We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in the medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad La Bague de Kenza
Ranked #78 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed in the 4 person dorm, cheap at 10 euros a night but compared to the rest of the riad the room was rather bland, a little dingy and is not very well sealed so can get cool at night during winter. The associated bathroom was very clean, very large, with a fixed shower head and all the hot water you could want.

The rest of the riad was fantastic. The roof terrace (which the 4 bed dorm is on) is very spacious with multiple seating areas and has a fantastic view down over the medina. The inside of the building itself is stunningly decorated, has surprisingly fast wifi, and was staffed by friendly and helpful staff.

The riad is about 3-5 min walk from the nearest gate (Bab Guissa, signs along the way help in finding it, otherwise pay a local kid who will probably try and guide you anyway a few dihram) and about the same down a relatively simple route to the main medina thoroughfare.

The local area wasn't very attractive at night and the constant hounding from local young adults trying to sell me drugs and/or lead me wherever I wanted to go made me feel a bit trapped in the riad after sundown (the medina lacks Marrakesh's nightlife and becomes quiet, dark and strewn with litter after 5pm or so, I found it far better enjoyed during the day).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair_B_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

The staff here were great! The hospitality was brilliant, with complimentary Moroccan tea being served to us several times during our stay. The staff are all from Fez and had a great passion when explaining how to get the best from their city. The staff have a contact who does tours of the city and have details of several restaurants nearby. The riad offers evening meals (Tagine, like everywhere in Morocco!), which we took advantage of and were great tasting and top value.

The environment was very laid back and the communal space allows you to meet people in a way which seems more 'posh-hostel' than hotel. This was great because we went travelling with a German couple and an Israeli guy that we met here.

This familiarity with the staff and fellow travellers was great, because the Labyrinth city of Fez seemed quite daunting to us.

I'd definitely organise arranging to meet one of the staff members upon arrival or at least working out your route to the hotel. The hotel is in the Medina, which notoriously is a labyrinth. We arrived from Marrakech and got a taxi to the Medina, we found the hotel 45 minutes later after following some really helpful young guys.

The decor is impressive (traditional style, but recently renovated) and the place was very clean.

We found the organisation of the hotel a little bit scatty, due to problems with a hotel website, they were overbooked, but apart from this and a problem with our shower draining, it was great. A great authentic-style Moroccan riad!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Upsource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Riad has recently been renovated, and it is very nice and quite cheap if compared to other places in Fes. Everything is decorated in the traditional Moroccan style, and the common areas (dining room, TV room, terrace) are very nice and pleasant. The view from the terrrace is wonderful. Given the fact that you will have to walk to reach the riad and that there is no elevator, this place is not suited for people with restricted mobility.

The typical Moroccan architecture ensures that the temperature in the inside are much lower than outside. I don't even know if they do have air conditioning, because we never felt the need to turn it on (quite the opposite, as I was wearing a sweater inside the riad). There is free wifi, although it works good in the central area and not that much in the rooms.

There are only 5 rooms, most of them tiny, apart from the suite. Our room was of the tiny kind, and it was also smelling unpleasantly. It seemed to be clean, though, so probably the smell was coming from outside - never forget that you are in the medina.

Staff is very helpful, and they also arranged us a very competent guide, Youssef, who showed us the beautiful medina. You can also book transportation from/to the airport, although the car cannot arrive in front of the riad (streets in the medina are really tiny) and you will have to walk. Anyway, Rachid would normally help you with your luggage.

Food is delicious, but as it is traditionally prepared, you should place your order at least a couple of hours in advance. Alchool is not served. Breakfast (abundant and included in the price) can also be served in the terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shari81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thaisclusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrizia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolás L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#50 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#31 of 217 in Fes
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 217 in Fes
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#61 of 217 in Fes
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Sienna
Dar Sienna
#16 of 217 in Fes
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 217 in Fes
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Bague de Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Bague de Kenza

Address: 19 Derb Lamkaousse Haffarine, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Bague de Kenza 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad La Bague de Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing