We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll feel like at home in Dar Lalla Kenza”
Review of Dar Lalla Kenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Lalla Kenza
Ranked #14 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll feel like at home in Dar Lalla Kenza”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I really feel like at home in Dar Lalla Kenza. In this place you can feel the frendly and great morrocan atmosphere and hospitalility. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. I was with a friend and we had a clean and beautiful bedroom. There is also a big and confortable living room. Breakfast is delicious. I recommend this hostel! Everything is perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelaFirenze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
34
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I strongly recommend this hostel for a lot of reasons:
-reasonable price
-very good position: in the center but on the other side of Bab Jloud where all the touristic sightseeing tours start... so it is very quiet.
-the hostel is an ancient Moroccan house (if you don't stay at this hostel may be you'll never be able to visit one) and you can enjoy a the rooftop where sometimes breakfast is served.
-the staff is fantastic and incredibly welcoming, the atmosphere is friendly and familiar.
When I arrived there there was no more place in the dormitory and so I stayed alone in a double room.. I wish I took some pics of that room because it was awesome!
I suggested to stay there to some friends and they all had a good experience.
Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakai, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

i was stay on dar lalla kenza.cheap prices and comfortable rooms and friendly peoples.egzotic streets near to centrum and nice terrace.you can see fez landscape on the terrace.i never forget dar lalla kenza.my favorite hostel on the fez.number one for backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Dar Lalla Kenza for 3 nights in early Oct. We booked the double room with en suite bathroom instead of the dorms. Room was clean and spacious with a nice sofa bed. There was no air-conditioning. Instead we had a fan. Not an issue as the riad was very cooling. Breakfast was a Morocco affair and was satisfying. Location-wise, close to the heart of the medina but away from the new Fes area where the few drinks spots are.

Ben, the manager, was friendly and helpful with providing information. I had to disagree with the former reviewer - Ben actually spoke more to my wife. He was kind to walk us out and got us a cab to the train station when we are leaving.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azdinefes, Manager at Dar Lalla Kenza, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello again.

Thank you for your kind words and your appreciation of our service and in general our Dar.

We try to make every guest feel comfortable as we know that every one has their own preference.
So we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The food in Morocco is generally an affair .... :)

Please keep in touch and of course we hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefchaouen, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There is nothing to complain about the facilities or location. But the manager, Ben, is discriminating against women (didnt want to talk to my girlfriend, basically ignored her). When we left he tried to cheat on us and wanted a lot more money. When we started arguing about it he got very agressive. So we payed and left; but had to wait outside. Then he poured a full bucket of dirty water on us out of a window. Apart from that he couldnt help us to find our way through Fez. DO NOT STAY THERE !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azdinefes, Manager at Dar Lalla Kenza, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and that you do confirm that we have good facilities and location, so thank you.
However the rest of your review is very misleading and untruthful.
We do not want to put on all the details of this, because we do not want to insult anyone, however you know when you were here exactly what happen.

Regarding your last comment, no self respecting hotel owner would pour water on anyone.... with the knowledge that, that information will be displayed to the world as you have done.

Thank you once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

this hostel was the best accommodation during our 10 days in morocco! after we found it, we were really stunned about the beautiful riad, the lovely rooftop, the tasteful interior and, for sure, the really nice team. although it was one of the most expensive ones, dar lala kenza was definitely worth the price! next time again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f-klawitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azdinefes, Manager at Dar Lalla Kenza, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello again,

Thank you first off for your review, we do love hearing what our guests have to say about their stay with us.

We are determined to provide quality accommodation at a competitive cost, so that our guests can have a comfortable 'home' away from home. So we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

And of course, we hope that we will be on your list, when and if you are in Fez again.

Dar Lalla Kenza Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay when exploring Fez. It is a very Moroccan style building with large, cool rooms. There was no air conditioning when we were there but the rooms were cool enough anyway. They provided a lovely breakfast. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and arranged a tour around the medina for us. Clean and Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berryk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azdinefes, Manager at Dar Lalla Kenza, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate the feedback from our guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and you are more than welcome to stay with us anytime.

Be Well !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad LallaZoubida
Riad LallaZoubida
#9 of 65 in Fes
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Lalla Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla Kenza

Property: Dar Lalla Kenza
Address: 5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fes is the scientific capital and one of the four Moroccan imperial cities.It has been selected as the oldest World Heritage Site by UNESCO.Meet Fez and it's modest people.walk in its narrow alleys, against a backdrop of magnificent old buildings, where life on the streets of the medina, is like a kind of open-air museum offers .Dar Lalla Kenza is an old traditional house built around 150 years ago, and it had been restored lately by a Moroccan family in which you will be hosted as kings and queens.Riad Lalla Kenza presents to its guets a delicious Moroccan cuisine. all the food is homemade and ingredients are bought every morning fresh and clean. breakfast is served at the Panoramic terrace with a wonderful view over the rooftops of the old city of Fez.Take a look at guest house and book accommodation for your stay in Fez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Lalla Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing