We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Asmae

Asmae
Ranked #51 of 215 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was in Fes for 3 days in June and enjoyed Asmae for lunch 2 days in a row! Great people Great food! loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melrose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a tourist trap.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

terrible, over priced and western style Moroccan.

we were brought here by our tourist guide ( he, on the other hand was fabulous) and sat with all the other people who had also been brought by their tour guide. I ordered the tagine chicken with preserved lemons and olives. unfortunately this is not what came out. what did come out was a baked, dry piece of chicken with 2 strips of lemon on top with some mysterious sauce, and some olives plopped into a raging hot tagine dish. there were no spices and lots of oil.

when the head waiter or owner came to ask if it was the 'bomb' I said no.

my husband had dry meat with no flavour.

clearly set up for tourists.

when our guide told the owner we were unhappy he said we would come back for free the next night.

no thanks. and to really sink the kicker was the 435 dirham bill.


daylight robbery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kateandtheskypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, but I've had better!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went here with our tour guide for the day...so I assumed it would be touristy, and not that great. It was touristy (several groups) but it was better than expected. It was not fabulous, but for our first day, it was nice not to have to choose a place on our own. If you've never had Moroccan food, it would be treat. Service great, fairly good atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieChristineFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A friendly and welcoming gem in FES Medina”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I fully agree with Cordelia (the two others must really be Gonaeril and Regan!) but it was a COLD april day and we had managed to navigate the maze of Fes down towards the tannery area and we arrived at this welcoming traditional restaurant. We had the moroccan 12 salad starter selection green lentil; potato &chive salad; aubergine & butternnut squash puree; cauliflower florets in a light cream sauce; spicy baked potato with red papika; small marinated broad beans ..and more ... none of the usual diced cucumber &tomato concoctions THEN 8 hot spicy chicken shish kebab served on a bed of rocket with rice, olives &carrots in a butter sauce THEN a huge bowl of fresh fruit THEN Turkish coffeee as we set off the owner signalled to the doorman who was dressed in flowing white robes and yellow boots like a palace guard and he was told to push the wheelchair and lead us through the narrow streets to the lower town old market square and the LOCAL taxi rank. 370 dirhams the meal (£14 each) and the "guard" haggled us a local price of 17 dirhams ( £1.30) for the taxi back to the out of town hotel (Usual final price 50) . Service? That was service!! and our tips were waived away when proferred and handed back by the Guard when we tried to press coins into his hand at the taxi. Tip for the taximan ? He said "you are a friend of Ahmed's, no need" ( we had been speaking french throughout) and we had to move out quickly to get away from his rummaging for 3 dirham coins - the balance out of 20 dirham payment. Memorable? An experience of a lifetime.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Geared to tourists but tasty food”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was our first lunch in Morocco and we were taken here by our tour guide. It was definitely geared to tourists but was one of the tastier meals we had in Morocco with a variety of vegetable dishes served before the chicken kebabs. Service was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KB_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asmae also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Asmae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing