We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad La Bague de Kenza
Ranked #82 of 213 Fes B&B and Inns
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We couldn't ask for more, really! Thanks to my friend to have booked it! Amazing hospitality, thanks a lot to our "angel", yes we had a private "angel" helping us and supervising us! The riad is just breath taking...newly renovated, private owned, and a family mansion. We stayed at the rooftop room. The room was not immense, but for one night it was more than enough! The court was just for the 4 of us, no one else used it! Superb breakfast! Just go there!!

Room Tip: Rooftop room! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reichenwalde, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really beautiful, small hotel in the old Medina.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel itself is beautifully renovated with a lot of nice small details to find!
They organized the transfer from the airport and also a day trip to the mountains.
We stayed for a hole week and felt very comfortable. In the morning we had breakfast with a fascinating view over the (old) city on the roof terrace.
If we would travel again to Fès this is defenitely the place where we would stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, FL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This riad could not have been more lovely - from being met at the train station to our wonderful greeting by Fouad when we arrived at Bab Guisa, everything was a total delight. We were greeted so warmly and invited to make the riad our home - we upgraded to a very large, beautiful room which was so comfortable and peaceful.

The building itself was traditional - all tiled and filled with gorgeous carvings and painted ceilings -every intricate detail was vibrant and gorgeous. Photos can't fully capture the lovely ambiance.

The staff was superb - Fouad, Chema, and the lovely woman who cooked - Fouad and Chema were very professional yet warm and intimate -

Breakfast was substantial and varied and delicious served either on the terrace or downstairs - nothing we asked for was ever a bother for anyone -

We had 2 suppers at the riad and both were superb - we highly recommend that you consider eating supper at the riad - these were some of our favorite meals in Morocco.

The location was perfect and Fouad walked us to the gate in the evenings to be sure we were always headed in the right direction.

We loved our stay here and highly recommend this riad without reservation.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the large room on the second floor - I believe it was the Yamina - and highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcara1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafraoute, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

by luck we found this great riad after calling few others and found that all of them are full
fouad the guy from the riad was soo kind and helpful to wait for us in the parking of palais jamai where we let the car ,carry the heavy luggage with us , a delicious mint tea and cakes in the foyer befor showing un the wonderful rooms
very big rooms traditional building and decoration ,comfortable beds, very nice terrace from where u can see the old building in the medina
traditional breakfast and good service
informations about the most intersting places to visit in fez and area map to help
great place with a great price too . u will never regret about the time u will spend here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totof A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A friend of ours who we rely on in the tourist industry to phone to look for a place to stay whenever we are staying in a location we don't really know or where we know is full or wont give us a discount got back to us about a place to stay in Fez that evening that when we phoned was full - and was about 800 dirham - nice to pay that when in the mood for a splashout but our budget had already taken a battering after the previous 4 weeks travelling around Turkey.

The guy in our group also on a budget didn't want to pay too much either for a single - but I did really prefer my night in Fez, being my last night in Morocco for a while, after a long break since my previous visits to Fez quite a few years ago, to be somewhere with at least a bit of character.
He had a roam around on the internet while we were still on the freeway from Casa to Fez while I kept reading through the almost un-inspiring sounding places in my edition of the Footprints guidebook.
We also needed a place that had parking or parking nearby knowing the rabbit warren that is typically old Fez. Then he read out the details of this riad for only 320 dirham for 2 and 200 dirham for 1 - a phone call and the deal was done - with car parking said to be only 2 minutes away near the well-known Palais Jamaii which gave us a good landmark to head for. Very reassuring!

When you have a car in Fez and you arrive in the dark and haven't been for a few years GPS is certainly very handy but not necessarily accurate. It took us ages and we didn't arrive till just before 11pm. No problems to come up and meet us at the car which is what happened along with a trolley for all our luggage. Tired from a hot and long day and 5 weeks of being on the road, it was excellent that the kind touch of helping to keep arrivals like this simple by meeting us is much appreciated.
It was probably about 5 minutes walk to the riad rather than 2 - but downhill - down through at that time of night almost empty streets which felt rather special to be back in Fez this way.
It was still boiling hot and I was preparing for an early departure to the airport in a few hours time so needed room to sort my suitcases etc and air conditioning! and also needed a printer.

There were no other guests that night so we had the choice of any rooms in the riad - rather than the rooms we were shown up on the 2nd floor the large room on the ground floor was the best choice and again no problems to take this room. We ended up staying 2 nights as the riad was so lovely and I was enticed to not be so ridiculous as to fly off without having had the chance to see any of Fez again which had been our reason to drive all the way (and because the ticket had been cheap).
The place was beautiful - and Im very familiar with the lovely riad style of Fez and Marrakech and the beautiful palaces of Southern Morocco - and everything was clean! the bathroom was very clean and the room very comfortable and stylish and very good wifi.

Fouad told me its very nice view from the roof at sunrise - despite not getting to bed till about 3am I woke early and got up for the early morning light over the old city - stunning!
we had a very nice breakfast from up there too.

We headed off late morning into the streets of old Fes for a few hours of exploring - very handy - Fouad even lent me his map and gave instructions where to buy one if required around the corner. Lovely to get back early afternoon after a very hot few hours to excellent air conditioning before hiking up to the car and heading out of town to Volbulis.
It had been no problem for Fouad to take our fruit and store it for us and then he prepared it for us on our return that night.

when we had to be up at 3 am to drive me to the airport Fouad was waiting in the lounge to help us with my suitcase up the hill to the car! - and he came with us to the airport to be of any assistance and accompany my partner back to Fez and the riad. This is what never ceases to impress me of genuine Moroccan hospitality.

Room Tip: rooms of various sizes on 3 floors - all very nice - we took the large salon style room with more fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaIsATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped inside the stunning riad La Bague De Kenza, we were treated with such warmth and hospitality from the staff. They were without a doubt, the most helpful and generous hosts we have had in Morocco, let alone our whole trip! The rooms are gorgeous, the breakfast delicious, the balcony beautiful, the staff smiley, the location perfect, what more can I say! There is nothing that could be improved, La Bague De Kenza made our stay in Fes PERFECT!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchill, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our experience at Riad la Bague de Kenza could not have been better! We went to Morocco as a last minute decision when our trip to Spain didn't work out as planned, hopped the first train out of Tangiers to Fes and booked our stay at La Bague the morning we arrived. When we arrived we were a little awe struck, we really didnt know what to expect (our first day in Morocco); but in typical Moroccan hospitality Chema and Rachid welcomed us with open arms, set out a beautiful breakfast just for us, got us settled in our room then called for a tour guide to show us around the medina. I would say the guided tour is a must, it was a whole day, but it was very interesting and exciting to see this living breathing Unesco heritage site. The Riad is beautifully decorated, our room was lovely, very comfy bed. Our stay was very peaceful, there was 3 couple our first night and 2 the second, the homey environment and friendly staff made it feel as if we'd all known eachother forever. We enjoyed dining with another couple each night, and Rachid made sure to ask what we wanted to eat and when, it was all very generous. Rachid even went out and picked up a specialty dish we wanted to try, that wasn't on the menu and lovely Raja prepared it for us for dinner our last night. The food was VERY good, a little bit of everything. We met the manager our second day, a very friendly man who invited us to feel at home and if we wanted to prepare any food ourselves we were welcome in the kitchen! I would have loved a cooking lesson from Raja but just didnt have the time, next time! Another must-do experience is the traditional Hammam, Raja took myself and my American friend around the corner from the Riad to have a scrub, it was an awesome experience, I had no idea what to expect and was just in awe of the tradition of the affair. I've never felt more clean and natural then when we emerged from the steam! the relaxing, calm atmosphere at La Bague really helped to energize us, as we had been travelling for 7 days and needed some rest. We stayed 2 nights, and when we left Rachid helped us meet up with our tour guide who was picking us up from the Riad (when the tourguide had some difficulties finding the hotel), he helped us carry our bags out of the medina and gave us a lovely send off. The staff at this hotel really make the place, they are such kind, and generous people. The perfect introduction to Morocco for us.
We were staying at La Bague at the same time as the Italian couple who rated "poor," from what we could see they had very different expectations of the hotel. This hotel is a beautiful authentic Moroccan hotel and Fes is very traditional, we were amazed by the hospitality and generosity of the staff. But you have to get into the Moroccan groove, its a very relaxed and homey place, you stay there to have an authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#39 of 98 in Fes
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#49 of 98 in Fes
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 98 in Fes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#36 of 98 in Fes
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#89 of 98 in Fes
111 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#57 of 98 in Fes
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Bague de Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Bague de Kenza

Property: Riad La Bague de Kenza
Address: 19 Derb Lamkaousse Haffarine, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Bague de Kenza 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad La Bague de Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing