We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unforgettable smell”
Review of Dar Tahrya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Tahrya
Ranked #53 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago,il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“unforgettable smell”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This riad was inside the Medina in Fes. We spent two nights here last March 2014. The place would gave been great but unfortunately the public washroom smell which was across our room was unbearable. Even if they placed air refresher it still smelled. I suggest the company book you guys somewhere else when staying in Fes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    33
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found Dar Tahrya via a recommendation from another guesthouse we had stayed at while on a previous trip to Fez.

DT's owner was awesome, meeting us in the medina and helping us carry our bags to his guesthouse.

We were greeted with a cup of mint tea and a warm and helpful staff. Filling out the manditatory paperwork was easy and it seemed the owners speak both English, French, and I'm sure, Arabic fluently (perhaps other languages too).

Our room was HUGE with nice decorations, lamps, cool lighting and a big bathroom and great shower (with great water pressure).

We only stayed a quick night due to a flight we had the next morning, but we had a great night's sleep and wish we could have stayed longer.

P.S. Great location in the medina. A few minutes' walk from the blue gate and near all the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After being displaced from our original riad upon arrival, due to painting of the room, we were relocated to another riad that did not quite meet our expectations. We had just spent 3 days touring the desert and wanted something a little more luxurious. We left, went to a cafe and found Riad Tahrya online then went and literally knocked on the door to see if they had availability. They took us in with open arms and even treated us to breakfast. It turns out that all the riads we're affiliated and the owner tracked us down, apologized and offered to adjust the price to match our original reservation. The laundry service was amazing and quick, the ladies speak very good English and are extremely sweet and accommodating. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here when we traveled to Fes in May 2014. Lovely accommodations with a clean bathroom and beautiful courtyard in the middle of the Riad. The staff were very nice and accommodating even though we did not speak French or Arabic. The wifi was also free and worked very well at the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifrane, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is our third stay at Dar Tahrya. It's a great place! The rooms are nice and spacious, always clean, the bathrooms are very nice with toilet paper (!!!!) and soap provided. There is also air conditioning which is so nice when it starts to get hot. WiFi is fast. Breakfast is included, and it's always very good... msemen, harcha, jellies and honey, butter and cheese, tea/coffee/orange juice. And the owners and staff members are always very nice; they upgraded our room at no cost since we've stayed here two other times. Great people and a great place to stay. Highly recommended if you come to Fes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essigmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel really outshone my expectations. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. The rooms were very clean and always tidy when we returned. Breakfast was spectacular with a bit of variety every day! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a true homely, Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aelizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here with a large group in April. Everyone was very welcoming and the building is lovely, with a beautiful central courtyard and well-decorated rooms, a bit chilly at night but they provided extra blankets when asked. Good hot showers. The roof terrace has a nice view over the city and the location is excellent, close to the Bab Bou Jeloud and with easy access to the Talaa kebira and seghira, the two main streets in the old town. They organised a tour of the old town and can also arrange other activities. Breakfast was generous - juice, mint tea, various kinds of bread, jam etc and yogurt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#47 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hala
Riad Hala
#43 of 207 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#32 of 207 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Taryana
Riad Taryana
#2 of 63 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tahrya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tahrya

Property: Dar Tahrya
Address: 9, Teryana kebira, Talaa Kebira | 9, Teryana Kebira, Talaa Kebira , Fes Old Medina-Maroc, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Tahrya 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tahrya is a great choice for all travelers looking for quality accommodations in the old medina of Fes. Guests will enjoy easy access to all that this lively city has to offer. Just steps away from the city's numerous attractions, such as The Madrasa Bou Inania, the Water Clock and Ain Azleten Hammam. The Riads host of recreational offerings will give you plenty to do during your stay. Dar Tahrya offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities. Our Riad offers laundry service, tours, free wifi, a filling breakfast, specialy prepared meals, tea whenever you want it and much more. Our staff will do whatever they can to ensure our guests have the greatest comfort possible. If you are looking for a quiet place to have a relaxing stay while in Fes, make Dar Tahrya your home away from home. The manager of Dar Tahrya, Idriss, is always on hand to help with anything you might need. Always happy and laughing, with a big smile on his face that warms the heart, he is sure to make your stay in Fes a memorable one. Dar Tahrya is situated right in the heart of the old medina in Fes. It is an area that has been continuously lived in for more than a thousand years. Rich with the sent of spices, colour of beautiful handicrafts and the sounds of locals living there lives as they have for centuries. The people here are the what really make it special. Exprerience a genuin friendliness that is unlike anywhere else. Conveniently located in the old medina of Fes, Dar Tahrya is right down the street from (Bab BouJeloud), "The Blue Gate" and it is only 100 meters from Madrasa Bou Inania "Ancient School." It is also just a 15-minute walk away from the new medina. Fes Saiss Airport is ideally located only a 15-minute drive away by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dar Tahrya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing