walk from Bab Boujloud
(+) Great value of money: a very big and nicely decorated room (big bed for 2 + 2 big sofas for chilling out with friends!)
(+) One of the best terrace view we've seen from Fez (to have breakfast or dinner) even compared to the more expensive riads
(+) A family-run riad: very friendly owner and the mother is very lovely as well. The owner was very helpful with the reservation and during our arrival

(-) People with a big sense of private space might feel bothered as the owner can be a bit "too friendly" sometimes you don't feel like you're the client (lack of sense of professionallism)
(-) We ordered a dinner (which was quite authentic nevertheless) that took more than 2 hours to be served (a major disappointment. it was a summer ramadhan time, but still no excuse nonetheless)
(-) No room cleaning service at the riad

In general, it was a very lovely family riad with a very nice owner yet it needs to improve its professional services toward its clients

Room Tip: - The top room (i think it's the Zineb's room) is simply the best for two person: very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#23 of 100 in Fes
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Dar Jannat
Hostel Dar Jannat
#1 of 76 in Fes
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 221 in Fes
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Farah
Dar Farah
#21 of 76 in Fes
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Lalla Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla Kenza

Address: 5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener R'cif, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Price Range: £15 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Lalla Kenza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fes is the scientific capital and one of the four Moroccan imperial cities.It has been selected as the oldest World Heritage Site by UNESCO.Meet Fez and it's modest people.walk in its narrow alleys, against a backdrop of magnificent old buildings, where life on the streets of the medina, is like a kind of open-air museum offers .Dar Lalla Kenza is an old traditional house built around 150 years ago, and it had been restored lately by a Moroccan family in which you will be hosted as kings and queens.Riad Lalla Kenza presents to its guets a delicious Moroccan cuisine. all the food is homemade and ingredients are bought every morning fresh and clean. breakfast is served at the Panoramic terrace with a wonderful view over the rooftops of the old city of Fez.Take a look at guest house and book accommodation for your stay in Fez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Lalla Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing